Picking a First Car! (detailed)

InteractiveSecurity

Hi guys, need some help on some options.

- Set aside $50K cash for vehicle. (But not all into downpayment as im factoring in P-plate insurance around 3K, and depending on vehicle age around maybe 5K-15K for maintenance, and aesthetics?)
- Monthly hope to be <$500/month, (if coe car then full cash, so no monthly but pay more on road tax and maintenance upkeep) this is because due to the covid situation and the unstable nature of my job (high commission based), would like not to have alot of commitment. (Current Fix expenses are around $2.4K, salary after CPF range between minimally 6K to 10K max)
- Looking at minimum 4-years of COE left regardless PARF or COE car.
-First time car owner and i am not looking at new cars (dont want the hassle of bidding COE waiting for stocks etc. Hope to get the ride by 1-2 weeks latest, and also because even if i down 40-50%, monthly fees are gonna be above $500)
- Looking at SEDANS or SUVS, family of 3-4. Power not important, aesthetics/designs important for me as I want to like looking at it(so no toyotas)
- FC , road tax not much of a deal breaker

Here are my options and seek the experts here advice on what will be a good ride.

Almost New Cars - around high 70s to 80K range, downpay 40%, loan full remaining 8-9years.
1. Kia Cerato (2019-2021)
2. Avante/Elantra (2019-2021) around high 70s to 80K range.

Used PARF CARS - around 50s to 60Kish, downpay $30-35K, rest on loan which will be lower $300-400ish.
1. Subaru Impreza 2016 to 2018)
2. Kia Cerato (2016 to 2018)
3. Avante/Elantra (2016 to 2018)
4. Civic (2015 only, i can afford price about 55K for remaining 4 years)
6. Lancer (2016 - 2017)
7. Honda Vezel (2015 - 2017)
8. Honda Shuttle (2015 - 2017)

COE Cars $30k to $38K range, full cash.
1. Lancer EX 1.5 left 4 years minimum
2. Civic (1.6,1.8,2.0 all ok) left 4 years minimum
(The remaining $ i would use to do major maintenance of the important parts, change car seats and paint)
reason i shortlist only these 2 models as for 2011 and older vehicles only these 2 looks great.

TanKianW

My advice/comment:
  • First car recommends to get those left 4-5 years (Used PARF) Japanese car. Most of those extend COE cars pretty "CHUI" (Unless you HENG!). Need to set aside a bigger sum for repair and maintenance.
  • Pay after CPF take home around 6k is pretty ok. Should be no problem with owning a car. But do cut down on other expenses if possible. Eg. dinning out & buying luxury product, should all cut.
  • If I were you, I will save up some more. Pay a high lump sum and loan (<$300-400/mth) for 2-3 years. Personally I like to be loan free earlier. Maybe you drive 2-3 years, you want to change car liao. By that time, the loan has been settled.

InteractiveSecurity

My advice/comment:
  • First car recommends to get those left 4-5 years (Used PARF) Japanese car. Most of those extend COE cars pretty "CHUI" (Unless you HENG!). Need to set aside a bigger sum for repair and maintenance.
  • Pay after CPF take home around 6k is pretty ok. Should be no problem with owning a car. But do cut down on other expenses if possible. Eg. dinning out & buying luxury product, should all cut.
  • If I were you, I will save up some more. Pay a high lump sum and loan (<$300-400/mth) for 2-3 years. Personally I like to be loan free earlier. Maybe you drive 2-3 years, you want to change car liao. By that time, the loan has been settled.
Okay thanks for the advice! So looking at civic, shuttles, vezels, lancer and Impreza all are decent choices? But not sure if subaru classifies as the standard BNB.

TanKianW

Okay thanks for the advice! So looking at civic, shuttles, vezels, lancer and Impreza all are decent choices? But not sure if subaru classifies as the standard BNB.

Maybe it is just me, I will only go with this 3 brands for Jap cars. Choice is up to you.

InteractiveSecurity

Maybe it is just me, I will only go with this 3 brands for Jap cars. Choice is up to you.
Okay thanks! So ill consider between these few.

Ha no Toyota. Later those Toyota loyalists scold u
Haha no choice bro, at first i tried looking at altis, vios, axio. But i cannot bring myself to like them. Despite the glorified reliability. And the car price isn’t exactly cheap as well. Honda design looks better to me at least.

Kia7200

Okay thanks! So ill consider between these few.

Haha no choice bro, at first i tried looking at altis, vios, axio. But i cannot bring myself to like them. Despite the glorified reliability. And the car price isn’t exactly cheap as well. Honda design looks better to me at least.
Understandable

The 3 model u mentioned, specially axio n vios... Aiyo is really dont know wat to say

mel1888

Used to drive Ex. Overall its nice car.
Maintenace is cheap, no major issues.
Only gripe is its a lil underpowered.
1.5 on heavy chasis. If ur not those chiongster, can consider.

EJB

Just realized I did not list down the 3 Jap brands. The 3 Jap brands I mean is Toyota, Honda and Nissan.
Toyota - overpriced / good FC / bad after sales / MIT
Honda - stylish / good FC / average after sales / JDM
Nissan - fuel guzzler / no experience on after sales / JDM

There's another Jap brand - Mazda / good FC / bad after sales / JDM.

TanKianW

Toyota - overpriced / good FC / bad after sales / MIT
Honda - stylish / good FC / average after sales / JDM
Nissan - fuel guzzler / no experience on after sales / JDM

There's another Jap brand - Mazda / good FC / bad after sales / JDM.

Toyota being the most reliable among the 4. At least to me. Most Jap cars are reliable and cheap to maintain. Koreans are indeed catching up too.

Just to be clear, I am not a Toyota supporter. I'm driving none of the 3 now. But who knows, will return back to Jap car one day.

EJB

Toyota being the most reliable among the 4. At least to me.

Just to be clear, I am not a Toyota supporter. I'm driving none of the 3 now. But who knows, will return back to Jap car one day.
I've owned Toyota and Mazda, my sis supports Honda, so I can assure you no such thing as 'most reliable'. They are all the same. As long as the first year, no major issues, the cars will easily last you 10 years if you do preventive maintenance.

My Toyota steering column had issues since year 1 btw, and was never resolved until I sold it in year 8 - reliable? Yes, still reliable - just need to live with creaking noise when turning the steering. The car battery died before 2nd year was up, my aircon compressor died in it's 7th year, reliability is overhyped. When we only drive the cars for 10 years, most Jap brands can easily be reliable.

Continuing with another 105K Vios vs 105K Mazda 3, the selection was pretty obvious back when I decided to let go my Vios. Don't sweat on the reliability portion, Jap brands are easy to get parts, and wear and tear happens everyday, if the car is not meant to live long, issues will start to appear within the first few months, not years down the road.

Contis however, most don't want to drive beyond 5 years, but hey, they can well afford it. LOL...

myviowner

Toyota being the most reliable among the 4. At least to me. Most Jap cars are reliable and cheap to maintain. Koreans are indeed catching up too.

Reliability is very subjective. Happens on the early stage, mid stage or the last few years also does not meant has reliability issues though. To owners who owned one car usually, equates to 100% got reliability issue, but to each car markers/ AD, they look at bigger figures. 10,000 units sold, whats the percentage failed on that particular part. Less than xx% and not cause danger to user , they usually don't bother lah.

Finally, buying cars is individual preference, asking such in an open forum could end up been more confused. Stick to your family views and your needs.

EJB

Reliability is very subjective. Happens on the early stage, mid stage or the last few years also does not meant has reliability issues though. To owners who owned one car usually, equates to 100% got reliability issue, but to each car markers/ AD, they look at bigger figures. 10,000 units sold, whats the percentage failed on that particular part. Less than xx% and not cause danger to user , they usually don't bother lah.

Finally, buying cars is individual preference, asking such in an open forum could end up been more confused. Stick to your family views and your needs.
When I buy my car, I don't ask people what they prefer, I just walk in, test drive, buy. Don't be too concerned about other people's views if they aren't paying. You will be in the driver seat. Wear and tear is everyday life, the most reliable car on earth will need repairs/replacement over time. It's still reliable when you repair/fix things. It's not reliable if you expect it to live 10 years without absorbers leaking, aircon gas gone, brake pads thinning, lower FC over the years due to car age, carbon build up... etc.

Just did my servicing, now my aircon is blasting super cold air again - I suspected it was the gas needing top-up - since I drag my servicings by mileage and never by time. My last servicing was Jul '20. So, my Mazda was not reliable? No... it was just lack of my foresight to go down have it checked out.

Again, reliability is overhyped.

LoUsyGamER

When I buy my car, I don't ask people what they prefer, I just walk in, test drive, buy. Don't be too concerned about other people's views if they aren't paying. You will be in the driver seat. Wear and tear is everyday life, the most reliable car on earth will need repairs/replacement over time. It's still reliable when you repair/fix things. It's not reliable if you expect it to live 10 years without absorbers leaking, aircon gas gone, brake pads thinning, lower FC over the years due to car age, carbon build up... etc.

Just did my servicing, now my aircon is blasting super cold air again - I suspected it was the gas needing top-up - since I drag my servicings by mileage and never by time. My last servicing was Jul '20. So, my Mazda was not reliable? No... it was just lack of my foresight to go down have it checked out.

Again, reliability is overhyped.

Guess as long as engine and gb are ok, the rest are manageable.

LoUsyGamER

Personal choice from TS list is subaru impreza, maybe my perception of subaru is the Jap version of volvo - safety. But drinks oil like free.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.