Dr Leong Hoe Nam: Dining in may have to be put on hold unless all residents go through testing once every few days

tripleme

Dr Leong Hoe Nam, an infectious diseases specialist at Mount Elizabeth Novena Hospital, said the spread of Covid-19 in an open-air environment like the Bukit Merah hawker centre is alarming.

"What the US Centres for Disease Control and Prevention and we have been saying is that ventilation helps (reduce the spread of Covid-19). In terms of outdoor dining and preparation of food, it doesn't get better than a hawker centre - but yet we succumbed to many cases," he noted.

This means that there could be risks if Singapore returns fully to dining in, including in air-conditioned settings, he said.

Dr Leong believes dining in may have to be put on hold unless the country is prepared to take drastic, large-scale measures, such as requiring all residents to go through antigen testing once every few days, or setting up antigen testing and Covid-19 breathalyser systems at all malls and food centres.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...of-reopening-amid-latest-outbreak-of-covid-19

PrinceY

Can they actually share their opinions so openly?? I find it funny they can say all they want, but who do they represent actually?

EdenHazard

This expert talk cock sia. So all retail and F&B can go die? Profits above people will not allow this!!!!

LeSaux

Prepare for f&b to become like pubs/clubs and ktvs

permanent closure

Kain999

PrinceY

haha
Themselves lor. Newspaper interview, they reply
haha.. what he say can be done meh? So textbook answer and can work out in actual meh?

how to test entire population in days? I don’t think we have the capacity.. If can, we can simply do a reset already and be COVID free??

decade

starting to get tired of this doc...knn...but my boss is a fan of him...**

whatheheck

haha
haha.. what he say can be done meh? So textbook answer and can work out in actual meh?
how to test entire population in days? I don’t think we have the capacity.. If can, we can simply do a reset already and be COVID free??
One ear listen can liao. If he say like that, food deliverers also need test every few days, public transport would have been stopped long ago.

boink boink

Where ish whopping amount of immunity rike the GPMG that ish gonna gib the virus a good whopping.... :frown:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.