M1 5G is here!

hellhole

Base on the M1's 5G SA rollout roadmap. It stated that its 5G SA should cover 100% of Singapore latest by Dec 2022!

So, I guess the 5G NSA will be around until Dec 2022!
****… if that is true… knn… should allow me to sign 1 year plan lah

lohsenglte

Base on the M1's 5G SA rollout roadmap. It stated that its 5G SA should cover 100% of Singapore latest by Dec 2022!

So, I guess the 5G NSA will be around until Dec 2022!
https://www.m1.com.sg/support/faq/5g-faq
M1’s 5G is built based on a 5G non-standalone (NSA) network using 2100MHz, and rolled out on trial basis from 25 Sep 2020 till 31 Dec 2021. Concurrently, we are also deploying the 5G standalone (SA) network progressively.

maybe end of the year... NSA bo liao...??

IMDA guideline for 5GNR NSA: Market as a trial, network to be shut down by 31 Dec 2021.

Reason: To refarm the 2100MHz (Band 1/n1) as 3G (for incumbents only) and 5GNR SA (for upcoming spectrum winners).

So yes, there's no guarantees it will be operational after 2021.

hellhole

IMDA guideline for 5GNR NSA: Market as a trial, network to be shut down by 31 Dec 2021.

Reason: To refarm the 2100MHz (Band 1/n1) as 3G (for incumbents only) and 5GNR SA (for upcoming spectrum winners).

Okay lah. Then LL … then how come the SA not applicable for the older phones..?

lohsenglte

Okay lah. Then LL … then how come the SA not applicable for the older phones..?
- Some devices don't have SA support.
- Some devices have SA support, but needs to be enabled per-carrier basis.
- VoNR support might be needed for M1 5GNR NSA.

Think of it as VoLTE and VoWiFi support.

LTE deployment was much smoother as it is data-only network, VoLTE deployment is much harder as it is putting voice on top of the existing LTE network. VoWiFi is to compliment VoLTE, relying on the same IMS Core, to enable Voice Calling over WiFi instead of cellular network.

Again, similar issues is happening on 5G.

Most carriers in the world is using 5GNR NSA mode, at least for the foreseeable future. Therefore, many devices that have 5GNR has enabled NSA only.
5GNR SA is currently on early deployment stage, therefore manufacturers ain't interested in rolling out SA support for all carriers, hence using software update to progressively update (if they are willing to do in the first place).

VoNR might also be the hurdle, as 5GNR SA devices would have to fall back to LTE or 5GNR NSA if they want voice call and the device/network doesn't support.

This is why first gen devices is problematic, and paying for the new technology tax might not always make the most sense.
Unless your aim is to flex about the new technology, you are better off waiting until it's matured.

007Mi6

More reasons for me not to sign up 5G plans 😆

hellhole

- Some devices don't have SA support.
- Some devices have SA support, but needs to be enabled per-carrier basis.
- VoNR support might be needed for M1 5GNR NSA.

Think of it as VoLTE and VoWiFi support.

LTE deployment was much smoother as it is data-only network, VoLTE deployment is much harder as it is putting voice on top of the existing LTE network. VoWiFi is to compliment VoLTE, relying on the same IMS Core, to enable Voice Calling over WiFi instead of cellular network.

Again, similar issues is happening on 5G.

Most carriers in the world is using 5GNR NSA mode, at least for the foreseeable future. Therefore, many devices that have 5GNR has enabled NSA only.
5GNR SA is currently on early deployment stage, therefore manufacturers ain't interested in rolling out SA support for all carriers, hence using software update to progressively update (if they are willing to do in the first place).

VoNR might also be the hurdle, as 5GNR SA devices would have to fall back to LTE or 5GNR NSA if they want voice call and the device/network doesn't support.

This is why first gen devices is problematic, and paying for the new technology tax might not always make the most sense.
Unless your aim is to flex about the new technology, you are better off waiting until it's matured.
Cheek sia bro… uncle 4G don’t understand.. hahah..
But still thanks for the info

Well.. LL…

tt32003

To us M1 5G must pay extra $15 per month for the 5Go Plus service is it ?

kelvinti

No lah.

The cheapest plan is $5 per month without any addon data to your current plan data bundle.

Remember to opt for the 6 months promo package that comes with 3 months free so thayiu only pay a total of $15 for the next 6 months. Worth sia! :)

eatsleeplim

I saw the $5/mth on their website not too long ago, but now it's like $15/mth?

from here: https://www.m1.com.sg/sites/true-5g/index.html

$15/mth add-on for
- Bespoke SIM-only, Flexi or Contract
- Bespoke Contract

$5/mth add-on is only for Bespoke Unlimited Data Plan.

I tried adding to cart a Bespoke SIM-only plan, it's $15/mth after the initial 6 mths promo. :(

kelvinti

$15/mth add-on for
- Bespoke Contract

I tried adding to cart a Bespoke SIM-only plan, it's $15/mth after the initial 6 mths promo. :(
Oh! :eek: I guess the $5 promo is over by now. :oops:

I'm on legacy plan. I signed up the $5 promo back in July. Not on Bespoke.

jess_sy

$15/mth add-on for
- Bespoke Contract

Legacy plan (Non-Bespoke) is different pricing.

You on Bespoke plans?

eatsleeplim

Legacy plan (Non-Bespoke) is different pricing.

You on Bespoke plans?
Not signed up yet, waiting for iPhone 13.

Main reason to sign up with M1 is a lucky number that I want (matches my BTO address lol) ... I'm also eligible for CORI.
I don't need the talktime at all. 5G would be a nice-to-have if it's not too expensive.

I tried adding to cart a EM3 plan, and it says $5 for 5G (and also mentions 3 mths) ... not very clear whether if this $5/mth rate is for 3 months or what.

jess_sy

Not signed up yet, waiting for iPhone 13.

Main reason to sign up with M1 is a lucky number that I want (matches my BTO address lol) ... I'm also eligible for CORI.
I don't need the talktime at all. 5G would be a nice-to-have if it's not too expensive.

I tried adding to cart a EM3 plan, and it says $5 for 5G (and also mentions 3 mths) ... not very clear whether if this $5/mth rate is for 3 months or what.
Yup. You can check out here:

Legacy Plans (mySim(e), Plan with Device, Sim only)
Pay $5/mth just for 5G. No extra data given.
https://www.m1.com.sg/microsite/202012/5g

Jurong640

$15/mth add-on for
- Bespoke Contract

there is an option for $5/mth. I sign up with mysim e90 2 weeks ago, added $5/mth 5G goplus. 3 months free 5G, no term.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.