Lastest S$ Deposit updates - Part 3

dappermen

but 30yrs ? Parents wanted
https://www.straitstimes.com/busine...sale-of-singa-bonds-to-finance-infrastructurenow renamed as SGS (Market Development), according to MAS.
With a minimum of $1,000 cash, retail investors can subscribe the bonds through DBS/POSB, OCBC and UOB ATMs and internet banking portals, and OCBC’s mobile app, though they will need an individual Central Depository (CDP) account.

The yield, or interest payments, on the bond set for maturity in Oct 2051 will be announced by MAS an hour after the Sept 28 auction and the bond will be issued for trade in secondary market on Oct 1.

been waitg sinxe they announced it

i love these ESG - There are also plans to issue the Green SGS (Infrastructure) bonds that MAS aims to kick off next year for climate change-related infrastructure.

no! SSb is ssb

singapore saving bonds?

~sabaisabai~

https://www.straitstimes.com/busine...sale-of-singa-bonds-to-finance-infrastructurenow renamed as SGS (Market Development), according to MAS.
With a minimum of $1,000 cash, retail investors can subscribe the bonds through DBS/POSB, OCBC and UOB ATMs and internet banking portals, and OCBC’s mobile app, though they will need an individual Central Depository (CDP) account.

The yield, or interest payments, on the bond set for maturity in Oct 2051 will be announced by MAS an hour after the Sept 28 auction and the bond will be issued for trade in secondary market on Oct 1.

i love these ESG - There are also plans to issue the Green SGS (Infrastructure) bonds that MAS aims to kick off next year for climate change-related infrastructure.

no! SSb is ssb
oops, paiseh.. hahahaha

but i just run thru, 30years very long

dappermen

but got this ...2, 5, 10, 15, 20 or 30 years
https://blog.seedly.sg/singa-bonds-sgs-infrastructure/https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/Singapore-Government-Bonds-Information-for-InstitutionsSGS bonds are fully backed by the Singapore Government. There are three different categories of SGS Bonds, summarised here:

SGS (Market Development)SGS (Infrastructure)Green SGS (Infrastructure)
The first Green SGS (Infrastructure) would be issued in 2022.
LegislationGovernment Securities ActSignificant Infrastructure Government Loan Act (SINGA)Significant Infrastructure Government Loan Act (SINGA)
ObjectiveTo develop the domestic debt marketTo finance major, long-term infrastructureTo finance major, long-term green infrastructure projects
IssuerGovernment of Singapore
Sovereign Credit RatingAAA
Available Tenor2, 5, 10, 15, 20 or 30 years
CurrencySGD
Frequency of IssuanceMonthly, according to the issuance calendar
Method of SaleUniform price auction; Competitive or non-competitive bids.
Coupon PaymentSemi-annual coupon starting from the month of issue. Paid on the first business day of the month.
TaxThere is no capital gains tax in Singapore.
For residential financial institutions (excluding Financial Sector Incentive - Standard Tier companies) and corporations, interest income is taxed at a concessionary rate of 10% for SGS issued up to 31 Dec 2023.

~sabaisabai~

but got this ...2, 5, 10, 15, 20 or 30 years
https://blog.seedly.sg/singa-bonds-sgs-infrastructure/https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bills/Singapore-Government-Bonds-Information-for-InstitutionsSGS bonds are fully backed by the Singapore Government. There are three different categories of SGS Bonds, summarised here:

SGS (Market Development)SGS (Infrastructure)Green SGS (Infrastructure)
The first Green SGS (Infrastructure) would be issued in 2022.
LegislationGovernment Securities ActSignificant Infrastructure Government Loan Act (SINGA)Significant Infrastructure Government Loan Act (SINGA)
ObjectiveTo develop the domestic debt marketTo finance major, long-term infrastructureTo finance major, long-term green infrastructure projects
IssuerGovernment of Singapore
Sovereign Credit RatingAAA
Available Tenor2, 5, 10, 15, 20 or 30 years
CurrencySGD
Frequency of IssuanceMonthly, according to the issuance calendar
Method of SaleUniform price auction; Competitive or non-competitive bids.
Coupon PaymentSemi-annual coupon starting from the month of issue. Paid on the first business day of the month.
TaxThere is no capital gains tax in Singapore.
For residential financial institutions (excluding Financial Sector Incentive - Standard Tier companies) and corporations, interest income is taxed at a concessionary rate of 10% for SGS issued up to 31 Dec 2023.
thanks... the tenor, 2years which is okay leh...
but yes, what is the rate like?

dappermen

what is the expected coupon rate? if lower than CPF rate.. then I won't consider.. heheh
surely LOwer!! if u ref to - this

Auction: N519100A 2-Year Bond (Reopened)​

Investors may submit auction applications for the following 2-Year Singapore Government Securities (SGS) bond. This is a re-opening of an existing bond.

Issue Details​

https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bi...ds?issue_code=N519100A&issue_date=2021-10-01#
SGS (Market Development)
Announcement date21 Sep 2021
Auction date28 Sep 2021
Issue date01 Oct 2021
Maturity date01 Feb 2024
Coupon rate2% p.a.
Coupon payment dates01 Aug and 01 Feb
Closing yield 0.49% p.a.
Closing price 103.53

but 4 the 30-Year Bond (New) must wait til Auction pls - https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bi...nds?issue_code=NA21200W&issue_date=2021-10-01

i alrdy stated earlier ...

~sabaisabai~

Investors may submit auction applications for the following 2-Year Singapore Government Securities (SGS) bond. This is a re-opening of an existing bond.

Issue Details​

https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bi...ds?issue_code=N519100A&issue_date=2021-10-01#
SGS (Market Development)
Auction date28 Sep 2021
Issue date01 Oct 2021
Maturity date01 Feb 2024
Coupon rate2% p.a.
Closing yield 0.49% p.a.
Closing price 103.53

but 4 the 30-Year Bond (New) must wait til Auction pls - https://www.mas.gov.sg/bonds-and-bi...nds?issue_code=NA21200W&issue_date=2021-10-01
thanks for sharing.. looks good

lzydata

Issue Details​

SGS (Market Development)
Auction date28 Sep 2021
Issue date01 Oct 2021
Maturity date01 Feb 2024
Coupon rate2% p.a.
Closing yield 0.49% p.a.
Closing price 103.53
This is a 2 year bond, so the yield is definitely lower than a 30 year bond.

The yield/price of the SGS Infrastructure bond will only be known after the auction is done, but we can get an idea by looking at existing bonds of similar terms. The benchmark 30-year SGS for a bond maturing in 2050 was at 1.90% yield today.

https://eservices.mas.gov.sg/Statistics/fdanet/SgsBenchmarkIssuePrices.aspx

~sabaisabai~

This is a 2 year bond, so the yield is definitely lower than a 30 year bond.

The yield/price of the SGS Infrastructure bond will only be known after the auction is done, but we can get an idea by looking at existing bonds of similar terms. The benchmark 30-year SGS for a bond maturing in 2050 was at 1.90% yield today.

https://eservices.mas.gov.sg/Statistics/fdanet/SgsBenchmarkIssuePrices.aspx
oh, so for 30-year, the rate only at 1.9%?
then i supposed for 2years is even lower? less than 1%

lzydata

do u know the rates?
i bought ssb via ibanking
Unlike SSB, SGS bond yields are not known beforehand, as they are sold by auction.

Individuals can choose to make competitive bids or non-competitive bids. Competitive bid means you enter the yield that you want to bid. Non-competitive bid means you just enter the amount you want, and the yield will be the cut-off yield as determined in the auction. Normally retail investors can just make non-competitive bids and you will get all you asked for.

~sabaisabai~

Unlike SSB, SGS bond yields are not known beforehand, as they are sold by auction.

Individuals can choose to make competitive bids or non-competitive bids. Competitive bid means you enter the yield that you want to bid. Non-competitive bid means you just enter the amount you want, and the yield will be the cut-off yield as determined in the auction. Normally retail investors can just make non-competitive bids and you will get all you asked for.
oh i see... okay... wah, ok sounds abit complex.. haha...
thanks for sharing

qhong61

no! SSb is ssb
Meaning can only cash out in 2051?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.