Which AVR is the best?

Apparatus

High Supremacy Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm a noob in HT

I want to do a 5.1 system, which AVR is suitable for this? Not looking to get all fancy, just get the job done with decent price & sound. Don't think I'll be going more than 5.1

I'll be using to watch movies mainly via netflix, disney+, etc.

Also I just want to use the TV sound for daily usage, can I do this? Or must I always use the 5.1? Thanks!

My budget for AVR + 5.1 setup is about $2.5k
What TV are you using now and where's its location i.e. in the hall or in one of your rooms?

:rolleyes:

frenzzsg

Reaction score
if U have budget to blow on 4-7k on just AVR sure go for it.
https://av1group.com.sg/collections/arcam
note they are not HDMI 2.1 yet.
if U just want to do 5.1 a AVR10 will do. Don't know how much is upgrade to HDMI 2.1.
issue with Dirac, if you are not technical its a pain to configure the system.

Denon or Yamaha is easier. Denon room correction algo is more complex than Yamaha.
ppl sold their Arcam for Denon just because dirac is not user friendly.

if bluray player. not sure if you can get Panasonic DP-UB9000 but Pioneer UDP-LX500 is $1.5k. IPUK also good, reading around it state its a OPPO clone.

speakers can get very expensive fast! Wilson cost alot, Revel Performa is like $8K for tower speakers alone. too many choice out there too. dont blow all your budget on AVR.

if you plan on doing a 5.2.4 then look for a AVR which supports that now. if you don't mind separates the like me get a separate Amp to power your atmos.

this year not a good year to upgrade. parts hard to find a pricing all high. denon and marantz all have trouble getting parts today.

enjoy your hunt!

Actually i was really hoping that my old ARCAM can be repaired and last me for another 2 years.
Then i will upgrade my AVR and expand/add on speakers when i shift house. *fingers crossed*

Sighs, the hunt is always so fun but painful.....:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

beary2teddy