learning japanese

lydiaa

Supremacy Member
Reaction score
anyone here use prc textbook? i using the 新標準日本語 buy from taobao quite cheap and then i just go on bilibili and steal free lessons. i in the middle of n4, i try a n5 mock paper i pass, not amazing but a comfortable pass

Read HWZ Forum Rules!

fattyfish

Reaction score
I studied at Bunka a really long time ago but studying at Ikoma now

I feel Ikoma is very good for unmotivated or busy learners like me 🤣. I have not done the homework in years but still manage to get through most of the lessons. Bunka on the other hand is overall shorter in total duration and thus more intense.

One of the advantages of Bunka is that they teach you all the forms (including the very important dictionary form) right from the start, In my opinion, this is a very good move as it becomes easier for the student to conjugate the verb in more advanced classes. Ikoma starts from masu-form and then goes back to dictionary form. While not an issue for many students, some students have to first conjugate the masu-form backwards back to dictionary and then conjugate forward again. Bunka is really better for me for elementary class.

In terms of location, Ikoma wins. It is so close to the MRT whereas Bunka is a short walk (unsheltered) from the MRT; the location is a little bit at the fringe of Orchard Road.

Classroom setting wise, I slightly prefer Ikoma where all tables face the front towards the whiteboard. I haven't been to Bunka in awhile so my experience may be outdated, but their seating is U-shaped so most of the time you will be facing your other classmates. This is for the purpose of practising conversation with different people. Downside is that you may have to tilt your body to face the whiteboard.