Home Theatre System 11.2 (7.2.4) Dolby Atmos Setup. Any comments? Part 1

benedium

R900 vs SvS prime...
So far R900 don't have any bad review..the only cons maybe too large?
TS intends to mount on ceiling above listening position, not on front wall. R900 cannot be mounted on ceiling. It's not suitable for TS but if u only intend to place above speaker as bouncy atmos speaker or mount on front or rear wall, then it should be fine.

Apparatus

TS intends to mount on ceiling above listening position, not on front wall. R900 cannot be mounted on ceiling. It's not suitable for TS but if u only intend to place above speaker as bouncy atmos speaker or mount on front or rear wall, then it should be fine.
I have revised my plan a bit.

It seems ceiling mounting is a problem for me. I'm reconsidering to mount on walls as presence speakers

Ceiling
1) Difficult to drill because it's a structural member vs wall which is non-structural
2) I have downlights with an awning running all round the edges of the ceiling. It's solid wood and not possible to hide the cables within the wood. If I run the cables on the ceiling and onto the awning and then down the walls, they don't look nice

So, installing on the Front and Rear walls is the other option. Easy to drill the walls and just run the cables with the other lighting cables also look neat.

benedium

Oh TS, not sure if you've seen it but I've read some opinions on audioscience forum that the Polks may sound too bright/harsh at higher volumes. So you may wanna really read up more about them and other alternatives.

Apparatus

Oh TS, not sure if you've seen it but I've read some opinions on audioscience forum that the Polks may sound too bright/harsh at higher volumes. So you may wanna really read up more about them and other alternatives.
I don't mind other alternatives provided they are available locally with tech and service support.

With other alternatives I just re-evaluate again

benedium

I don't mind other alternatives provided they are available locally with tech and service support.

With other alternatives I just re-evaluate again
Actually I think there is no better alternative haha. The more I look at it, nothing scores as high as the polk r200 that we will be willing to pay. Plus with a nice big center speaker, it makes a good speaker range.

To adjust the brightness of the tweeter, you can always adjust the toe-in of the left/right speakers and for the center speaker u can adjust the up/down tilt abit. Of cos do adjustments before auto calibration, not after.

Anyway brightness of sound will be personal perception depending on individual hearing ability, room acoustics and speaker placement. If I were you I would still stick with Polk Reserve based on the little I know.

And I think u are right to go with more powerful amplifier. I guess my x3600h in 5.1 mode with only 80w/ch may be handicapping my elac dbr62s. Cos I feel in 2.1 mode with 100w/ch, I can hear that they sound much better. Pity amplifier power is so freaking expensive. The Polks Reserve may need even more power to sound best cos it goes down to 3+ohms compared to elac dbr62 which only goes down to 5ohm.

W3isheng

Actually I think there is no better alternative haha. The more I look at it, nothing scores as high as the polk r200 that we will be willing to pay. Plus with a nice big center speaker, it makes a good speaker range.

To adjust the brightness of the tweeter, you can always adjust the toe-in of the left/right speakers and for the center speaker u can adjust the up/down tilt abit. Of cos do adjustments before auto calibration, not after.

Anyway brightness of soundly be personal perception depending on individual hearing ability, room acoustics and speaker placement. If I were you I would still stick with Polk Reserve based on the little I know.

And I think u are right to go with more powerful amplifier. I guess my x3600h in 5.1 mode with only 80w/ch may be handicapping my elac dbr62s. Cos I feel in 2.1 mode with 100w/ch, I can hear that they sound much better. Pity amplifier power is so freaking expensive. The Polks Reserve may need even more power to sound best cos it goes down to 3+ohms compared to elac dbr62 which only goes down to 5ohm.

the reserve Center quite badly rated. If want 3 way Center have to go for l400 already. That alone can buy like 3 pair of the r200.

benedium

the reserve Center quite badly rated. If want 3 way Center have to go for l400 already. That alone can buy like 3 pair of the r200.
There are 3 Polk Reserve center speaker options lah. The one rated badly was the slim one the R350. I told TS to buy R400. Legend series L400 costs almost S$3k leh.

benedium

None are 3 way. Want 3 way have to go l400 and I don’t know why it cost like nearly 1k more then Kef r2c.
Yah ridiculous price for Polk haha. Cheapest 3 way centers are NHT, Emotiva and SVS Prime. But measurements may not be so good also.

W3isheng

Yah ridiculous price for Polk haha. Cheapest 3 way centers are NHT and SVS Prime. But measurements may not be so good also.
Im trying to free some time to go listen ovation United boss setup. He running l800 with l400 and surround l200. Go see see the l400 worth anot, if worth I go hoot r200 Liao. :D

Center impt for home theatre leh. It’s like I save money buying Polk r200, but the saving all go throw into the Center again. :x

Apparatus

I'm not going for expensive top of line audio items. Like I said before if you want to listen to HRA then go the separate route.

My need is for watching movies so no need so high spec expensive audio items

W3isheng

I'm not going for expensive top of line audio items. Like I said before if you want to listen to HRA then go the separate route.

My need is for watching movies so no need so high spec expensive audio items
Bro,

We are talking about Center which is the most impt speaker for your movie leh.

benedium

Im trying to free some time to go listen ovation United boss setup. He running l800 with l400 and surround l200. Go see see the l400 worth anot, if worth I go hoot r200 Liao. :D

Center impt for home theatre leh. It’s like I save money buying Polk r200, but the saving all go throw into the Center again. :x
I went his place before when dealing with ac infinity heheh. Super nice guy.

R400 at least got offset tweeter. Am sure it helps mitigate typical 2way center problems. No way to know until we can see measurements from audioscience people. U have to look at L400 measurements also. See if worth over 2k more. Siao.

W3isheng

U went his place before when dealing with ac infinity heheh.

R400 at least got offset tweeter. Am sure it helps mitigate typical 2way center problems. No way to know until we can see measurements from audioscience people. U have to look at L400 measurements also. See if worth over 2k more. Siao.

he’s nice guy la. Much better then the atlas sales guy who called me. After talking to him don’t feel like getting Kef leh.

benedium

he’s nice guy la. Much better then the atlas sales guy who called me. After talking to him don’t feel like getting Kef leh.
Eh maybe can ask if can compare reserve and legend center? Am sure R400 cannot be that bad lah. U need to do side by side test.

W3isheng

Eh maybe can ask if can compare reserve and legend center? Am sure R400 cannot be that bad lah. U need to do side by side test.
Hmmm next time ask ask lor.

im thinking if really go l400 LR min should go for r700 leh. But floorstander, don’t know my wife will say what. :x

anyway the r700 being bottom port, shouldn’t need that much clearance from side and back right?

benedium

Hmmm next time ask ask lor.

im thinking if really go l400 LR min should go for r700 leh. But floorstander, don’t know my wife will say what. :x

anyway the r700 being bottom port, shouldn’t need that much clearance from side and back right?
If I am not wrong, the clearance from wall has little to do with the port position actually. More to do with cabinet radiation or resonance or something. That's why most speakers even elac dbr62 with front port also need ideally 2 to 3 ft from front wall.

W3isheng

LR need Front wall 2-3 ft, surround need back 2-3 ft. Our pigeon hole where got so much space. :(

Apparatus

Bro,

We are talking about Center which is the most impt speaker for your movie leh.
Yes I know. But that doesn't mean you need to buy the premium series like the Legend. Remember with the Legend POLK Center speaker will come the Legend LR speakers as well and that will increase cost. Can the Legend timbre-match with the Reserve series for POLK?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.