HDD vs SSD for External Storage.........

watzup_ken

Both SSD and HDD are not foolproof when it comes to data storage. The latter is cheaper, but I do want to caution you about buying cheap HDD because they are of poor quality, which also explains why manufacturers are giving you a year or 2 years of warranty. Having said that, expensive drive don't mean they won't fail, but the failure rate is likely lower due to better quality component used. If the data is important, you should always consider a backup drive and a backup backup drive. While it is possible to retrieve data from a "dead" HDD, it will cost you a lot more than buying a secondary backup.

lalalalalala

IMHO.
Which cloud service you know will "compensate" you if the data you store there is lost ?
There's no compensation, but enterprises use them, so there's a certain level of competency.

most major providers (aws, gcp, azure) mirror the data to at least 1 other data center in a different country. end of the day if you trust yourself to be able to manage the data well then do it yourself. if you are scared then just let cloud providers pay qualified people to do it for you

keenklee

There's no compensation, but enterprises use them, so there's a certain level of competency.

most major providers (aws, gcp, azure) mirror the data to at least 1 other data center in a different country. end of the day if you trust yourself to be able to manage the data well then do it yourself. if you are scared then just let cloud providers pay qualified people to do it for you
IMHO.
Enterprise using it doesn't mean anything to the end user.
End of the day, it is how much trust to be placed on the reliability.

IT is very straight forward, performance and tolerance always equate to the cost.
End user, sometimes want to pay more also won't can't get.

If you want the data nearest to you, get a NAS configured with either RAID 1, 10, 50, 60, using HDD. That will give you a certain level of redundancy. Most NAS are also possible to backup a volume to another volume locally. That is another level of reliability at the expense of disk space. If you really feel your data are so important, then configure the NAS to backup another copy off-site using cloud services like AWS Deep Glacier or BackBlaze B2.

Manual backup is not only error prone and unlikely to be sustainable for a human. The automated approach above will give you a good assurance of data recoverability in the event of a human error, a local storage failure, local NAS failure or local site disaster. Your offsite cloud backup will be a very reliable storage solution but it is your last resort.

:)

wah...............bro...............i'm just backing up some documents, photos and ................porn...........

not some national top secrets lah............... :LOL:

many thanks for the details..............sounds very expensive.............i no money for that lah

You are buying for laptop? Not a fan of Toshiba, some of their drive are not very fast.
So either Western Digital Blue or Seagate barracuda will do fine.

for desktop lah.............as Ext HDD, not inside the PC............i've had good experience with 3 Hitachi HDDs but now this brand no more liao leh...........

Moi use External RAID1 for Backup.

IMHO.
I would choose HDD over SSD.
I would choose small capacity over large capacity i.e. if I need 2 TB, I will have 2 x 1TB.

I share an incident, hopefully it is a anomaly and once-off.
I have a Toshiba HDD 3 TB. No. of power-on count is 18 and Power-on hours 119.
The HDD start to have clicking sound but still could be accessed.
It was "painfully" slow when the data was transferred.

With mechanical HDD, there is a chance that the failure is not total and immediate.
The failure of SSD to my knowledge, usually is total and immediate.

To determine if the backup is correct, just delete a file. If you do not have a copy, it is not backup'ed.

I use a USB3 2-Bay HDD enclosure with 2 HDDs. In most instances, it is faster then my simple NAS.
The files are copied to the 1st HDD and then the 2nd.

ok, looks like best to avoid Toshiba then..............thought they're good since they're Jap and affordable😞

Both SSD and HDD are not foolproof when it comes to data storage. The latter is cheaper, but I do want to caution you about buying cheap HDD because they are of poor quality, which also explains why manufacturers are giving you a year or 2 years of warranty. Having said that, expensive drive don't mean they won't fail, but the failure rate is likely lower due to better quality component used. If the data is important, you should always consider a backup drive and a backup backup drive. While it is possible to retrieve data from a "dead" HDD, it will cost you a lot more than buying a secondary backup.

roger, many thanks :D

loganrunning

wah...............bro...............i'm just backing up some documents, photos and ................porn...........

many thanks for the details..............sounds very expensive.............i no money for that lah
antother perspective..... in the event of loss, if you can re-download, then it's only time and effort.

if there are no other sources available eg childhood pictures (which is not what you are saving), then the level of redundancy needed goes up.

86technie

for desktop lah.............as Ext HDD, not inside the PC............i've had good experience with 3 Hitachi HDDs but now this brand no more liao leh...........

ok, looks like best to avoid Toshiba then..............thought they're good since they're Jap and affordable😞

roger, many thanks :D

Hitachi/HGST is now under Western Digital.
Toshiba Hard disk I am not a fan, their HDD are slow.

For external hard disk why not consider a external hard disk or NAS?

Prawn no need to backup.
Every month new ones come out.

Personal Documents/Photos/Videos usually not that much.
Unless you Video alot.

IMHO.
Should be anomaly. I still have other Toshiba. This one is 3TB.

what about those normal ones selling at Sim Lim like $50+ for 1TB (2.5inch) ?

antother perspective..... in the event of loss, if you can re-download, then it's only time and effort.

if there are no other sources available eg childhood pictures (which is not what you are saving), then the level of redundancy needed goes up.

can't re-download lah............can't find again liao.........

Hitachi/HGST is now under Western Digital.
Toshiba Hard disk I am not a fan, their HDD are slow.

For external hard disk why not consider a external hard disk or NAS?

wonder if Hitachi still as good as before hor ?

i had 3 and they lasted a long time as internal HDD..........

Minimum you should backup to 2x Devices with at least 1x on an External Device to be safe.

Prawn no need to backup.
Every month new ones come out.

Personal Documents/Photos/Videos usually not that much.
Unless you Video alot.

new porn comes out all the time for sure............but i very loyal to certain actresses mah..........and newer vids may not be as stimulating lah............

Flanky

Wah. This thread comes just in time. My 2tb hdd just uplorry. Inside got some impt, mostly not impt files. I keep delaying to do backup (bought a nas, just didn't get around to configuring it).

So, where to find a decent hdd recovery service at a ok price?

The hdd spin up loudly. i thought was my casing fan) and vibrate. Think physical damage le.

Help please... (Morning was still working)

loganrunning

can't re-download lah............can't find again liao.........

new porn comes out all the time for sure............but i very loyal to certain actresses mah..........and newer vids may not be as stimulating lah............

then no choice lah. have to treat in same category as childhood pictures.
3-2-1 backup strategy

alamakazim

Take your time... Go through all those data.... Delete as much as u can .... Don't need hoard la.... End of the day... U wouldn't see them again 😉

Then can get few thumb drive and 1 HDD keep as copy

86technie

Wah. This thread comes just in time. My 2tb hdd just uplorry. Inside got some impt, mostly not impt files. I keep delaying to do backup (bought a nas, just didn't get around to configuring it).

The hdd spin up loudly. i thought was my casing fan) and vibrate. Think physical damage le.

https://pcdreams.com.sg/data-recovery/

If have clicking noise/doesn't spin up than the hard disk is spoilt, data recovery can be expensive.

Software Fault : $199*

Firmware Fault : $699*

Hardware Fault : $1099*

You should prepare 2-3k for it.
What can be recovered also no guarantee.

alamakazim

Software Fault : $199*

Firmware Fault : $699*

Hardware Fault : $1099*

You should prepare 2-3k for it.
What can be recovered also no guarantee.

In the end just give up lol...

So actually sentimental value data... Is either u every few months go and see see look look ... Else usually go to coffin... Those data also never be seen..

Like your wedding photo.. first 2 years got show show see see... After that under bed liao

watzup_ken

I think you called out a common issue here that most people even myself are guilty of. A lot of files we generally don't need. We store them because we think we may use them and because we can. But months and years passed and we don't even bother to open it. Those files can just be deleted to save space, instead of buying higher storage.
If the drive is still running, then try and see if you can transfer the important files out first. That way you don't have to waste money retrieving the data. The service is generally not cheap because it takes time and they know you are going to them because some data is important.

Take your time... Go through all those data.... Delete as much as u can .... Don't need hoard la.... End of the day... U wouldn't see them again 😉

Then can get few thumb drive and 1 HDD keep as copy

i thought thumbdrives are supposed to be terrible at retaining info ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.