HDD vs SSD for External Storage.........

well nothing last forever....

u already have your answers..... all are good answer.. just need small money or big money thats all

roger................roger................many thanks.............

by the way, i saw on the Sim Lim pricelist...........one shop selling WD My Passport Worldwide.........using 2.5 inch Red and Black HDD inside leh..............and the price lower than buying the stand-alone 2.5inch Red or Black HDD :s11:

roger................roger................many thanks.............

by the way, i saw on the Sim Lim pricelist...........one shop selling WD My Passport Worldwide.........using 2.5 inch Red and Black HDD inside leh..............and the price lower than buying the stand-alone 2.5inch Red or Black HDD :s11:

At your own risk.
No 100% inside is Red/Black.
Also 2.5 Red/Black are SMR liao.
Plus later you open up no SATA only USB3 how?

At your own risk.
No 100% inside is Red/Black.
Also 2.5 Red/Black are SMR liao.
Plus later you open up no SATA only USB3 how?

what you mean by open up and no SATA, only USB ?

if it's the WD My Passport Ext HD and it has the Red or Black then i save on the Ext enclosure leh !

Exactly what it means.
Not all External 2.5 HDD comes with SATA Port.
Some are USB3 Only.

external_hdd_data_recovery_gdsf.jpg

GPGT.
If you open liao can be no SATA only USB3.

Exactly what it means.
Not all External 2.5 HDD comes with SATA Port.
Some are USB3 Only.

external_hdd_data_recovery_gdsf.jpg

GPGT.
If you open liao can be no SATA only USB3.

huh ? i didn't even know that.................i thought SATA is like standard ?

so if USB then impossible to get a replacement enclosure for it ?

86technie

Don't know why you want to go to this extent to save a bit of money.
Red is for NAS/Network storage
Black is for performance.

If you are using it as external hard disk it make no difference which to go for
since it will be bottleneck by USB speed not SATA.
Just get a WD My Passport don't dismantle it, what about warranty?

External HDD can fail overtime, if you dismantle just to get the HDD inside and
the external HDD died than how?
It's throw away and buy a new one.

yusoffb01

Wah. This thread comes just in time. My 2tb hdd just uplorry. Inside got some impt, mostly not impt files. I keep delaying to do backup (bought a nas, just didn't get around to configuring it).

So, where to find a decent hdd recovery service at a ok price?

The hdd spin up loudly. i thought was my casing fan) and vibrate. Think physical damage le.

Help please... (Morning was still working)
your nas also not a backup. you need another copy.

yusoffb01

I recommend you get wd elements or wd book 8tb or above. buy from amazon if below $300. all are cmr and very fast at 160MBps. Can torrent directly via usb also no problem
Jl8OP9a.png

huh ? i didn't even know that.................i thought SATA is like standard ?
so if USB then impossible to get a replacement enclosure for it ?

you spend more $$$ go buy SATA PCB for same model and DIY remove solder the ROM over it lor.
hddpcbromexchange.jpg

External 2.5HDD higher chance inside the HDD comes with USB3 PCB Only.
Not all External 2.5HDD comes with SATA PCB.
Do it at your own risk.

you spend more $$$ go buy SATA PCB for same model and DIY remove solder the ROM over it lor.
hddpcbromexchange.jpg

Do it at your own risk.

roger..................roger..................many many thanks for your efforts indeed............

hor lah..............looks like Ext HDD is out then...............

wtfh4x

Do it at your own risk.
From what I know ah, Seagate is the only mainstream brand left that still does SATA PCB, but I'm not sure about their newer models. OneTouch and Portable definitely still have SATA. AData/other non-OEM brands still have SATA PCB since they just buy internal hard drives off the OEMs and pop them into casings. WD definitely does not, so avoid those whenever possible.

so better to buy internal 2.5inch HDD from sim Lim then put inside Orico casing lah like that...........

Internal 2.5 inch HDD are mostly all SMR as well except for some 500GB ones.
Just buy an External 2.5 HDD directly if you need an External 2.5 HDD.

CMR or SMR = very big difference for External Storage ?

i just thought buying an internal 2.5inch HDD is more versatile...........and more reliable perhaps ?

CMR = Normal HDD
SMR = Data Overlap HDD <---Bad for Writes, Okay for READ Only.
No such thing as Internal 2.5 HDD more versatile and/or more reliable.

If you torrent or RAID then you need CMR.
If Backup Large Video Files and mostly READ usage only then SMR works fine.

CMR = Normal HDD
SMR = Data Overlap HDD <---Bad for Writes, Okay for READ Only.
No such thing as Internal 2.5 HDD more versatile and/or more reliable.

If you torrent or RAID then you need CMR.
If Backup Large Video Files and mostly READ usage only then SMR works fine.

ok, i see..............many thanks once again............(y)

yusoffb01

smr fluctuates and drop to 0 when you write. feels unresponsive
GRQblJ6.jpg

cmr write is smooth, consistent 100MBps
dEZNfgD.jpg

smr fluctuates and drop to 0 when you write. feels unresponsive
GRQblJ6.jpg

cmr write is smooth, consistent 100MBps
dEZNfgD.jpg

but most HDDs today are SMR leh..............

anyway, most of the info i'm saving not big files lah.............maybe i transfer to the HDD a bit at a time lor..........

yusoffb01

but most HDDs today are SMR leh..............

anyway, most of the info i'm saving not big files lah.............maybe i transfer to the HDD a bit at a time lor..........
already told u 8tb and above wd book or elements are cmr. get those

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.