Samsung A52 5G/4G

firesong

what do u guys mean 'spare phone'?

means buy liao then chuck it one side in case your main phone spoils?

or use it as a 2nd phone because u have a 2nd SIM card?
For me, it's a work phone - with my working line.

Even though phones can be Dual-SIM these days, I find that it gets a little messy to keep separate both lines. Also, you need to be very conscious as to which number you are calling/texting from, and sometimes you may call/text from the wrong number.

frizee

Guys, guess I have to consider switching camp (back to Poco), the F3 went as low as $340 for 6/128 and $370 for 8/256 o_O

wwh5210

Guys, guess I have to consider switching camp (back to Poco), the F3 went as low as $340 for 6/128 and $370 for 8/256 o_O
For mobile devices, I won't consider Xiaomi brands anymore. MIUI isn't really my cup of tea and there are many minor software bugs. Furthermore, the software update is kind of slow (they have too many devices to take care of).

firesong

For mobile devices, I won't consider Xiaomi brands anymore. MIUI isn't really my cup of tea and there are many minor software bugs. Furthermore, the software update is kind of slow (they have too many devices to take care of).
Likewise, support is important to me.

Samsung has promised 3 full software updates (3 Android versions) and 4 years of Security updates for their phones, in line with the Google Pixel. They have also sped up their software release cycles reasonably, so we're no longer waiting something like half a year for the new updates.

Those who don't care about security updates obviously don't care about their personal data. I use my phone for things like Singpass, banking, secure transactions - enough that a compromise will cause real problems.

twosix

xiaomi/poco promises 4 years of updates. and those news that xiaomi phones are not safe, sending data back to china etc... haha... crap lah. even ocbc account can be hacked via sms. as long as one does not install unknown apps and dun anyhow click on any links, one should be fine.

firesong

xiaomi/poco promises 4 years of updates. and those news that xiaomi phones are not safe, sending data back to china etc... haha... crap lah. even ocbc account can be hacked via sms. as long as one does not install unknown apps and dun anyhow click on any links, one should be fine.
They did? Their own web site doesn't state four years. A company's official policy needs to be stated on its own web site, not hearsay or statements.
https://www.mi.com/global/service/support/security-update.html
https://www.forbes.com/sites/thomas...es-private-web-and-phone-use/?sh=4a9e59b31b2a
As for phone home, set up a firewall and monitor the traffic, especially those on https - it is there. It is Chinese law that companies who have a business entity in China have to store user and company data within Chinese borders itself, and the law allows for unchallenged access to the data by their government. Your Xiaomi account, Huawei Account, Oppo account, etc - data has to be stored within China. Especially since these are under "Telecoms", which is a clearly specified to fall under their data laws.

https://www.wired.com/story/china-personal-data-law-pipl/https://fortune.com/2021/09/01/china-data-security-law-beijing-management-regulation-internet/https://www.iflr.com/article/b1vdlcy3c367qc/primer-chinas-data-security-law
Here's a lawyer's op-ed on an earlier version of China's data security laws. The laws have not be relaxed, only tightened further. Some pertinent extracts:
https://harrisbricken.com/chinalawblog/chinas-new-cybersecurity-system-there-is-no-place-to-hide/
The Regulation on Internet Security Supervision and Inspection by Public Security Organs provides for two levels of inspection of networked servers: on-site inspection and offline, remote access. [...] The inspection team has complete access to the network system. Inspection can cover both the technical aspects of the network system and the data/information maintained on the servers. See Article 10. The inspectors can fully access the system and they are permitted to copy any data they find.

[...]
Confidential information housed on any server located in China is subject to being viewed and copied by China’s Ministry of Public Security and that information then becomes open to access by the entire PRC government system. But the PRC government is the shareholder of the State Owned Entities (SOEs) which are the key industries in China. The PRC government also essentially controls the key private companies in China such as Huawei and ZTE and more recently Alibaba and Tencent and many others.
Their laws, their rules. As explained by a lawyer analysing these laws (and of course, if a US lawyer gets it wrong, he'll be sued in the kangaroo courts of the US itself - the fact that the op-ed is still published clearly shows its factual.

To put it in perspective, even the US government has to challenge using the courts system, and may be denied - as shown a few times by Apple and Google.
https://www.cnbc.com/2020/01/14/apple-refuses-barr-request-to-unlock-pensacola-shooters-iphones.htmlhttps://www.washingtonpost.com/tech...data-will-other-companies-bow-under-pressure/

wwh5210

It's there for sure due to Chinese laws. It applies to all Chinese brands and not just Xiaomi.

twosix

They did? Their own web site doesn't state four years. A company's official policy needs to be stated on its own web site, not hearsay or statements.
https://www.mi.com/global/service/support/security-update.html
https://www.forbes.com/sites/thomas...es-private-web-and-phone-use/?sh=4a9e59b31b2a
As for phone home, set up a firewall and monitor the traffic, especially those on https - it is there. It is Chinese law that companies who have a business entity in China have to store user and company data within Chinese borders itself, and the law allows for unchallenged access to the data by their government. Your Xiaomi account, Huawei Account, Oppo account, etc - data has to be stored within China. Especially since these are under "Telecoms", which is a clearly specified to fall under their data laws.

https://www.wired.com/story/china-personal-data-law-pipl/https://fortune.com/2021/09/01/china-data-security-law-beijing-management-regulation-internet/https://www.iflr.com/article/b1vdlcy3c367qc/primer-chinas-data-security-law
To put it in perspective, even the US government has to challenge using the courts system, and may be denied - as shown a few times by Apple and Google.
https://www.cnbc.com/2020/01/14/apple-refuses-barr-request-to-unlock-pensacola-shooters-iphones.htmlhttps://www.washingtonpost.com/tech...data-will-other-companies-bow-under-pressure/
haha,... it's ur choice lah... quote so many articles... most people nowadays know how to google already.

but then again this is the samsung A52 thread, and i have this phone as well... plus poco f3 and iphone. i dun limit myself to 1 brand only. haha.

firesong

haha,... it's ur choice lah... quote so many articles... most people nowadays know how to google already.

but then again this is the samsung A52 thread, and i have this phone as well... plus poco f3 and iphone. i dun limit myself to 1 brand only. haha.
The fact is, there are many many more articles where those came from. ;) Simply, the claims you made above clearly have no basis in light of China's own laws and are bandied around by users such as yourself to reinforce the ignorance. :( If they do it, then own it and admit they do it. No need to deny them - even if they pay users to protect their brand reputatation. ;)

Am merely taking the effort to correct the misinformation, from the alleged four years of updates to the no-phone-home claims. Lots of information online showing that it's all misinformation because of the country's legislation and policies.

As one who has owned a few Xiaomi phones which did not receive updates at all - including the Mi Max 2, I'm quite sure Xiaomi's published policy is not necessarily followed even by themselves.

wwh5210

Back to A52s... Anyone know how to search manually in the Samsung theme store?

Just gotten A52s local set and M52 Malaysian set. A52s for me and M52 for my mum as she prefers the bigger screen. She happy with it can liao. Fortunately the csc on the M52 can be changed to XSP and it now functions like a local set. But its hard to find screen protector and case for the M52 in brick and mortar shops. Not many choices. So i bought online.

firesong

Just gotten A52s local set and M52 Malaysian set. A52s for me and M52 for my mum as she prefers the bigger screen. She happy with it can liao. Fortunately the csc on the M52 can be changed to XSP and it now functions like a local set.
Interesting pairing. Share your observations after a few weeks. They're generally similar in terms of specs, , but are very different product classifications so receive different support levels. Build is also different (Corning glass on the A52s, standard tempered glass on the M52).

kkfa2018

I have over the past week issues with WiFi at home only with my A52s. The other devices like tablets, PC, laptops, Smart TV etc no issues.

Any body else have this issue?

I have restarted the phone, forget on phone, and reset WiFi at source etc. Still cannot.

WiFi issue only with email and not Internet, apps etc.

Gurus can advise what else to do? I don't want to factory reset.

Thanks in advance.

Rxgn

my a52 always got difficulty scanning shopee qr code at physical retail shop to make payment

my wife a51 have no such problem. anyone facing this prob as well?

gapboy

my a52 always got difficulty scanning shopee qr code at physical retail shop to make payment

no issues using QR code for payment at hawker center ... using GRAB pay

corrs17

Hi all, would like to find out is there any performance difference between 128gb model and 256gb model? Planning replace my 2nd phone for some light gaming and PHV use. Currently using s10 lite. Worth upgrading?

wwh5210

No issue to scan QR code.

wwh5210

Hi all, would like to find out is there any performance difference between 128gb model and 256gb model? Planning replace my 2nd phone for some light gaming and PHV use. Currently using s10 lite. Worth upgrading?
The price difference is about $70. No difference in performance as both models are with 8GB RAM.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.