Genting FAQ - Part 3

bigherosg

By right, u shud insist the customer service counter to call reservations center n chk + book on yr behalf (if it's true still got room available & u r willing to pay for it) - tats their job! Full stop.

In the past, i nvr encounter such face-to-face customer service personnel tat wud ask me to call by myself. They can't be just a "info checker" - otherwise it doesn't justify their existence.
They dun make bookings over the counter anymore hv to call in. Tried at sky n old casino unlike in the past can jus book at counter.

vsvs24

Yes those casino kiosk gives better rates. Manage to get highland at 142gp while online was 510, n i paid 730rm for 3nites at FW for y5rm. But sometimes kiosk gt problems too wanted to extend, ask me approach card centre, go card centre say rms available but if kiosk cnt must call. Go rm call on hold for more than 1hr, give up.
Can go to the kiosk straight away apply upon arrival or need to go casino and contribute some money first ?

vsvs24

Hey guys... I got a crazy idea, as I have lready used up my free entitlements for foc hotel stays (first world only) and I am thinking of coming up another time this month. Since the "best rates" are still crazy 280 to 300 ringitt per night as I have been used to FOC rooms all the while.

Has anybody tried booking just a bus round trip without a hotel booking. Say a night bus to Genting, reach there in the morning. Go play for the next 48hrs or so. Understand there is short term stays (4hrs for 50 ringitt) to freshen up and catch a bit of a shut eye. Then when enough is enough only then go book a bus ticket back to sg. Is it do-able without being too shacked? :s13:
Maybe you should check if the Chin Swee temple still let out rooms. Before covid they do.

givansingapore

I wonder if their bosses know about this or whether it was a pte arrangement between the bus driver and the transtar coordinator :unsure:
Prior to border closure, the coach change for solitaire was already in place due to safety concerns. However the changeover location seemed to vary.

givansingapore

The sweltering weather currently in sg makes me pine for the cool cool weather of Genting Highlands. I checked the room rates for first world. It is currently between 280 to 300 ringitt per night :eek:
Did you check the rates after logging in to your account? Standard rooms are only RM63 after discount, Y5 triple only RM116 per night after discount.

givansingapore

Don't try the stalls located in Msian Food Street. Really cmi and contrary to perception, not cheap either. The chicken meat are all hard 23 ringitt. The bakkut teh all fatty 33 ringitt. The hokkien mee all black and super salty at 22 ringit, Only the curry fishhead is edible. The drinks stall stop serving by 9.20pm. Much better fare at Baba Jia and RichDad's, Auntie Kwan and Grandmothers. Be warned, if you come at 5am+, the only F&B shop opened is StarBucks. Some open at 8am while the rest open by 9am.
The main draw of the Malaysia Food Street is the kaya toast set. The dim sum set is edible IMHO.

Mia Nanasawa

Sian. Like that what is the point of paying for Solitaire ? The most difficult part of the journey where can get motion sickness and need to be comfortable is not on Solitaire.

Before covid also encounter had to change 3 times. The last leg is at Singapore custom where need to change to SVIP bus to Tampines.

ya u never say i also forget already
they do that a few times before
i take solitaire but at customs switch to the svip bus

actually the best way is
take airplane SG > KL (1 hour)
stay in KL 1 night (kl 5 star hotels are very cheap)
next day take grab up to cable car, then cable car up to genting

come back just do the reverse

Mia Nanasawa

B5 is open. But I don’t like it that they get you a transfer bus from Genting B5 resort hotel to travel 1hr + to KL where the actual solitaire bus is waiting for you. Where the shop that is selling all the tidbits etc.

When they told me transfer to the bus I thot it was only the usual 10 min thingie down the hill.

ya this one before covid they also got do this already.

switch to solitaire suites at the Tau Sar Piah shop with the uncle that keep screaming non stop for people to try his Tau Sar Piah

Smarty2

They dun make bookings over the counter anymore hv to call in. Tried at sky n old casino unlike in the past can jus book at counter.
Over the counter, they still need to call up reservation center la...since b4 COVID alrdy such a practice, not only recently. They dun hv direct room booking rights/access - still need to go thru reservations... it's centralised. Even the marketing guys (host) go thru reservations center as well. That way u dun hv to call by yrself..they call on yr behalf.

vsvs24

ya u never say i also forget already
they do that a few times before
i take solitaire but at customs switch to the svip bus

actually the best way is
take airplane SG > KL (1 hour)
stay in KL 1 night (kl 5 star hotels are very cheap)
next day take grab up to cable car, then cable car up to genting

come back just do the reverse
I go for cool weather in Genting. Don't really like KL.

huimeng

Wanna go genting on 30th May onwards but all genting rooms fully booked leh. Is it no chance liao?

bruiser69

Did you check the rates after logging in to your account? Standard rooms are only RM63 after discount, Y5 triple only RM116 per night after discount.
Yes I checked the rates and the prices were as member rates. Maybe the interval was too short after my 1 trip, or maybe this is Vesak day week. I wouldn’t want to spend SGD90 bucks per nite for FWH. Genting Grand can consider haha.

bruiser69

ya this one before covid they also got do this already.

switch to solitaire suites at the Tau Sar Piah shop with the uncle that keep screaming non stop for people to try his Tau Sar Piah
I go there to use the toilet only. While my better half (if she deigns to come to Genting) will do all the buying. Normally what we do is to fly to KLIA1 (I previously had tonnes of Krisflyer miles) 1 hr and then take Aerobus up to Genting (2 hrs).

givansingapore

Yes I checked the rates and the prices were as member rates. Maybe the interval was too short after my 1 trip, or maybe this is Vesak day week. I wouldn’t want to spend SGD90 bucks per nite for FWH. Genting Grand can consider haha.
If room size is not an issue, the cheapest room is really RM63 per night for most of the remaining May.

givansingapore

Screenshot_20220516_082012_com.android.chrome.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.