Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

beanstalk6

My theory is that public or state holidays in Johor have no bearing on the causeway traffic, at least not in the same direction. Nor does it matter so much for the footfall in the malls. When it is a long weekend, Malaysians also balik kampung. In any case, there are so many malls that distribute any increase in footfall. I will visit all the same.

rrr2015

My theory is that public or state holidays in Johor have no bearing on the causeway traffic, at least not in the same direction. Nor does it matter so much for the footfall in the malls. When it is a long weekend, Malaysians also balik kampung. In any case, there are so many malls that distribute any increase in footfall. I will visit all the same.
recently weather quite hot, so probably many will flock to aircon malls:p

Alex.hero

fair point. My thinking is that if public holiday/state holiday, lesser workers to work. I go restaurant, lesser staff means longer wait and unpleasant experience for me

beanstalk6

fair point. My thinking is that if public holiday/state holiday, lesser workers to work. I go restaurant, lesser staff means longer wait and unpleasant experience for me

JB is after all unlike Malacca or Penang, that when there is a Malaysian public holiday, domestic tourists crowd the town with vehicle and foot traffic such that I avoid visiting Malacca.

Alex.hero

JB is after all unlike Malacca or Penang, that when there is a Malaysian public holiday, domestic tourists crowd the town with vehicle and foot traffic such that I avoid visiting Malacca.
That’s also true lah. Only ppl going in on Monday can share their experience 😂

mysejahtera app finally can change the nationality to Non - Malaysian and update of the vaccination status after resubmitting the documents and result is immediate

Aaagogo

no need to wait for their news or reports, if any singaporean's are at the receiving end of crime over the border, confirm local news will report one.

boringLife-

Planning to do a 2d1n into JB, maybe near KSL area. The plan is to ride motorcycle in and park at hotel then take grab within JB.

Hence, any hotels recommendation that have secure parking for motorcycle? I don't want those unsheltered roadside parking one.

Habrosus

no need to wait for their news or reports, if any singaporean's are at the receiving end of crime over the border, confirm local news will report one.
I read something about an SG couple who went there and got arrested for creating their own crime. IIRC it's drug-related stabbing the other ... That's also where I read about 'no crime against SGeans'.

Anyway, let's stick to our orluak, sup kambing, yum yum enjoy JB ourselves.

Ramtree

was shopping in JB a few days ago. cashier spoke to me in Malay but I don't understand leh. what's the best way to respond in this situation?

Aaagogo

was shopping in JB a few days ago. cashier spoke to me in Malay but I don't understand leh. what's the best way to respond in this situation?

it is always helpful, useful, suggested that you learn to speak at least the basics of the local language of which ever country you are visiting;

at the very least, learn how to say "i don't speak (your local language)" in that language, sorry, hello, ask for price, food items and numbers (1-10). You don't have to master complete sentences, just bit and pieces of specific words is enough

the purpose is to disarm the locals by speaking their language, it's a very surprising tool as it tackles the human psychology of hearing and seeing a stranger speak your language that puts your brain into "oh, they are just like me" without realizing, even if you are just trying to piece together parts of words in a sentence.

Habrosus

Their local language is also our national language, in case anyone (much younger) forgets.

I use more of it once I'm across the causeway, mostly to allow those who've difficulty with English to converse more easily. Yup, don't need to be full sentences, as just having the specific words is normally enough to let them understand you.

tomicaguy

Any good new hotels? Used to stay at Amara.

Only recalled Holiday Inn (post covid) and Capri (before covid)

beanstalk6

Any good new hotels? Used to stay at Amara.

Only recalled Holiday Inn (post covid) and Capri (before covid)
There isnt an Amara in JB. is it the Amari? I don't think there would be any newcomers to the scene due to the Covid. Trove is a revamp.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.