Vietnam

paladin

Has anyone been to Da Nang recently? Is there a shop selling SIM card at Da Nang airport?
There was a promotion for free SIM card for tourist when I visited in June. Just walk out of airport and you will see. However, they will take a photo of your passport and your face to claim so there is privacy risk.

Otherwise, there is free WiFi at airport and plenty of shops selling SIM cards

Suggest book airport transfer using Klook. Cheaper than grab. Less hassle too, driver wait for you

Ryuichi

Will be checking out the Halong bay tour in the next few days!

Any advice on what to look out for eg scams or not worth routes/package?

SO far, i have not seen any metro or the station in and around Old quarter leh!

Maybe i've been looking at the XMMs! :p

Haha no wonder you call BigBird lol.

I taking domestic fromm Hanoi to HCM via Vietnam air A350, any thing too look out? Should ok right national airline

tempestuous-

You can climb Ham Rong mountain entry besides the church/ Notre Dame cathedral ( use Google map) . Easy climb , just follow what others or tour guide do. Nice view on top. About 2 hours up and down

pro tip: Fansipan is weather dependent, if weather is good, ie sunny and clear, on first day, go already, you may never know if 2nd day weather will be good, it can be rainy, cloudy/ foggy or windy, or even all of the above. Fansipan is quite big, need 3 hours to factor breaks, if you are not taking funicular, aim to reach cable car at the top for your descent by 5.30pm, before it gets dark, therefore, aim to go latest 2.30pm to 3 pm, if weather on Day 1 is good. The stairs are brutal for me, and I am quite fit. Maybe because I am scared of heights and some stairs are steep, e.g the Buddha one.

Thanks for the tip!

Bigbird00

How’s the weather over there now ?
:s12:

Same like SG lah!

Hot and sticky!

I went for 1 day Halong trip! Wah lau now June & July peak season + School holidays! Sibeh crowded!

I booked the Halong bay trip from hotel and paid too much! KNN.

So far Klook has the best deal i think! I found out from those who went for the tour in my group and the lowest price paid for the 1 day HLB tour is VND1M.

My HLB tour Itinerary
* Pick up from hotel/hostel
* 6 hrs wooden ferry cruise
- Lunch on board
- walk inside Surprising Cave
- kayaking or take a bamboo boat to explore
- Titov Island (Hike up the Hill or swim at the beach)
* Send back to hotel/hostel

If you are big size, i recommend u to "upsize" (pay/topup) the package using Luxury VAN to HLB! The small seats standard seat van is them cramp. Suffer for 2+2hrs!

Note: bring sunblock

popdod

Same like SG lah!

Hot and sticky!

I went for 1 day Halong trip! Wah lau now June & July peak season + School holidays! Sibeh crowded!

I booked the Halong bay trip from hotel and paid too much! KNN.

So far Klook has the best deal i think! I found out from those who went for the tour in my group and the lowest price paid for the 1 day HLB tour is VND1M.

My HLB tour Itinerary
* Pick up from hotel/hostel
* 6 hrs wooden ferry cruise
- Lunch on board
- walk inside Surprising Cave
- kayaking or take a bamboo boat to explore
- Titov Island (Hike up the Hill or swim at the beach)
* Send back to hotel/hostel

If you are big size, i recommend u to "upsize" (pay/topup) the package using Luxury VAN to HLB! The small seats standard seat van is them cramp. Suffer for 2+2hrs!

Note: bring sunblock

Woah. Thanks for the feedback.
Appreciated.
Guess I shall book Klook then. :s12:

How’s surprising cave ? Nice ?? :s13:

Overall trip should be enjoyable right except for the transport. :s13:

After reading some online.
Don’t think I wanna stay overnight at Halong Bay. :(

SaulGoodman

Appreciated.

ohh why not? was thinking to stay overnight at halongbay..

SaulGoodman

guys.. wanna ask if this itinerary is ok? 8 days trip..

day 1: explore hanoi + hanoi train street + hanoi night market
day 2: halong bay
day 3: 8am depart for ninh binh
day 4: 4pm return back to hanoi + 7pm flight to da nang
day 5: explore ba na hills + french village
day 6: explore marble mountain
day 7: explore hoi an
day 8: flight back to sg

thanks in advance...

clock_ED

Hi, have u guys tried entering Vietnam just one-way (sg to vn) ticket?

Was told that it would not be possible and the airline company in Sg will not allow it... :(

beanstalk6

Hi, have u guys tried entering Vietnam just one-way (sg to vn) ticket?

Was told that it would not be possible and the airline company in Sg will not allow it... :(
Well, this is easy for you to test. Simply go to any of the airline sites to try to buy a one-way ticket. I don't think a return ticket is compulsory.

beanstalk6

guys.. wanna ask if this itinerary is ok? 8 days trip..

day 1: explore hanoi + hanoi train street + hanoi night market
day 2: halong bay
day 3: 8am depart for ninh binh
day 4: 4pm return back to hanoi + 7pm flight to da nang
day 5: explore ba na hills + french village
day 6: explore marble mountain
day 7: explore hoi an
day 8: flight back to sg

thanks in advance...
This itinerary will be tight. You will need a car to get between places. One to whisk you to Halong Bay for a quick cruise that returns in the evening. Perhaps you can stay the night in Halong City so you can ride to Ninh Binh direct. A possibility is to stay the night on a junk at Halong Bay and return in the morning to Halong. Saves some time on the road.

clock_ED

Well, this is easy for you to test. Simply go to any of the airline sites to try to buy a one-way ticket. I don't think a return ticket is compulsory.
Ok and guys how about travel insurance, any experience buy travel insurance for one-way trips? Thks!

kiryu86

looking into going hanoi in next year january.

how cold is hanoi in january? will go on first week, cause if go near CNY or their Tet celebration, alot of place is close.

and i am planning a one night stay in halong bay and sapa , the rest of the days just relax n lepak in hanoi city

is 8 days trip enough?

Bigbird00

Appreciated.

When u are in Hanoi, just ask around some travel companies, esp around Old quarters where you may get some good deals! Klook also consolidate and outsource these tours!

The Surpriseing Cave was good to go and see, but June & July is peak season and entry into the caves is one big cluster fxxk! The stairs up and the mouth of the cave is single file or at most 2. The cave is suppost to be cool even in hot weather but it's so pack that its hot and humid inside till the floor is slippery! Covid "central"! 60% of people dont wear mask here!

Halong bay is a must go lah! Once is enough! If u got cho bu then stay 1 night at Halong bay (Cruise or hotel) loh! Romantic boom boom night with your lady!

There's many new Condo & Villas development! Very attractive and tempting to live in 1 for retirement! :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.