[BREAKDOWN SUBSIDY ENJOYED BY SINKIES] Probably better to just be full paying FT and skip NS than enjoy 'subsidy' and lose 2 years of your life...

nyvrem

not detailed breakdown hor, just anyhow take from internet the cost from MOE/hospital website and all the relevant websites.

The cost for your typical healthy average FT male kid (Asean country), go from kindergarten to JC, cannot enter local Uni, end up in SIM

Healthcare Cost as an FT$$ per yearTotal Cost
Pop Baby in SG as FT8000 (could be cheaper if you look around but maybe parents kiasu)
See doctor for Flu etc (Private GP)Everyone pays same rate for private GP to see flu etc.
Hospital for major illnessInsurance coverage (if your parents are FT, their coy would also have family coverage lah)
Education Cost as an FT (till early 20s)Taken from MOE website then calculated for yearly feesOver the course of each part of their life
Kindergardent Fees4800 15000 (3 years)
Primary school Fees600036000 (6 years)
Secondary school Fees350014000 (4 years)
JC School Fees1300026000 (2 years)
SIM Fees for 3 year begree35000 (Not included in total because sinkies also pay same rate)
Public TransportEveryone pays same rate
F&BEveryone pays same rate
Cost to raise FT kid in SG$100000 +/-

Total 'subsidy' enjoyed by sinkies is around 100k but you forgo 2 years of your life.

How much can you earn in that 2 years?

with an SIM begree, maybe in CS,

3.5k/mth x 14 mths (12 mths salary + aws + 1 mth bonus) = $49,000

2 years = $98,000 income loss because you went into NS

Haven't take into consideration the potential promotion / experience / salary increment - so you could potentially lose out $$ wise.

Thanks for attending my ted talk

lowsesbbfa

not detailed breakdown hor, just anyhow take from internet the cost from MOE/hospital website and all the relevant websites.

The cost for your typical healthy average FT male kid (Asean country), go from kindergarten to JC, cannot enter local Uni, end up in SIM

Pop Baby in SG as FT8000 (could be cheaper if you look around but maybe parents kiasu)
See doctor for Flu etc (Private GP)Everyone pays same rate for private GP to see flu etc.
Hospital for major illnessInsurance coverage (if your parents are FT, their coy would also have family coverage lah)
Education Cost as an FT (till early 20s)Taken from MOE website then calculated for yearly feesOver the course of each part of their life
Kindergardent Fees480015000 (3 years)
SIM Fees for 3 year begree35000 (Not included in total because sinkies also pay same rate)

Total 'subsidy' enjoyed by sinkies is around 100k but you forgo 2 years of your life.

Haven't take into consideration the potential promotion / experience / salary increment - so you could potentially lose out $$ wise.

Stinkies voted for this.

mskate88

Kindergardent Fees480015000 (3 years)

Why you didn't include housing de? If sinkie, can buy bto, so cheap. FT cannot buy bto

nyvrem

Why you didn't include housing de? If sinkie, can buy bto, so cheap. FT cannot buy bto

sinkies earliest they can get BTO is 35 yo for singles, unless u marry early.

what has that got to do with FT ? FT pay full fees for everything come out work, marry sinkie girl also can BTO once they pop baby or buy resale liao what

or FT can just come out work then get PR later then convert to sinkie shittyzenship at 30 yo, then 35 can BTO liao what

:s22: :s22: :s22:

Sinestra

not everything is about $ only, u try give someone 20 year contract and 100k to migrate to North Korea/Russia or stay alone in rural area with no access to proper utilities away from loved ones who will take?

FT enjoyed the connectivity, stability, and prosperity of this nation. For each additional one here, u have to account for the potential loss of opportunity for a local leh. Their primary usefulness of being here is to enhance, not leech, but nowadays it rarely is the case without proper rail guards

coyote

And according to the other edmw who quoted Moe website, Singaporean children pay close to no school fees from Primary to pre-university.

c95zm8

TS forgot the $100 credits given out to NSmen.. Pls pofma this inaccurate calculation

nyvrem

It's wrong calculation to assume you have a degree at age 18 and can make $3,500 a month for 2 years.

sumthin wrong with chu logic.

already say ish go from JC to SIM finish a begree in kumputer science. means graduate by 22 go out work for 2 years.

but u also right, starting salary in kumputer science is defo not 3.5k/mth. i just lowball.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

PeanutButtor

Pappies allow ordinary "FT" to take ordinary jobs here. Sinkies can only ride grab food and taxi.

nyvrem

TS, if you add in potential job loss or career advancement kena held back due to reservist, the cost to serve NS is even higher

wah i dont dare add that inside.

really... that one the worms inside of the can too big riao

nyvrem

not everything is about $ only, u try give someone 20 year contract and 100k to migrate to North Korea/Russia or stay alone in rural area with no access to proper utilities away from loved ones who will take?

FT enjoyed the connectivity, stability, and prosperity of this nation. For each additional one here, u have to account for the potential loss of opportunity for a local leh. Their primary usefulness of being here is to enhance, not leech, but nowadays it rarely is the case without proper rail guards

why never say give 100k go Oz or Norway to migrate?

u want compare, then do apple with apple loh.

coyote

sumthin wrong with chu logic.

already say ish go from JC to SIM finish a begree in kumputer science. means graduate by 22 go out work for 2 years.

but u also right, starting salary in kumputer science is defo not 3.5k/mth. i just lowball.

If you insist on calculating salary, you can only consider earning power at the time of their NS. Not 6 years after they completed NS and 4 years of university study.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.