SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

jezzmatezz

Hi all, could i check with you guys.
i got my parents the senior line.
my dad who is using a Samsung, shows a 4G signal.
my mom who is using apple, shows LTE.

I’m aware that LTE is quite inferior to 4G.
is there a setting that i need to change?

thanks in advance for your response.

a4973

Can share your source which claim 4G > LTE?

gapboy

Lte and 4g is the same

S22ultra

avviicc

For those who wants to try out ur simba free autoroaming. U dun have to go to malaysia to test it :)

U can go to punggol beach near punggol settlement or woodlands park where u can see the R&F condos, there are malaysia signals and u can choose network operator "MY Celcom".

Test liao then u can go msia with peace of mind.. Imagine u never test then go msia finds out that the roaming is not working then cannot use google map etc, then troublesome liao

Just test my MY130 plan today haha.. it works like a charm

gapboy

For those who wants to try out ur simba free autoroaming. U dun have to go to malaysia to test it
:)
U can go to punggol beach near punggol settlement or woodlands park where u can see the R&F condos, there are malaysia signals and u can choose network operator "MY Celcom".

Wierd just to go punggol to test Sim if you not staying around there.. Glad it works for you..

S22ultra

avviicc

Wierd just to go punggol to test Sim if you not staying around there.. Glad it works for you..

S22ultra

I stay around there haha.. but some of u may want to test first if the simba roaming is working or not before going msia . imagine u never test and then go msia find out is not working.. then troublesome liao

keenklee

For those who wants to try out ur simba free autoroaming. U dun have to go to malaysia to test it :)

Test liao then u can go msia with peace of mind.. Imagine u never test then go msia finds out that the roaming is not working then cannot use google map etc, then troublesome liao

IMHO.
The signal there is weak but still can connect.
The other place more convenient would be Northshore Punggol.
I tested roaming there but cannot work in London.

micgoh

Good morning all. Im looking for a sim-only cheap plan for my wife (both in our 60s) .

mainly requires outgoing call time, free incoming and sms as she still talks to her friend more than using the internet (10gb is more than enough). any cheap plans to recommend? thank you

lohsenglte

IMHO.
The signal there is weak but still can connect.
The other place more convenient would be Northshore Punggol.
I tested roaming there but cannot work in London.
Celcom roaming is directly under SIMBA
UK roaming is under Orange World (Orange France)

lohsenglte

Good morning all. Im looking for a sim-only cheap plan for my wife (both in our 60s) .

mainly requires outgoing call time, free incoming and sms as she still talks to her friend more than using the internet (10gb is more than enough). any cheap plans to recommend? thank you
Not sure if SIMBA Senior Plan is a good fit for you, but you can try if you want.

If it doesn't work out, can move to other plans like Giga $10, redONE $8, VIVIFI $9, ZYM $9.90, Changi $8, MyRepublic $10.

Listed above have 2 operators on each of the Big Three. StarHub for first 2, SingTel for next 2, M1 for the last 2.

gapboy

Senior plan if you are eligible $5 monthly

S22ultra

micgoh

ok $5 is what i think best suited. haha ,but simba got any chance got reliability issues?

lohsenglte

ok $5 is what i think best suited. haha ,but simba got any chance got reliability issues?
I would say maybe some places have weak reception, especially private areas.
Other than that, I don't really have issues.

I would suggest you get a $5 Senior Plan from the SIMBA Shops first with random number and cash payment (please don't pay extra, I know some ah Beng shop will try to say need pay $10 or something extra for "sim card" cost) and test the network. If it works for you, then sign up new line and port over.
If it doesn't, at least you won't be stuck and think of it as eating one less plate of chicken thigh rice.

lohsenglte

Anyone here tested SIMBA 5G speed before? How is it?

Their 5G is currently limited to certain places.
They probably ended their initial trial (31 Aug). Launching commercial 5GNR NSA later this month, not sure it it's trial or plan. That was highlighted in their investor relations.

keenklee

That's the sad part. Things might never iron out due to phone side too. Who knows.
IMHO.
At least for those who knows how to troubleshoot may get it working.
However, a lot of end users are not like that.
Luckily Wifi very good at Heathrow. Now on plane also can get Wifi.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.