iPhone 14 pro max Carousell Scam

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

chmnda990

Hi All, as what the title have stated, I was being scammed by a carousell seller recently for a purchase of an iPhone 14 max pro under the username _sws_fans. The account is already suspended and it was suspended straight after I made the transfer, so I am not sure of the reason why but let me explain my story and you guys perhaps can give me your prediction and analysis. This is the most advance scam ever and it might sound bit confusing, but stay with me:

So I saw this iPhone 14 pro max deal at carousell, offered a amount to the seller and the seller was open to sell me at that price. So after agreeing on the price, the seller told me that he or she can courier the product over to me free but I have to pay for the full amount. Being uncomfortable with that, I ask him or her if I can just transfer over 100 but she say can't and she or he ask me to deal with others. But after rounds of negotiating and have a dialogue with the seller, she say I can just transfer half to the balance and she can courier straight to me now if I do not trust the deal. So upon seeing the sincerity of the seller in agreeing to my request, I decided to deal for this iPhone.

I did my check, this seller have 100+ reviews and have this account for 5 years so everything looks very legit and sincere. So the seller gave me a phone number and while I was trying to transfer the money over, the seller suddenly went "oh ****" and gave me another new phone number. So I asked, which number should I transfer but she say both numbers are fine. At the end I transferred to the 2nd number and the seller was asking for my postal code, my address and even check if there is any unit number. But not long after she or he asked, the seller's account got suspended.

I was like oh ****, did I get scammed. So I immediately called the 2nd number which I transferred to and message the number, there was no response. I also contacted the 1st number too but there was no one picking up. But around 15 mins later, the 1st number ring my phone and it was a guy speaking to me. He say who is this calling and suddenly hanged up and message me and say that we should converse through messages. So throughout our dialogue, he keep saying he is not part of the scam and he was actually one of the people who gotten scam too and he can come clean with me by showing me his bank balance. I was more curious on what he got scam, so I asked him. But I kept asking him throughout the day, he kept ignoring my question, kept giving me excuses that he is working, he needs to prep for work, he needs to work and all. Upon giving him an ultimatum that if he cannot give me an answer, I will have to report to the police that he is part of the culprit too. He proceed to scold me with vulgarities and say that I am living in my own "fantasy world" that he is part of this and he is not scared of me reporting him.
I am getting very fishy about him and really think that he is part of this scam. He still response to me is because firstly, this is his contact that he use for his job. Apparently I went to do a research deep into his profile and realise he work at a KTV club and he works at night. So his phone number, especially personal one is important for work, so he cannot afford to even stop using this number. However, I find no point in having conversation with him as he is very aggressive and if he is a culprit, definitely he will stir things away.

In order to dig even deeper, I went to message all the past buyers of the carousell account owned by the scammer. Strangely, all the past buyers gave me the same phone number but the number does not match those two that I had at the beginning. So I went to contact that 3rd number and according to the display pic, it is a lady. I asked her if she own the carousell account, she say she do not own that account or use carousell before. and not long after, she behave aggressively too and proceed in scolding me that I am accusing her as a scammed and blocked me straight after. But during the conversation, looking at her username tagged with telegram and also pay now account, I realise she is named as "lily". Some people may think that perhaps this number is disowned by the previous owner and now it might be held by another person. Thus, the lady is persistent that she did not own any carousell account. But I proceed in asking those people who deal with this account before if the person they deal with is called "lily". all said yes. This is what this whole situation is of now and it is getting bit too complicated, interesting and yet hard to be solved.
I have reported to the police but they are only interested in blocking the account which the number I transferred to. I mean for a scammer, the money would have been transferred to other accounts before the police even blocked it. It have been a few days and the police is not even being really responsive in this situation. Thus I am doing my best to retrieve the large amount of money which I have lost due to my stupidity and mistake.

If anyone of you here, have an conclusion to this or think you all know the culprit here, do comment here because I really need this community help too, can't do this alone. So far the 1st handphone's owner is called "Jon Anthony Narayan", the 2nd handphone's owner is called "Groot (Not real name)" and also the 3rd handphone's number is called "Lily" and she use to sell sulwahsoo products under the carousell name _sws_fans. If anyone of you have details, please comment here. thanks!

kashix

If it is too good to be true, it is a scam. You got no one to blame but yourself for being greedy. Singapore as long as you send by paynow or what, should be able to get it back. Call the bank and the police bah.

我要买GTR

Carousell = meetup/cod.

Never transfer first, too many such scams. Like iPhone & PS5.

If the price is too good to be true, it most likely is. Nobody's gonna sell you way below srp for a phone that is newly released.

terriblee

That’s what Carousell pay is for. The merchant holds the funds until the deal go through successfully. Or use something like PayPal for large amounts. Good luck

zXioNGz

So TS after posting went MIA for hours? I mean if I am posting this I’ll surely come back here check for comments and reply lol. Sounds fishy

skpuppy

so strange
(1) if you kana scam, you will immediately lodge a police report right? Come forum kpkb for?
(2) no need to ownself check this and that machiam you are CIA. So easy to crack police can just shake leg liao
(3) yes, carousell account may kana hack. Carousell help etc also sucks one la. Even one person report account tio hack, they probably take long time to investigate

LIN_JOEL

Only with carousell protection then i'm willing to pay first, if not no way !
Some just buy based on trust.
I got few $9xx to $1.2k transaction which buyer willing to pay upfront. Although I'm receiving the payment upfront, I too feel uneasy and worried it's a scam and buyer will raise dispute after receving.
So Far all transaction buyers request for my address for courier to collect the parcel instead of I'm the one who arrange to send out.

Now think back really risky as the seller might give a fake address for courier to go over too..

paul02

Sorry but this tale is as old as time. Always always always meet and deal.

nick3384me

Previously deal an iPhone 14 PM with someone, she agreed to transfer me the payment first before i pass the phone to lalamove, luckily everything go smooth.

But if i am buyer, i really not dare to transfer such amount to a seller first, i rather to collect at his place.

reddevil0728

Previously deal an iPhone 14 PM with someone, she agreed to transfer me the payment first before i pass the phone to lalamove, luckily everything go smooth.
actually is she lucky and not you lucky no? you got both at the same time

Rubick

That time sold my Singtel set iPhone 14PM too.
The buyer just ownself paynow me the full amount after getting my number to deal offline.
Ask me must reserve for him haha

我要买GTR

That time sold my Singtel set iPhone 14PM too.
The buyer just ownself paynow me the full amount after getting my number to deal offline.
Ask me must reserve for him haha
Full amount abit desperate ah this buyer LOL :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.