Changing Car Battery

really_noob

did you change back to the same Ah rating battery~?
No, the Gsyuasa one now has higher rating than the Amaron one. A bit more costly too, but it's ok as the workshop I went was still open at 7pm. My car has start stop but I don't have 24/7 dashcam recording, so not too fussy with the Ah.

networked

on bosch now. just changed in the last servicing. better change if the mech diagnosed required rather than call for help.

Extremme

Is Varta brand good? Never heard of it. Only heard boch.
My current car is using Panasonic Q100L. The workshop I am going said they only have varta EFB Q85

EJB

Is Vartan brand good? Never heard of it. Only heard boch.
My current car is using Panasonic Q100L. The workshop I am going said they only have varta EFB Q85
I think you meant Varta, yes actually it's a known brand.

lycanboy

I am using it. So far so good.

Got it at 150 with 6 months warranty.

I requested that they use a third battery to help me change battery without keeping the engine running and they obliged.

really_noob

Varta is a known brand, I used before, no bad experience.
I am using it. So far so good.

Got it at 150 with 6 months warranty.

I requested that they use a third battery to help me change battery without keeping the engine running and they obliged.
I thought most batteries are 1 year warranty.
So far all the places I changed battery, they will use another battery to preserve the car settings. I thought this is the standard way of changing battery rather than keep the engine running or unplug the old one and insert new without the backup.

lycanboy

So far all the places I changed battery, they will use another battery to preserve the car settings. I thought this is the standard way of changing battery rather than keep the engine running or unplug the old one and insert new without the backup.
No idea but I replaced my tires with him too. Honest chap.

Using another battery is the correct way but unfortunately many lazy mechanic chose to keep the engine running, risking your ICU chip.

ashketchum

Workshop matter meh? Just install battery nia..

Decide what type of battery your car needs (AGM, EFB?), then look up the brands. Then look for workshop that sell that brand

LouisSaha

Quite sad the legendary green amaron battery like no longer sold in sg.
Dont see any workshops carry the brand liao.

SBS2716G

Anyone know where got sell Varta LN2 EFB battery? Or similar LN2 type?

jumpmanz

actually in terms of brands, I prefer Bosch or Varta. Amaron probably cheaper but won't deliver consistent performance..
bosch batteries dont last as long compared to the past. delkor impressed me.

myviowner

Quite sad the legendary green amaron battery like no longer sold in sg.
Dont see any workshops carry the brand liao.
Workshop no longer sell this battery but have another brand in stock and told you sg no sell this brand sibo. I replaced this so call green coloured battery 2 months ago nia. Probably, do not have your battery size lor...

myviowner

Varta is a known brand, I used before, no bad experience.

Warranty 1 year or 6 months, does not matter. Only cover manufacturer defects.

jumpmanz

No, the Gsyuasa one now has higher rating than the Amaron one. A bit more costly too, but it's ok as the workshop I went was still open at 7pm. My car has start stop but I don't have 24/7 dashcam recording, so not too fussy with the Ah.
Can check where you got ur gs yuasa? Looking for the pink version.

aspenco

Just wanna share this experience. So we decided to drive up to kl last june for a few meetings. Somehow, my friends car battery died and couldn't start after dinner. Our Malaysian staff helped us arrange for a new battery to be delivered and install at the restaurants carpark. Took them less than an hour to arrive and install the new battery. It only costs 800rm+ iirc. He is driving a s300 and he said he paid >500$ to replace his battery in sg. Can't recall the brand of the battery but I'm quit sure it wasn't amron. It was some European brand.

The guy gave me friend the warranty card and asked him to download the app. Cos they also provide the same service in johor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.