Insurance qns if I want to be have the option to be able to choose between Private hospital vs class A hospital coverage

mp4005 help

Hello
For second para
Can elaborate emore
Eg a person got heart issue go private. If he go back public no subsidy? Is tat what u mean

https://www.moh.gov.sg/news-highlights/details/request-to-switch-from-private-to-subsidised-class
The providers assess such requests on a case-by-case basis, taking into consideration patient’s financial circumstances and ability to continue to pay unsubsidised rates. For patients facing genuine financial difficulties, the providers will exercise some flexibility and allow them to switch to subsidised service and pay subsidised rates.

In the past three years, on average, we have received about 2,400 requests a year to switch from private to subsidised inpatient or SOC care, out of a total of 80,000 admissions from private wards and 1,000,000 private SOC attendances a year. About 70% of these requests are approved.

Sadlifeguy1988

https://www.moh.gov.sg/news-highlights/details/request-to-switch-from-private-to-subsidised-class
The providers assess such requests on a case-by-case basis, taking into consideration patient’s financial circumstances and ability to continue to pay unsubsidised rates. For patients facing genuine financial difficulties, the providers will exercise some flexibility and allow them to switch to subsidised service and pay subsidised rates.

In the past three years, on average, we have received about 2,400 requests a year to switch from private to subsidised inpatient or SOC care, out of a total of 80,000 admissions from private wards and 1,000,000 private SOC attendances a year. About 70% of these requests are approved.

If given a choice
Which u think is better

choose Public or pte
So sibei serious need fast the. Pribate?

Ideasmiths

I will go to my insurance branch. Upgrade liao then post here for everyone info
you BETTER talk to your agent about these and understand a LOT more of what you have and covered.

Becuase no matter upgrade/downgrade same/different companies, your medical conditions matter. Any coverage may have change if you now have some medical conditions AND the 1st 3 months or (whatever month) wait and then the new coverage kicks in.

Then it appears you don't understnad the basic of Private/Public and type of coverage. If you don't PLAN in advance then you might get you and your family in financial trouble if you assumed you have this cover but actually no.

For example, IF you suddenly collapse on the road outside, what do you think will happen? Where will you end up? Or if its at home, what will your family members do? The typical scenerio is somone wil call the amublance and tell the driver "Send to the nearest hospital'

Needmysleep

you BETTER talk to your agent about these and understand a LOT more of what you have and covered.

Becuase no matter upgrade/downgrade same/different companies, your medical conditions matter. Any coverage may have change if you now have some medical conditions AND the 1st 3 months or (whatever month) wait and then the new coverage kicks in.

Then it appears you don't understnad the basic of Private/Public and type of coverage. If you don't PLAN in advance then you might get you and your family in financial trouble if you assumed you have this cover but actually no.

For example, IF you suddenly collapse on the road outside, what do you think will happen? Where will you end up? Or if its at home, what will your family members do? The typical scenerio is somone wil call the amublance and tell the driver "Send to the nearest hospital'

SCDF by default is nearest hospital . no telling driver anything.

Sadlifeguy1988

For u.
which plan did u buy?

kyokoto

If I'm not wrong ah, you buy private it covers A class ward liao.

focus1974

ok.save your money..

here is the thinking..
if public hospital cannot save you... i doubt the private ones can.
the chance is same as public one.. 50/50

so just go for Private Ward in Public restructured hospital can liao.

Ideasmiths

For u.
which plan did u buy?
You cannot base on what others bought. Thats why its important to get your Agent to plan for you based on your situation. Let agent explain to you whats the current industry (hospital) practises, government procedures, claim experiences etc

Example, if you kanna an emergency and need to do a surgery

A: Go public hospital needs $20K upfront,
B: Go to private hosptial needs $50K upfront.
Which option you can come out with the $ ?

If it is more serious, $100K, $150K...etc.

If it is a longer term illness, like cancer, that requires $ over the months/years, which option can you tahan?

For me, I got me and kis private plan donkey years ago, to lock in the medical conditions. At that time, I can choose option B if I want to. But as the premium has increased over the past years, I downgraded my plan to pubic and still lock in my medical contion. Private to public is less risk for the insurance company so they don't underwrite again but the other way is need underwriting.

Now that the riders premium are so high.....but bo bian, I would rather have private plans

gnoes85

Fyi, last year I went hospital for more than 10 times due to various issues and also warded.
I am in private coverage.
I went to my nearest A&E, public hospital. Was in A&E for almost 7 HOURS before I got warded (choose the best A ward, B2 normally no space). Good thing is premium for next year won't increase bcos I choose public hospital (if I go private hospital, premium will increase 20 to 50%). Food soso.
BUT if I choose to go private A&E, the waiting time normally very fast like 30mins to 1.5hours. Plus the ward and food is much nicer.

Needmysleep

Thats the point, if one has the public hospital plan kanna send by ambulance to the nearest private hospital......cannot downgrade after admission

Private hospital will transfer before admission :ROFLMAO: since they want only customers who can pay.
Quite common.
Then when you come public hospital can chose what your insurance covers.

Needmysleep

ok.save your money..

here is the thinking..
if public hospital cannot save you... i doubt the private ones can.
the chance is same as public one.. 50/50

so just go for Private Ward in Public restructured hospital can liao.

In a true medical / surgical emergency , the public hospital can save you.

The full resources of the hospital will be brought into play - various teams / radiology / blood bank ...etc etc

Private hmm lol

Ideasmiths

Fyi, last year I went hospital for more than 10 times due to various issues and also warded.
I went to my nearest A&E, public hospital. Was in A&E for almost 7 HOURS before I got warded (choose the best A ward, B2 normally no space). Good thing is premium for next year won't increase bcos I choose public hospital (if I go private hospital, premium will increase 20 to 50%). Food soso.
BUT if I choose to go private A&E, the waiting time normally very fast like 30mins to 1.5hours. Plus the ward and food is much nicer.
So you not one of those that listened to Appleyum's financial advice and cancel all your plans and go for CPF medishield C class ward? Imagine how many did and they should claim the financial losses form Applets and gang

zeroX26

Do I buy from separate insurance companies better
I already have a CLASS A ward public hospital coverage medical insurance.

Want to buy a private hospital one... But also wan to have the option of choosing Public hospital

Can buy both at same time. Of Coz only can claim one type
You can't have 2 hospitalization insurance from 2 different companies. Once u buy a new one, the old one will be voided liao leh.

Sadlifeguy1988

Thats the point, if one has the public hospital plan kanna send by ambulance to the nearest private hospital......cannot downgrade after admission
So
In a true medical / surgical emergency , the public hospital can save you.

The full resources of the hospital will be brought into play - various teams / radiology / blood bank ...etc etc

Private hmm lol
thwnks for sharing

true. Even for Babies Hospital. Ppl say the kk has more equipment hmmm is it true

xiao.xin

It won't happen if you call 995 and means that you're really emergency kind

xiao.xin

Hope you're feeling better

Ideasmiths

It won't happen if you call 995 and means that you're really emergency kind
Even different hospital groups (east/west) and different hospital also can cause trouble.

I remembered around 2017? Got a security guard at gleneagles fell down in the hospital due to some heart condition , but no $ and want to go public hospital, but the 'nearest' SGH no space so no choice has to go to private due to emergency.....

https://theindependent.sg/security-...ced-to-go-private-after-lack-of-space-in-sgh/
There were other stories where one guy fall down in the west and got send to public but he lives in the east, then after bedded he wanted to go to public hospital in the east for logistic ease of his family members, but hor cannot because different Health Care group cannot just transfer like that

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.