PC Speaker recommendation

RockaRolla

For starters, should I get that aiyima a07 as recommended above and replace my that thrash sb play usb soundcard? Hahaha..

I have been using that for my r1280dbs hahaha

Klipsch promedia 2.1 is like so old school haha...I don't like how it looks. Prefer studio monitor looks like the edifier r1280dbs. The elac debut also look ok for me. I am an asesthetic person so that klipsch one really look like those old sch PC speakers which I can't do it haha...

you still need a dac to feed the aiyima amp if you wanna replace your creative soundcard. ifi uno, some topping/smsl models can get at around low 100s

take a look at the newer klipsch promedia heritage 2.1, during those discount dates, you can get it on sale at around 400.
Aesthetic wise, its really nice, and both the speaker and subwoofer are upgraded from the older promedia 2.1

wwenze

Table is a 3 metre in length carpentry table. But width only about 55cm. It's for near field listening. Basically desktop usage. Not tv

Ok 5 inch is the maximum size in that case

So if I buy the elac debut 5.2...I must buy an amp such as the aiyima a07. So it's 299 + 100. And there's no subwoofer as well.

So will that differ alot in my listening experience as compared to my current r1280dbs without a sub too?

After the EQ? Absolutely. It will be a proper setup that you show other people who don't know what proper sound sounds like. Minus the bottom 20-40Hz octave of course. But it's still pretty good.

Even without the EQ you can feel more bass, that a good bookshelf is capable of anyway. The treble might be a bit bright, but apparently it's some designer decision or something. But more importantly without audible distortion the sound will sound right. Most well-designed speakers at the $300-500 price range will sound right and it's hard to pick one over the other after EQ. R1280DBs fails to achieve that.
(And also except Yamaha HS5 because screw that. It's too bright. Confirmed via measurements, confirmed via user consensus.)

My own EQ-ed bookshelves have enough bass extension and enough SPL headroom that distortion is still below -30dB at this SPL. I will pick this over R1280DBs + T5 anytime. Or S351DB anytime. Heck even without EQ I will pick this over the R1280DBs + T5 but S351DB might put up a fight.

z6A7P3k.png

hyperfuse

Depending on speaker, if looking for something to drive that ELAC Debut.
A proper AVR receiver or Stereo amp will be recommended than DAC.
FYI that ELAC Debut isn't a PC speaker but a home theater speaker.

So for it to shine you need a decent receiver/amp, if go that route might as
well as go for a Denon Stereo amp $799 (Local price)

https://audiohouse.com.sg/product.php?item=DEN/PMA-800NEBKE2
That ELAC Debut Speaker 2.0 cost around $600 (Local price), I doubt anyone brought up
the price. As mention ELAC speakers are not meant for PC but for Home theater
which are not cheap.

For a decent 2.0 setup will cost you around $1.5k if you want to spend that much
than I suggest make a trip down to Adelphi get pricing as well as any other cheaper
alternatives.

If not for PC music there are alternatives like AudioEngine A5+ Bookshelf speaker $799.

https://www.stereo.com.sg/audioengine-a5-bluetooth-wirelesss-speakers.html

I do not know your budget which is why I don't want to mention any high end speaker/setup.
Which there is but whether you can afford them is another question.

you still need a dac to feed the aiyima amp if you wanna replace your creative soundcard. ifi uno, some topping/smsl models can get at around low 100s

take a look at the newer klipsch promedia heritage 2.1, during those discount dates, you can get it on sale at around 400.
Aesthetic wise, its really nice, and both the speaker and subwoofer are upgraded from the older promedia 2.1
wah if buy that aiyima amp, still need to buy another dac? getting real expensive haha..

RockaRolla

wah if buy that aiyima amp, still need to buy another dac? getting real expensive haha..
still okay
elac debut 5.2 ($299) + the aiyima ($100) + ifi uno dac ($113)/topping d10s($130~) around low $500
I dont know whether the soundcard you using now got lineout anot. If have, you can save more by not buying the dac

then just follow wwenze suggestion to EQ here and there to fit the sound you want

poooooo

That's what happened when my backside itchy and replaced my Presonus Eris 4.5 for nearfield listening. :ROFLMAO:

Budget setup started with the speaker, the narrowest width I can find, Q3010i ($200) + integrated Amp SMSL A300 ($230) then later added a small sub WH-S8E ($160).
Added another DAC/ headphone amp Topping DX1 ($130), DAC wasn't needed as the SMSL Amp already has it built-in, I just want the DX for convenience sake.

They all don't include cables, so extra cost needs to be factored in, then might as well find those DIY retailers to customize shorter cables, easier to cable manage on a small work desk.

hyperfuse

still okay
elac debut 5.2 ($299) + the aiyima ($100) + ifi uno dac ($113)/topping d10s($130~) around low $500
I dont know whether the soundcard you using now got lineout anot. If have, you can save more by not buying the dac

then just follow wwenze suggestion to EQ here and there to fit the sound you want
sorry i am noob in terms of all this amp + dac stuff.

Can i just buy a creative soundblaster G6 and it will serve as an amp+dac? I previously had the G6, bought it for fun to use with my headphones but somehow strangely, i find my older thrash and cheap creative SB Play soundcard has better bass EQ hahaha. the EQ has a bass crossover and when i adjusted it, seems to make the bass in my headset hit so hard till i can feel the punch.

so i sold away the g6. But i am sure the g6 is way better than the SB play external usb soundcard. But back then i was just using a gaming headset, so the g6 didnt do much for me vs my sb play usb soundcard.

hyperfuse

I don't know where you get the pricing, if ELAC is cheap I would have replace my Pioneer Andrew jones speaker with it. Anyway ELCA speaker engineer was previously from Pioneer if anyone don't know.
You don't need double DAC and how are you going to connect to the ELCA Debut since it is using speaker connector terminal?

elac_debut_series_back.jpg

Seriously I rather @hyperfuse go Stereo Electronics or Adelphi ask for proper advice.
I can't recommend a proper setup here cuz pricing for individual components like DAC and speaker
still varies on shops/vendor.

Is not like PC parts price are fixed so can just openly share here.
If you go Adelphi ask for a speaker setup for PC, most likely they will advice you to
just get the Audioengine speaker setup will do.

Think here some have not went Adelphi look for advice than you know professional do not anyhow whack a cheap setup just to make certain setup work.
shopee selling elac debut 5.2 at $299 though.

But seeing your comments that need to have so many things involve to use the Elac Debut .... i think its too complicated for me just to hear music casually haha...

i should just buy the T5 subwoofer to add to my r1280dbs, even though the audio is sucky too a seasoned audiophile. It should be fine for me lol..

hyperfuse

Depending on speaker, if looking for something to drive that ELAC Debut.
A proper AVR receiver or Stereo amp will be recommended than DAC.
FYI that ELAC Debut isn't a PC speaker but a home theater speaker.

So for it to shine you need a decent receiver/amp, if go that route might as
well as go for a Denon Stereo amp $799 (Local price)

https://audiohouse.com.sg/product.php?item=DEN/PMA-800NEBKE2
That ELAC Debut Speaker 2.0 cost around $600 (Local price), I doubt anyone brought up
the price. As mention ELAC speakers are not meant for PC but for Home theater
which are not cheap.

For a decent 2.0 setup will cost you around $1.5k if you want to spend that much
than I suggest make a trip down to Adelphi get pricing as well as any other cheaper
alternatives.

If not for PC music there are alternatives like AudioEngine A5+ Bookshelf speaker $799.

https://www.stereo.com.sg/audioengine-a5-bluetooth-wirelesss-speakers.html

I do not know your budget which is why I don't want to mention any high end speaker/setup.
Which there is but whether you can afford them is another question.
I can afford but i guess i dont want to spend so much for PC audio speakers, but if its for my home theatre, yes i am willing to pay. For pc usage to hear youtube music, i guess i wanna leave my budget to max $400.

MGeaR356

Early times I was playing with Creative/Cambridge soundworks Megaworks 550 which I doubt anyone is that old to remember.
wah this 1 one classic speakers.. should be my poly time and could only afford to buy Cambridge FPS2000. those were the good old days man

hyperfuse

Wei. You got read the specs of the Aiyama A07 or not? Even the AO4 with the right power adapter can power passive speakers up to 175W per channel lo.. more powerful than many $2K AVR u know. i think those only 100W per channel like that at 8 ohms. I use denon avr to power my many speakers, the power draw only so little from the wall also. why u try to scare people with nonsense about speakers blowing up? u think the people here are stupid start playing at max volume ah? nobody plays at max volume le. so the speakers will never ever be fed the 175W. 70db already hurt my ears. some more they sit closer to the computer desk. the speakers will be plenty loud at lower volume. so no need scare one

Wah... why u lie one? Even Andrew Jones also say nobody uses 6 ohms output on avr. Just use the standard 8 ohms on your AVR. don't anyhow change to 6 ohms. it will result in unstable performance. u go watch his elac debut 2.0 youtube video if you dont belief me. even he himself say that. 6 ohms speakers is just that. but better to be powered the normal 8 ohms for many speakers including his elac

oh.. u audio seller. no wonder u want to scare people here. y? u scared the amazingly low price of the Aiyama A07 and A04 with the amazing amp output will ruin your unnecessarily expensive audio system business right? hahahah
lai. recommend me ur low price amp that can even match the Aiyama 350W output.

Here on carouhell got shop seller selling Aiyama A04 with the power adapter for $50! https://www.carousell.sg/p/aiyama-a...e5532-black-with-uk-power-adapter-1203740069/

Wah... so scary. want check if Aiyama amp can power huge oversize speaker. hello. we discussing small bookshelf speakers for PC use le. the Aiyama is plenty powerful what.

u telling me u need spl meter for near field listening? u need spl meter because the volume gets softer the further u r from the speaker. u professional also dunno dat? so for pc, no need to scare one. elac low impedence and very easy to drive at 8 ohms. i worst liao. use sound blaster x7 to power elac speakers also. very loud and dynamic. and worst, the x7 can only give 38W per speaker channel. that's why i say, no need care about power with Aiyama. it is already overkill.

then together with the elac debut from this shop on carouhell for $299, https://www.carousell.sg/p/elac-debut-2-0-b5-2-black-only-one-pair-1123926720/
means they only pay $349 for their pc speaker setup. nubbad. so cheap and so powerful.

Ah look! here treeo selling the Aiyama A07. they even got demo audiotion for u to try. https://www.carousell.sg/p/official...300wx2-hi-fi-integrated-amplifier-1168611065/
they even say in the description, The dual 300W shocking bass output is compatible with passive stereo speakers of most sizes and impedance specifications.
★ Matches well with any computer/PC desktop/Home theatre system
★ Warning: To use with passive speakers with the appropriate power/impedance rating

the warning is no issue. just stick to 8 ohms and not use 4 ohms. treeo providing 32V 5A power adapter means u will feed 65W at 8 ohms to ur speakers. plenty loud already and still within spec of elac debut max 120w.

wah! for $30 more, can get the Aiyama A07 with aptx bluetooth 5.2 win liao lo.. https://www.carousell.sg/p/promo-ai...reamer-hi-fi-integrated-amplifier-1204887660/

total, 139 plus 299 means only $438. nubbad
so for my use case, if i get the Elac Debut at $299, and the aiyami a07 for example. i still need to get Amp?

i using on a desktop pc. or those 2 above enough?

daisuki

so for my use case, if i get the Elac Debut at $299, and the aiyami a07 for example. i still need to get Amp?

i using on a desktop pc. or those 2 above enough?
isnt the aiyama a07 already an amp? why u need another amp? u see got aux port for line in or maybe u use 3.5mm to rca cable to connect from pc. then u see got the speaker terminal ba and the rated power for each of the speaker terminal ba. got volume control knob already also if u dun want to use ur windows volume slider
if u mean u want to eq, i think others suggest use EqualizerAPO can ba

hyperfuse

isnt the aiyama a07 already an amp? why u need another amp? u see got aux port for line in or maybe u use 3.5mm to rca cable to connect from pc. then u see got the speaker terminal ba and the rated power for each of the speaker terminal ba. got volume control knob already also if u dun want to use ur windows volume slider
if u mean u want to eq, i think others suggest use EqualizerAPO can ba
pardon me i really very noob in all this amp/dac stuff.

I am the type that either use a dedicated soundcard in the PC or use a usb soundcard kinda user. Never before use a dac / amp before haha...

kimsix

i find windows audio switching quite seamless.

for your consideration my setup like this

any rear usb out to usb dac/amp speaker for loud sound

graphics card displayport/hdmi out to monitor with built in speaker for regular sound like news and parliament debates

or use motherboard integrated BT to wireless headset for intimate listening, voice calls.

easily switch between them. i disable my integrated audio, no sound card needed :o

RockaRolla

shopee selling elac debut 5.2 at $299 though.

But seeing your comments that need to have so many things involve to use the Elac Debut .... i think its too complicated for me just to hear music casually haha...

i should just buy the T5 subwoofer to add to my r1280dbs, even though the audio is sucky too a seasoned audiophile. It should be fine for me lol.
So.........it boils back down now that i should probably just add a subwoofer.

Edifier T5 or the Wharfdale WH-S8E

T5 i think around $130 to $140 after coupons
Whardale i think probably $170 to $180 after coupons

Yea, like what I said previously, since for your usage and you dont mind the sound quality, just add in a T5 will do, for the most cost-effective solution.
It may not be that good, but compared to other solutions, its the most budget. But since you mention about the wharfdale, I went to check it out, and I recommend topping up that 30-40bucks to get it instead of T5.

The reason why you feel so many things involve if you wanna try Elac is because its a passive, while r1280dbs is a AIO, i.e. the dac and amp all inside the speaker. Thats why when you buy passive, you have to add in dac/amp costs, unless you have them already

And for the soundblaster g6 that you asked, yeap you can use it, its a dac as well. But you wont need it if you are just going to add a sub to your r1280dbs

hyperfuse

Yea, like what I said previously, since for your usage and you dont mind the sound quality, just add in a T5 will do, for the most cost-effective solution.
It may not be that good, but compared to other solutions, its the most budget. But since you mention about the wharfdale, I went to check it out, and I recommend topping up that 30-40bucks to get it instead of T5.

The reason why you feel so many things involve if you wanna try Elac is because its a passive, while r1280dbs is a AIO, i.e. the dac and amp all inside the speaker. Thats why when you buy passive, you have to add in dac/amp costs, unless you have them already

And for the soundblaster g6 that you asked, yeap you can use it, its a dac as well. But you wont need it if you are just going to add a sub to your r1280dbs
Thanks for your response.

Why will the wharfdale be better instead of the T5? The bass hits harder on that sub?

RockaRolla

Thanks for your response.

Why will the wharfdale be better instead of the T5? The bass hits harder on that sub?

Going by specs, both bottomed out at roughly the same frequency 38-40hz. Cant comment on SQ, but I checked out the T5 in a shop before, kinda felt and looked cheap
Wharfdale should have better build quality, 1 year more warranty than T5, and to me, it looks better as well.

as usual, advise you to go down to the physical shop and check it out yourself, not just for the sound (e.g which one hits harder) but the aesthetics as well

hyperfuse

Going by specs, both bottomed out at roughly the same frequency 38-40hz. Cant comment on SQ, but I checked out the T5 in a shop before, kinda felt and looked cheap
Wharfdale should have better build quality, 1 year more warranty than T5, and to me, it looks better as well.

as usual, advise you to go down to the physical shop and check it out yourself, not just for the sound (e.g which one hits harder) but the aesthetics as well
Haha most of my items I buy I just based off reviews. Lazy go down.

Ok I will check more reviews online haha

Saw this online. I think build quality looks ok to me.

https://www.codewithmike.com/edifier-t5-subwoofer-review/
Price difference of T5 and WH-S8E about $50

Psycovirus

Money no issue then just buy Elac Debut Reference DBR62 ($750 now) and a China amp capable of at least clean 10-20W, add +10dB of bass EQ, and you won't even need a T5 or S351DB subwoofer.

See, money is an issue after all.

If you buy T5, there is definitely a big bass boost compared to just R1280DBs.
If you buy S351DB, you can also feel that bass boost.
If you compare T5 + R1280DBs and S351DB, the difference is more complicated. On initial listening, you can't really decide which is better, the weird treble of R1280DBs that is audible to veteran listeners isn't present on S351DB, but the bigger cabinet of R1280DBs results in its in-room response to be more similar to other bookshelves (i.e. more midrange bass). This can be either good or bad depending on how much boundary gain you have and how much you want, which is a personal preference. S351DB, or in my review S350DB needs EQ to sound like bigger speakers. Which leads to the most important point - Any sound dissatisfaction (apart from high subwoofer crossover) of S350DB/S351DB can be fixed easily via EQ. The problems of R1280DBs cannot. Even if R1280DBs may sound better at stock settings.
Your advice on the ELAC and Cheap capable China amp is good! Ignore that troll...
Cuz I am running an ELAC UB 52, harder to drive than DBR62 and a cheap China amp, Loxjie A30.
The speaker sounds full and fun. Add a sub and everything is great.

What ********, need proper amp, bla bla bla. LOL. Those are proper amps too. Enjoying music isn't about throwing all the money for high end gear. Chinese stuff are really well made these days. Just enjoy whatever you can afford with your own money.

cn7iiKa.png

ckling

I bought Elac debut B5.2 from Lazada, quite good price, I also bought smsl sa300 to drive it, build in DAC but I also tried to pair with my another fiio K5pro DAC... Also plug to my audioengine s8 subwoofer... Sounds good.

Have yet to try with my Onkyo receiver... Will try if got sound different.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.