UOB one card

Trazora

Hi just to check when will i receive my quarterly cash rebates? End of the qualifying quarter or the following month ?
quarterly cashback will be credited at end of your subsequent month(s) statement(s) only if there is bill to be offset

czhmech

Hi, can I check if I am eligible for the additional 5% cashback if I use UOB One Card to pay for Grabcar rides in Malaysia?

happiee

2) Insurance payments will be excluded from the awarding of cash rebate on UOB One Card but will
continue to be considered as eligible spend to earn bonus interest on UOB One Account.
For details, visit uob.com.sg/onetncs for UOB One Card T&Cs and uob.com.sg/oneaccount for

Thanks for this. Like to clarify with the folks who pays insurance. There is a FAQ on bonus interest eligible card spend dated 16 May 2023 which says eligible spend include insurance payments made on recurring basis on selected credit or debit cards.

1) does it really need to be recurring?
2) which cards doesn't count insurance as eligible spend for the bonus interest?

Thanks for your advice and kind sharing.🙏

happiee

Read T&Cs
I know which are the qualifying cards for UOB One Bonus interest (Not all UOB credit and debit cards count) and I did go through the T&C for those that I have.
I could see insurance being listed a common exclusion to card rebates but bonus interest wise, they don't usually elaborate in the card T&C.
I wonder which of the cards amongst these qualifying ones do not count any insurance spend to the $500 required spend as they state?
Appreciate your enlightenment if I have missed anything. Thanks.

londonbowler

I suggested to check individual T&Cs because insurance is clearly indicated, and don't think any qualifying UOB card produces anything from insurance.

Trazora

I know which are the qualifying cards for UOB One Bonus interest (Not all UOB credit and debit cards count) and I did go through the T&C for those that I have.
I could see insurance being listed a common exclusion to card rebates but bonus interest wise, they don't usually elaborate in the card T&C.
I wonder which of the cards amongst these qualifying ones do not count any insurance spend to the $500 required spend as they state?
Appreciate your enlightenment if I have missed anything. Thanks.
just need to read TnC for uob one account

londonbowler

I realize the question is whether insurance spend counts as qualifying credit card spend, not whether insurance spend generates rewards.

The T&Cs of the UOB One bank account says you just have to spend S$500/month on an "eligible" card. It doesn't say what the spend is, so presumably it can be any spend, like what @happiee was trying to outline.

Trazora

I realize the question is whether insurance spend counts as qualifying credit card spend, not whether insurance spend generates rewards.

The T&Cs of the UOB One bank account says you just have to spend S$500/month on an "eligible" card. It doesn't say what the spend is, so presumably it can be any spend, like what @happiee was trying to outline.
no lah, uob one account $500 card spend has a long list of exclusions, largely same as that as uob one just that insurance not excluded

maumu

anyone discovered something strange with the 5% additional cash rebate?

particularly, for Shopee, there are two types of transactions reflected:

Shopee Singapore SINGAPORE SG

SHOPEE SINGAPORE MP SINGAPORE SG

it seems like the first one is NOT eligible for additional cash rebate, but the second one is. But both are from Shopee. I was trying to find out why my additional cash rebate got difference until I narrow down to this...

Trazora

anyone discovered something strange with the 5% additional cash rebate?

particularly, for Shopee, there are two types of transactions reflected:

Shopee Singapore SINGAPORE SG

SHOPEE SINGAPORE MP SINGAPORE SG

it seems like the first one is NOT eligible for additional cash rebate, but the second one is. But both are from Shopee. I was trying to find out why my additional cash rebate got difference until I narrow down to this...
can try dispute with uob

maumu

can try dispute with uob
yeah have raised a ticket with them via UOB Chat. the person said will get back to me earliest mid-June...

oh well. another round of disputes over their rebate system. seems like they have some issues with Shopee.

iadpotato

yeah have raised a ticket with them via UOB Chat. the person said will get back to me earliest mid-June...

oh well. another round of disputes over their rebate system. seems like they have some issues with Shopee.
few nonths ago i posyted tjos issue liao.. no one heiw me. lol

since 1 Apr i been chasing UOB, no reply since. chase until sian liao.. duno scolded how many CSO.. i total called them 8 times.

shopee supermarket tx changed mcc to supermarkets.. rest still under mcc marketplaces. supermarket one didn't get additional rebates.

maumu

few nonths ago i posyted tjos issue liao.. no one heiw me. lol

since 1 Apr i been chasing UOB, no reply since. chase until sian liao.. duno scolded how many CSO.. i total called them 8 times.

shopee supermarket tx changed mcc to supermarkets.. rest still under mcc marketplaces. supermarket one didn't get additional rebates.
I don't really understand what happened though. Out of the two purchases I identified as not eligible, indeed one of them is Shopee Supermarket. But the other is not, just Shopee Mall.

I thought it's the bank that decides the MCC? If UOB doesn't want to accept Shopee Supermarket, for example, they should state clearly on their website as an exclusion...

vsvs24

I don't really understand what happened though. Out of the two purchases I identified as not eligible, indeed one of them is Shopee Supermarket. But the other is not, just Shopee Mall.

I thought it's the bank that decides the MCC? If UOB doesn't want to accept Shopee Supermarket, for example, they should state clearly on their website as an exclusion...
Credit card bank (in this case UOB) does not decide MCC.

It is the bank/organisation that shoppee engage for epayment services that sets the MCC. But Shoppee has a say in it ie they can decide what category. Just that a lot of times, most merchants may not bother and leave it to their bank who will just put what they think is suitable.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.