BREAKING Speaker Tan Chuan-Jin and Cheng Li Hui have resigned as MPs and from the PAP.

If you TCJ what will you do

• Total voters

commie_rick

do u remember the ex pap Palmer guy ? he quit due to extra marital affairs.
u have to cut off cancerous cell to save the entire body

s-ghost

PM Lee said, "Besides Mr Tan’s recent, hot mic incident, the unparliamentary language which was used, there is also the issue of his inappropriate relationship with fellow PAP MP Ms Cheng Li Hui. This is, in comparison, the more serious matter because he was the Speaker and she is an MP, and there should not have been a relationship".

Macrossvin

well.... since now the truth is out.... best is one should just leave it as it is.... especially since both parties got own family... especially TCJ.... still has kids...... Godspeed to the both of them.......

Darkraid

eh lidat MIW can not employ single chio young female members liao la.

can only take in old nagging aunties. This is the only way to make sure such thing never happen again.

i mean look at the older women in the house. who would want them.
chio meh?

she looks old

Kiwi8

Tan Chuan-Jin, Cheng Li Hui continued ‘inappropriate relationship’ even after being told to stop: PM Lee​

Speaker of Parliament Tan Chuan-Jin and MP Cheng Li Hui have resigned from parliament and the People's Action Party.
Tan Chuan-Jin, Cheng Li Hui continued ‘inappropriate relationship’ even after being told to stop: PM Lee

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong speaking at a press conference on the resignations of Speaker of Parliament Tan Chuan-Jin and MP Cheng Li Hui on Jul 17, 2023. (Photo: Ministry of Communications and Information)

SINGAPORE: Former Speaker of Parliament Tan Chuan-Jin had been in an “inappropriate relationship” with fellow People’s Action Party (PAP) Member of Parliament Cheng Li Hui, which continued even after they were asked to stop, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Monday (Jul 17). Mr Tan and Ms Cheng resigned from parliament and the PAP earlier on Monday.

In opening remarks a press conference held the same day, Mr Lee said he had spoken to Mr Tan about this relationship most recently in February. The latter admitted his mistake and offered his resignation at the time.
“I had accepted his resignation,” said Mr Lee. “But I told him, first, I needed to make sure the residents of Kembangan-Chai Chee and Marine Parade continued to be taken care of.
“Meanwhile his relationship with Ms Cheng had to stop.”
But “very recently”, Mr Lee came across information that “strongly suggested” that Mr Tan and Ms Cheng’s relationship had continued.
“I decided then that Mr Tan had to go forthwith, whether or not the arrangements were ready. It could not wait any longer.”

Around the same time, the video clip of Mr Tan caught on a hot mic using unparliamentary language was circulating.
“I asked to see him," said Mr Lee. "During our discussion, he agreed to leave immediately - both for his unparliamentary conduct as well as his inappropriate relationship with Ms Cheng, which he had told me he would break off but he did not.”
Their inappropriate relationship was a “more serious matter” than Mr Tan’s unparliamentary language because he was the Speaker of Parliament and Ms Cheng was a Member of Parliament, said the Prime Minister.
“There should not have been a relationship,” he added.
Ms Cheng had also been counselled by Mr Lee in February, but "nevertheless ... continued the relationship with Mr Tan".

“It saddens me to discover that these two PAP MPs have fallen short of the high standard of propriety and personal conduct that we expect from all PAP MPs,” said Mr Lee.
“When such a situation arises, it is my duty as secretary general of the party to deal with them and put things right. This means to counsel, to correct, to admonish, and ultimately, if necessary, to remove the MP from the party and parliament.
“It is painful to do this to our friends and comrades-in-arms, and it can also be politically embarrassing and costly. But the PAP has to maintain party discipline and standard of conduct. Our duty is to parliament and the people of Singapore, and that is paramount.”

well; the article speaks for itself really.
问世间,情为何物,直教生死相许.

情非得已

情不自禁

haiz.

roflolmao

Where is pink dot?

Why never say "love is love"?

Such a tragic and empowering story of love!

The sex must have great if they continue to see each other despite them scolded by PM and even tcj got wife and kids

Jin satki man, bbfa like me will never experience this

sk0065

eh lidat MIW can not employ single chio young female members liao la.

can only take in old nagging aunties. This is the only way to make sure such thing never happen again.

i mean look at the older women in the house. who would want them.
Where’s the chio !!

WW1 Flying Ace

TCJ used to be a minister and got pay cut to become a speaker so u can guess how “important” he is.

Nicole Seah caused problem for GCT despite being a newbie and DPM HSK despite being a party hopper during the last 2 elections

Leon is an appointment holder within WP CEC

So for comparison, TCJ is nowhere near importance to PAP compared to nicole and leon to WP
Great, will be watching with interest to see how they pick a replacement for the now unimportant TCJ.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.