Reliable Private Driving Instructor?

cheehohiang

Posting review for Mr Frankie Yue.

3A, Toyota Axio
Pickup at Ubi CDC (Can arrange for Tai Seng / Ubi MRT pick up)

Chose him mainly because of the review I saw while trawling through the many pages in this thread, and that he also has quite a high pass rate / student numbers as well.

Can confirm that he is indeed a top notch instructor. Took approximately ~10 lessons from him (did have some prior driving lessons with school) and passed TP on the first try some time back.

He is patient, and will point out mistakes every single time you make them. Gives very good tips for driving in circuit and on the road, can fully recommend him. Speaks good English, but does not engage much in small talk. I'm by nature not a chatty person, so this suited me really well. Does not scold you / chide you even if you don't do well, but instead he will remind or nag you.

He is professional as well, and is always there on time. Does not take frequent toilet breaks while driving as well. Even if he does need to answer nature's call, he'll do it quickly.

Only downside is that he appears to have a lot of students, and therefore scheduling can be a bit difficult especially for working adults. (Was running 1 lesson at week for some time).

Feel free to PM me should you want his contact, can 100% recommend him.

Hi, can you PM the contact please. Thanks!

netizen123

If y’all are interested in 3A CDC, PM me for contact.

No pickups thou, because uncle believes it’s a waste of time. Unless u take his last slot for the day or the slot before lunch or something along this line, he will drop u at the MRT station.

As long as you display traits of a willing learner, ask questions, he will definitely answer you. Just don’t expect him to be very nice and not fierce if you do stupid things.

He teaches u to pass hahaha!
And he teaches the school teachers last time so he knows all the points to look out for~
I’m about 8 lessons in and going for circuit practice already. Had 1 parking lesson and I can park better than school students while at the circuit lol.

Definitely recommend 9.5/10
0.5 is because I have to pay haha!
hi could you pm me the contact 😬

netizen123

Posting review for Mr Frankie Yue.

3A, Toyota Axio
Pickup at Ubi CDC (Can arrange for Tai Seng / Ubi MRT pick up)

Chose him mainly because of the review I saw while trawling through the many pages in this thread, and that he also has quite a high pass rate / student numbers as well.

Can confirm that he is indeed a top notch instructor. Took approximately ~10 lessons from him (did have some prior driving lessons with school) and passed TP on the first try some time back.

He is patient, and will point out mistakes every single time you make them. Gives very good tips for driving in circuit and on the road, can fully recommend him. Speaks good English, but does not engage much in small talk. I'm by nature not a chatty person, so this suited me really well. Does not scold you / chide you even if you don't do well, but instead he will remind or nag you.

He is professional as well, and is always there on time. Does not take frequent toilet breaks while driving as well. Even if he does need to answer nature's call, he'll do it quickly.

Only downside is that he appears to have a lot of students, and therefore scheduling can be a bit difficult especially for working adults. (Was running 1 lesson at week for some time).

Feel free to PM me should you want his contact, can 100% recommend him.
hi could you please pm me his contact 🙏🏽

Bocah Raton

Hello folks! I would like to recommend Mr Loh Lian Choon, Ubi CDC PDI!
His contact number is 9617 0741. He only entertains calls, and does not reply messages, so do call him if you want to contact him.

Some facts about him, which you would be able to see in other parts of this thread:
  • Cost: $63 per 1.5 hr on weekday. $69 per 1.5 hr on weekends and PH. After 5pm, it's additional $3.
  • Pick-up points: NEX, Eunos, and idk where else.
  • Timings: As early as 6.30am, till 7pm.
  • Language: Chinese speaking. Knows a little bit of English, but mainly for driving purposes only (e.g. S-course, brake, and zig-zag, which refers to crank course).
  • Driving centre: Ubi CDC
  • Car type: Class 3A, Auto
  • Others: Teaches people with physical handicaps, and works with hospitals to assess stroke-recovered/recovering patients' ability to continue driving.

Before I move on to my opinions of Mr Loh, I would like to say that I knew very little about driving, and consider myself below average when it comes to psycho-motor skills and spatial awareness in a vehicle. Here are my opinions of my experience with Mr Loh:
  • Pros
    • Structured lessons
      • First lesson will be at an empty car park space near Stadium, where I learned the basics, including steering techniques. He made me turn left and right in the carpark to get a sense of how much I had to turn the steering wheel to make the car turn the way I wanted it to.
      • Second lesson was like a familiarisation drive on the road (yes, second lesson and I was already on the road). Aim is to get used to the car's accelerator and brakes, etc.
      • Third/Fourth lesson onwards was the start of driving routes. He lets you drive through all 11/12 testing routes, for 3 times each, to familiarise yourself with them. IMO, it was quite unnecessary to go through each route 3 times, but considering that I was poor in driving, I took it as remedial lessons for me. This boosted my confidence during the test because I pretty much knew all the testable roads by Ubi TP.
      • Last 7-8 lessons were circuits. He has a map of the circuit that is neatly drawn. My circuit experience started off very unnervingly, but it got much better by the third time. By the 6/7 time, I could do everything myself already, and Mr Loh would make me go through the circuit like a mock test. While I struck the kerb only once during my lessons, during the actual test, I unknowingly struck the kerb (10 demerit points). But I still passed :), which kind of shows that I completed most of the stations with flying colours!
    • Resourceful
      • He has a map of the circuit and a copy of the TP scoring system (which is obtainable online la haha).
      • He DIY-ed some props to simulate a mock up of the circuit parking lots, for both vertical and parallel parking. He even went to the detail of making a yellow strip that you see for parallel parking in the circuit.
    • Detailed
      • He explains everything in a step-by-step manner. Especially for parallel parking, he would repeat the steps and ask me to jot them down and memorise.
    • Attentive
      • He constantly has his eyes on the road and is focused on your learning throughout the lesson. He had only once taken a 3 minute break in all of my lessons with him. And even if he is looking at his phone (to read, but not reply, messages), he will make it a habit to look at the road every few seconds.
    • Dual-focus: Student to be a competent driver, and be able to pass the driving test
      • I am unconfident when changing lanes, tending to let cars go pass me before I change into the lane. However, Mr Loh would advise me how to change lane like a boss (e.g. when to slow down, when to start accelerating, and which mirrors to look at). While TP won't give you brownie points for being able to change lanes like a boss, but Mr Loh wants his students to be able to do so, so that they won't be bullied when they eventually get their license!
      • Of course, Mr Loh's primary goal is to help his students pass. From his lessons, I am confident to say that if you go through the whole "package of lessons", I think it's quite difficult to fail. I am below average, so a took more lessons compared to his average student, but it is worth it at the end of the day.

• Cons
    • Can be quite fierce (but funny) at times
      • When I made stupid mistakes (turn steering wheel too much, move too close to another lane when doing a right-turn), he would nag and scold me. My take is that he has my best interest at heart, so I took his "scoldings" with a pinch of salt, and concentrated on correcting my mistakes. In away, his "scoldings" made me more aware of my mistakes and I gradually developed the mindset to keep reminding myself to not commit those simple mistakes.
      • After scolding me, he will diffuse the tension and crack jokes. So he kind of feels bad for scolding you ya? Understand that he is not against you, but against the way you drive! It is all for the student's own good at the end of the day.
    • Those poor in multi-tasking beware..
      • As Mr Loh teaches mainly verbally, it can be difficult to process what he is saying while driving. I note that this could apply differently to different people. If you are an auditory-kinesthetic learner, I think Mr Loh's still would suit you fine. I need visual + audio to learn better, so I had to ask him to recap what he said when we stopped at the traffic light or at the end of the lesson, and he will take out his notebook to draw the situation and explain thoroughly.
      • If I recall correctly, the only times where there were visuals were lessons 1-3 (mainly about signs and lanes), and the lessons before circuit.
    • Packed schedule
      • Due to his packed schedule, it can be difficult to book slots with him. Once you are satisfied with him, I suggest that you book slots in advance, even up to a month in advance.
      • His weekends are almost always packed. So if you want weekend slots, you might have to book way in advance.

Also sharing some resources that I found helpful. (Sorry, I can't post links, so do add "https://" and "www." in front of those links posted below):
  • Ubi CDC driving routes (google.com/maps/d/viewer?mid=19bx_fGRfNfXexsCQwNGF3rdfsEzBvgG7) on Google Maps. I used this to revise and remember the routes, to recall which parts of the routes do I need to pay additional attention to.
  • Videos by Victor on YouTube (youtube.com/channel/UCkcM1_vfFOlvJELOUBYUDLg). Honestly, I think this guy is another key contributor for me to have passed, especially for the circuit stations. His videos are quite comprehensive, and I suggest that you take a look at them!
  • Mr Loh's parallel parking instructions in a document (
    docs.google.com/document/d/1BRL7cAfuOXztY3fjiVFArihnFMGEhzAF92ndncUt0LI
    ). I don't have a very good memory, so after writing down the instructions on paper and pen during one of his lessons, I put them nicely into a document and printed it out for my easy reference. This helped me to remember the steps well! This is definitely applicable to Mr Loh's car, as all the pictures were taken while in his car.

Once again, Mr Loh's contact number is 9617 0741. He only bothers with calls, and does not reply to messages, so please call him if you are interested.

All the best for your driving lessons and test!

P.S. I wrote this WOT late at night, so pardon me if I don't make sense at some points.
Bro so is he still active and which area do i need to go? I registered as private candidate under cdc and i stay at central area pls get back to me and also if i cannot speak chinese is that a problem?

iBlehhz

Hi does anyone have any bbdc 3A instructor to recommend me pls pm me his contact 🙏 I'm having a hard time finding one 😭

wouwousg

I learned with Mr Anthony Tan at SSDC Class 3 in September 2019 right before **. Passed in March 2020 before lockdown. A little background, I have 3A, but I needed Class 3 as I wanted to drive caravan and manual cars overseas for roadtrips. So I took "refresher" from Mr Tan. Took 8 lessons with him (roughly 5 lessons drive outside 3 inside circuit). During the lessons he just ask me drive and he will take the chance to correct my bad habits (never check back mirror, never turn head clearly) from my driving experience and tell me don't do such 'mistakes' in test. Circuit teaching also very swee, really teach properly and I had trouble with the biting point and slope but he slowly guide. His favourite phrase "pass already you want to drive with your old habits I leave it to you, but first you must pass the test using my tips" :s13:

Mr Anthony Tan (last time drive honda jazz, nice and small can park easily, now he change car not sure). One of the best driving instructors around. Speaks good english, grandfather vibes. Not sure whether can speak mandarin but I think so la haha. Don't scold or shout, just nag abit and will tell you like "eh eh do this kind wrong ah.... don't do this in test". So I just laugh and say sorry. Sometimes joke with you because don't want you to feel pressured.

Downside is, sometimes he end the previous lesson late. (maybe he too kind to previous student keep giving free extension). But doesn't make you 'pay' for it. So if you scheduled to start at 1:00pm, will usually 1:10pm then start and end 2:10pm or 2:40pm depending on duration. Someitimes I end like 5 to 10 mins late also but he not calculative. But means the behind all snowball. Imagine if your lesson is at 6:00pm hahaha jialat. Maybe 6:20pm or 6:30pm then start. So make sure you got flexibility with time, if not you probably be annoyed with the situation. He is also super popular with foreign workers converting their license to drive (I guess because he speak good english). So might have trouble booking him. Really must book in advance and don't last minute cancel.

Can use Paynow to pay for lessons/test - not those very strict say must use cash. $40 per hour, $80 enrolment fee. He even helps you to book your stuff (circuit and TP test) on SSDC website just pass him your SSDC login and pw lol. Really quite hard to find such helpful instructors. He really got heart to help you pass. Expected him to milk me for more lessons (which i'm ok to pay for his help) and $$$ but 7 lessons later, he let me do TP test alr.

2nd attempt then pass TP because first TP test, light was amber and idk drive or stop. I stop because don't want to beat red light (imm fail), but then tester say i e-brake for nothing (walao) and front wheel on pedestrian line, then fail me lol.

I don't usually post here but I think good instructors are hard to come by nowadays. A lot of fr*kn bad eggs.
Let me know if anyone needs his contact. Mr Anthony Tan SSDC Class 3. Spent a total of $1.1k inclusive of 2 TP test ($400+ each time incl. of warm up).

If I remember correctly, he has a friend Mr David Phuan that teaches at SSDC Class 3A. But this one not sure whether kind or not never learned under him haha.
Can share Anthony Tan contact?

applesian

Bro so is he still active and which area do i need to go? I registered as private candidate under cdc and i stay at central area pls get back to me and also if i cannot speak chinese is that a problem?
Hi there, Mr Loh speaks mainly Chinese, so it might be difficult if you don't understand Chinese.
As for the pick-up point, mine was at Serangoon MRT. He may have other pick-up / drop-off points. It's best if you check with him directly as my info might be outdated by now (my post was 2 years+ ago).

Tinkerbelle8

Hi everyone,

Anyone knows of a good PDI in yishun or woodlands? Kindly PM me if you do, thanks.
Hi Everyone,
I am also looking for a PDI for refresher course around Yishun/Canberra/Sembawang/Admiralty area. Need to be patient and good in teaching. Pm me if you have any contacts :) Thanks!

Tinkerbelle8

just passed my tp last tuesday, had a very strict but good instructor. Mr Soon (pm me if u wan his contact)

he will scold u if u nv do well but tat is for your own good also, cuz will surely improve if kana scold.. lol..
he is nv late for my lesson and always will drive to my house area to pick me up.. (given that u stay around sengkang punggol)
if u dun mind a good reliable driving instructor that will scold u for your own good, he is a very good instructor. =)
Hi! Can I have Mr soon Contact? :)

Qiaolisi

Hi, I’m also looking for a patient PDI for refresher course in Hougang/sengkang/Punggol area. (Don’t want to be a road nuisance)

Please pm me if you have any contacts, thanks!!

stepbrother

For those who wanna learn 3A in the north, am recommending my driving instructor, Liew Yew Seng.

3A, Honda City, Pick up at Admiralty MRT. Tagged to SSDC.

Passed on my first attempt with Mr Liew. Took about 23 lessons (10 circuit, 13 road). Mr Liew is patient and soft spoken. Sometimes I find him a bit too soft and have to ask him to repeat and he will do so without black face or annoyance. He's not the chatty type which I like, so I can also focus on my driving. He's also not the sarcastic and chiding type. Downside is he speaks only Mandarin so you need to be fluent to understand his instructions.

He gives good tips on driving on the road and circuit. He'll also point out my appropriate sighting points and will change his driving instructions based on my own learning trajectory. Eg, I keep forgetting parallel parking steps especially when exiting the lot, so he simplified my steps for me. Won't die die must follow his way. He's also very accommodating if I want to get out of the vehicle to visualise my distances/positioning be it on the road or in circuit. He'll point out my mistakes as I go and will answer any questions I have about my progress.

I never have problems booking 2-3 lessons a week. He'll also give priority to those taking TP to go for more intensive lessons towards the end.

Feel free to PM if anyone needs his contact.
hi can pm me his contact?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.