Honor Magic V2

Gadgetfreakloh

Brother, can share how you get the china number for the registration? If I register now, still can get the firmware
I asked my wife china colleage to help. Just get the sms code forwarded to me to register. The update will be till end of Sept.

keithlim

Watching this space with interest. I was tempted with Xiaomi Mix Fold 3 which can install Google Play easily, but seems to have a lot of issues with notification unless you turn off the MIUI optimization (which brings other issues). I wonder if Honor v2 China ROM will be a smoother experience after you get Google Play.

Any bros who managed to do it, please share your experience!

dodongdodong

Watching this space with interest. I was tempted with Xiaomi Mix Fold 3 which can install Google Play easily, but seems to have a lot of issues with notification unless you turn off the MIUI optimization (which brings other issues). I wonder if Honor v2 China ROM will be a smoother experience after you get Google Play.

Any bros who managed to do it, please share your experience!

Mixfold3 hardware seems better in this comparison

keithlim

But once you lay your hands on the Honor Magic V2, for the fact that it is so d*mn wieldy, every other con becomes super negligible liao 😉
Hahaha, yes, I am looking forward to the wider screen and lighter build, compared to my 271g Samsung Z Fold 3. But I can't do without Google so have to wait.

Are you using one? If yes, how's the experience so far? Some reviewers said the screen makes a cracking sound (like plastic) when unfolding, and that the crease becomes wider just from 2 months of use. Is it true?

keithlim

Mixfold3 hardware seems better in this comparison

XM3 has better specs when it comes to camera.
Screen has UTG which I assume is more durable, but they don't support pen.
Battery specs are lower but every reviewer says they last much longer than Honor v2.
But XM3 is also heavier with some reviewers saying it is 264g which is closer to my Z Fold 3.
From the Xiaomi forum on HWZ, some folks have quite a lot of issues with notification and Microsoft Onedrive and MS Team, which is an issue for me since I need this for work.

dodongdodong

XM3 has better specs when it comes to camera.
Screen has UTG which I assume is more durable, but they don't support pen.
Battery specs are lower but every reviewer says they last much longer than Honor v2.
But XM3 is also heavier with some reviewers saying it is 264g which is closer to my Z Fold 3.
From the Xiaomi forum on HWZ, some folks have quite a lot of issues with notification and Microsoft Onedrive and MS Team, which is an issue for me since I need this for work.
Magic v2 could be having same issue

macluver

Am using MV2 without gms and playstore. Installed Teams, Whatsapp, Zoom and Outlook. All working great. Notifications wise, only Outlook dun show me new email notifications. But schedule notification somehow is working. I forced the 4 apps to run in background. Oh, OneDrive is working too.

lao3hero

Hahaha, yes, I am looking forward to the wider screen and lighter build, compared to my 271g Samsung Z Fold 3. But I can't do without Google so have to wait.
Are you using one? If yes, how's the experience so far? Some reviewers said the screen makes a cracking sound (like plastic) when unfolding, and that the crease becomes wider just from 2 months of use. Is it true?

no leh, no sound or watever flaw whatsoever leh

keithlim

Am using MV2 without gms and playstore. Installed Teams, Whatsapp, Zoom and Outlook. All working great. Notifications wise, only Outlook dun show me new email notifications. But schedule notification somehow is working. I forced the 4 apps to run in background. Oh, OneDrive is working too.
wow, how did you install these? By APK?

dodongdodong

Forcing apps to run in background to get notifications, same workaround as xiaomi

bls881234

hi guys, I managed to get Google gms on my v2. it's an imported China set. here's how I did it
1. I signed up for the GMS beta testing through MyHonor app. just search gms you should find the link.
2. for the Chinese phone number needed in the application, I used a random phone number generator from Google.
3. I waited 2 weeks but no news, so I went ahead to contact the customer service through MyHonor app
4. the customer service rep mentioned that my name was in the list for gms testing but my phone number was not valid (lol)
5. they went ahead to help with my case nonetheless and 2 days later, I got the gms system update
16952175979506827848388311660937.jpg

bls881234

so after the update (there are 2 updates that the system will push out), you need to go to users and accounts to toggle the gms. and you should see Google play services in the settings app list. just download playstore apk and you are good to go!
20230920-220932.jpg

20230920-221014.jpg

maldito

so after the update (there are 2 updates that the system will push out), you need to go to users and accounts to toggle the gms. and you should see Google play services in the settings app list. just download playstore apk and you are good to go!
20230920-220932.jpg

20230920-221014.jpg
Does gpay work?

Globe

ur company requires u to install intune to get these apps to work ?

i have the vivo x fold and they cldnt work cos the model doesnt have the necessary security certs, even though google pay is working

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.