[GLGT]'Shocked at how petty he was': Taiwanese YouTuber recounts date with Sinkie who wanted $1.50 back for teh peng

Uncle Lorger

We need to educate them lor. This is gender equality, surely they want this. If they don't want this, then they don't want gender equality.
There will never be gender equality

because men must always be gentleman. So always must give to women, carry heavy things for them, pay for them 😂

coolad74

the truth is that a huge portion of sinkie men are undateable, if u compare them to foreigners (even southeast asian men), many sinkie men are ungentlemanly and unromantic

Well, think of it this way.. the bar is so low, it makes the rest of us extremely desirable.

And from this thread, many of them belongs to this mentioned huge portion. Seriously… $1.50 niah leh also need geh gao… it will take nothing short of a miracle for these pple to get hitched.

Maichapsiao

The rule everybuddy shld follow nao ish, both shld offer to pay.
At least their ownself share or the whole meal.
If one party ask ish more strongly wants to pay for the whole meal, the other party can let him pay.
But ish courtesy to make up for it and offer to pay for drinks afterwards.

At no tiem shld any party indicate she expect other party to pay.

The female standard to sit tight diam diam and wait for the man to pay ish nao also not acceptable.
If the meal is expensive, I could agree with u.
Knn, 1.50 leh.
If poor until cannot 1.50 treat, means EQ is zero and probably will remain poor

spinning_quirK

What are you talking about? When did I ever mention amdk expat in my post?
So state exactly whom you are comparing with whom.

My assertion is that you are comparing the average Sinkie (uncultured or not) with the creme de la creme expats from all over the world who have chosen to bless SG by working here.
Apples with oranges. Feel free to counter me with the actual facts you want me to understand.

And according to some other edmwer's logic, I have High Supremacy rank and 3k reaction score so people agree with what I'm saying. :vijayadmin:

spinning_quirK

so funny to read many defending the niao chi guy.
Gender equality par for the course. It's the baseline, so nothing niao chi about it.

But the guys who want to pay like the white knights they are, are just playing into the actually gender-unequal mindsets of their lady dates. You're not earning points by paying for the date, you're just normal in their eyes, sad to say.

For me, I'm actually gender unequal, so I believe in being a white knight, but I also believe that we don't pay women same salary as men just because. They have to show they are capable of earning as well or more than the men. No gender bllsht.

BleuBunni

So state exactly whom you are comparing with whom.

My assertion is that you are comparing the average Sinkie (uncultured or not) with the creme de la creme expats from all over the world who have chosen to bless SG by working here.
Apples with oranges. Feel free to counter me with the actual facts you want me to understand.

And according to some other edmwer's logic, I have High Supremacy rank and 3k reaction score so people agree with what I'm saying. :vijayadmin:
I wasn’t comparing local men with amdk in the first place. I was talking about undateable men with another user. Please read carefully before accusing me of things I’ve never said.
Who you are is not a concern to me. By the way your assumption that all amdk expat are dateable is flawed in the first place.
No need to reply me. I’ve no interest in reading your long winded frivolous reply.

spinning_quirK

I wasn’t comparing local men with amdk in the first place. I was talking about undateable men with another user. Please read carefully before accusing me of things I’ve never said.
Who you are is not a concern to me. By the way your assumption that all amdk expat are dateable is flawed in the first place.
No need to reply me. I’ve no interest in reading your long winded frivolous reply.
The onus is on you to Ignore me, whether there is a need per se or a mere frivolous want is irrelevant to our discussion. :s8:

If subtle and tongue-in-cheek nuances go over your head just because someone doesn't agree with you, and you get offended at the mere thought of clarifying or getting your hands dirty in proper discussion... ah wells too bad. And you were talking about undateable Sinkie men, not just men. Am I wrong? If I'm not wrong, then there's a valid point to raise about the perceived apples to oranges, since it's not the average foreigner that comes to SG on social visits or for work.

If you are offended because a 3rd party chup ji kar into your "private" discussion with another user, then maybe take that particular portion to PM mode instead.

Maichapsiao

Disagree. I think it is very petty to talk about it, especially in public. Seems like manufactured outrage.
I mean I know girls share things but that’s among their friend groups in private, no? I’ve also heard about bad dates from girls before.

i’ve a colleague who likes to do this, will ask people to pay him back exactly (even though we used to take turns buying drinks). But we simply adapted to him and auto pay him back. And we don’t gossip about him behind his back making fun of his stinginess. Maybe he’s stingy or maybe he has financial problems that every cent counts or maybe it’s the way he grew up. Some people grew up poor and the frugal mindset is ingrained in them.
Sure.
If a single guy wants to go on a date and be penny wise pound foolish.

The crux of the matter is the amount yah. The girl has already agreed to meet at coffee shop for first date, probably bought her own food.
Already considered a keeper.
If the guy is frugal, then he also has no pride cos he kept the change from the 2 dollars yah
I grew up poor too, but even in my worse days during school time, I never stingy till cannot treat friends drink from vending machine
And that helped me ultimately, when I have no allowance for 2 mths, my friends took turns to buy me food.

she was just sharing her experience.
Pettiness will be disclosing the guy's information when sharing which she didn't

noname2016

Sure.

The crux of the matter is the amount yah. The girl has already agreed to meet at coffee shop for first date, probably bought her own food.
If the guy is frugal, then he also has no pride cos he kept the change from the 2 dollars yah
I grew up poor too, but even in my worse days during school time, I never stingy till cannot treat friends drink from vending machine
And that helped me ultimately, when I have no allowance for 2 mths, my friends took turns to buy me food.

Pettiness will be disclosing the guy's information when sharing which she didn't
Erm to me both equally petty lor.
As I said, I also would not ask for 1.50 back.
but neither would I go online and make a big hooha about 1.50. Lacks class. Who hasn’t had bad dates before? Just move on.

illiterate_bbfa

Well, think of it this way.. the bar is so low, it makes the rest of us extremely desirable.

And from this thread, many of them belongs to this mentioned huge portion. Seriously… $1.50 niah leh also need geh gao… it will take nothing short of a miracle for these pple to get hitched.
not when they throw face throw until other nationalities also stereotype us. i chatted with a couple of dating app girls who admitted they were a little disappointed when they realised i'm sinkie LOL

spinning_quirK

Sure.
Maybe he alr not interested in her mah, but she's not gonna admit it
The crux of the matter is the amount yah.
So what about the idea of a girl who agrees to get in bed for an agreed price? Is it the amount or the principle behind it?
Or is it double standard, it's principle for girl but amount for guy? Or vice versa, I'm confused.
The girl has already agreed to meet at coffee shop for first date, probably bought her own food.
Or maybe desperate to the point of coffee shop also ok.
My sports team abangs back in illustrious independent secondary school always ask me for loose change for vending machine, I always oblige and never ask back. It didn't earn me any proper friendships from them, but it doesn't matter how they see me, it's how I see them, right? Yet how are our personal anecdotes relevant to the principle of true gender equality?
Pettiness is airing things on social media when the normal thing to do is either vent to a friend or just suck it up and look forward to the next better date.

RockaRolla

All these youtuber instagrammer, social media people, they need to put out these type of videos to get noticed
they dont do this, who will even click on their videos
alot is just csb la

see see then move on

tidiii

many taiwanese r cmi character wise and not chio

also y do women expect a man to pay for everything?

why is this entitlement defended also?

even in this thread, got many ppl defending this sense of entitlement

spinning_quirK

All these youtuber instagrammer, social media people, they need to put out these type of videos to get noticed
they dont do this, who will even click on their videos
alot is just csb la

see see then move on
Agreed that her video is completely irrelevant and even is some form of gaslighting the masses.

But it has spawned a good discussion and caused us all to pull out our hidden assumptions, principles and inconsistencies about the idea of true gender equality.

eAtNeAt

Objectively speaking everyone grew up differently. Some handed a bad deal the moment they are born and need to penny pinch to survive.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.