Condo or HDB

-nyox-

Ya that is my only concern… like buying a coffin to die inside
If you have no qualms about that and you're ready to stay till your ripe old age, then go ahead. Just don't expect to sell it at a profit when the time comes.

Personally I won't spend 1m on a 30+ yo hdb, or any hdb at that price for that matter.

s-ghost

ah gui is everywhere, is a matter of you see me or not

then go for HDB ba, condo to me is a waste of money with no real benefits
oh just to add on a caveat

unless you can afford to buy a really huge one, like 5 room or penthouse, then maybe condo can consider

duckknight1000

If you have no qualms about that and you're ready to stay till your ripe old age, then go ahead. Just don't expect to sell it at a profit when the time comes.

Personally I won't spend 1m on a 30+ yo hdb, or any hdb at that price for that matter.
Idw to die there either… spending 1m on 30 hdb is stupid to me too… if I count the years left, the 1.7m EC (7 years old), the value almost on par…

KPO_SAHM

Dont overstretch, I kid you not. Your wife income 40k is not enough to sustain your family at all shd sth happen to you. Its gonna be really stressful for you then. Just get Jumbo, dont get condo. 1.7m really gg to you with the amount of loan you gonna take and cash to forkout. Did you calculate how much total interest you have to pay over 30 years? It will shock you.

Ya ..interest is killing. For such income earning....should stay in hdb. Complete the current mortgage asap. Save up ur cpf after clearing mortgage loan n saving for 3-5 years to invest in 1 beded (highest return yield) private property to collect passive rental.

duckknight1000

Ya ..interest is killing. For such income earning....should stay in hdb. Complete the current mortgage asap. Save up ur cpf after clearing mortgage loan n saving for 3-5 years to invest in 1 beded (highest return yield) private property to collect passive rental.
Current mortgage is easy to clear.. enough cash.. just the FD interest is higher than my mortgage since I got a 1.2% interest lock in before the crazy hikes.. so not in a rush to clear

Jeremy1

Go for a FH Condo :s21:
Got facilities good for family! :s12:

I can foreseen the price will still go up as if you compared to other countries like HK, Beijing n Shanghai, we are still relatively cheap. You buy liao can passdown to your children unlike HDB is only 99 years and once you are nearer to the 99 years, there's no more value anymore.

Forever84

Your overstretched.

My loan is 1M, me and wife combined is around 500k and we are about same amount. Monthly mortgage is around 4.8k, consider all other cost we only find it comfortable. Your income is not very balanced.

then you need to remember there is other cost included such as maintenance which would set you back roughly about 4.8k a year and then property tax which is a further 2.4K per year.

you go calculate your other expenses and needs, sure savings very low one

duckknight1000

Your overstretched.

My loan is 1M, me and wife combined is around 500k and we are about same amount. Monthly mortgage is around 4.8k, consider all other cost we only find it comfortable. Your income is not very balanced.

then you need to remember there is other cost included such as maintenance which would set you back roughly about 4.8k a year and then property tax which is a further 2.4K per year.

you go calculate your other expenses and needs, sure savings very low one
Yes.. wise advice thanks sir

chickenpiez007

HDB MOP this year.. value 500k with 180k left in loan. For some complex family reasons I need a dual key as my next unit. Income wise, I am 31 with annual income of 150k.. wife earns about 40k.. got two kids to support, no car

shall I go for a JUMBO 1m to 1.2m, but at least 30 years old now?

or shall I go for a dual key EC? 1.7m…

edit EC not private condo
sell your house, sell in law house if even possible sell your parent house too then gup together buy 1 landed around 4 story high.....1 story for you and wife and kids, 1 story for your parents, 1 story for your in law.....problem solved....see it is not a problem is money can solve.......if no money, then you are the ultimate problem.....#coldhardtruth

PhantomOpera

I pick condo if I were you. 31 years old is still young. Your EC will appreciate faster than HDB. Then you can further upgrade if you can, or downgrade to HDB in future. Once you move to HDB, you will be stuck in HDB as the appreciation cannot catch up with condo. Not to say staying in HDB is not good, it depends on your life ambition and your outlook towards life.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.