Human Resources FAQ

Balian

Ya lor. When you are employee of their company, that information is P&C. But if you are interviewing with them, then the same information is "hello we need to have that, if you don't give then too bad, bye bye!"
and MoM have no guideline on this ?

matey1982

What kind of position you looking? Share your CV here maybe some one will SIC you a jod.
i am not asking for M/SM
not realistic
I have applied for even exec, senior exec with my degree
been thrgh a few interviews but no luck with the Good News offer

so far is unsuccessful outcome all this while
wretched luck
confidence eroded

3XTR3M1ST

Actually what exactly is the motivation for companies to require background checks? With so many rounds of interviews and probation period, why is it still necessary?

See whether you are from competitor?
If there is a period of gap between previous job there and when you joining, should be fine right?

Crime records?
Hello is yellow ribbon a joke? This one as long as it's not something very serious like murder or fraud of 100mil kind, why they worry so much?

What to ask you ex boss for testimonial?
There are many reasons why ex-bosses will give you bad review even if you are a star performer. Maybe he is just petty just want to ruin your chance of a new job because when you left him for another job he felt betrayed? Or maybe he jelly your new position is better than his? Or maybe he just jelly your face more handsome?

Want to see your past salary for benchmark to see how much to offer you?
Come on la what era already, why HR cannot learn new ways to valuate the position and offer accordingly?

What else?

i am not asking for M/SM
not realistic

wretched luck
confidence eroded
what industry and job scope?

matey1982

what industry and job scope?
have turned away from govt sector (past work experience)

i even try junior post at Institute of Higher Learning

also no luck with a job offer in spite of gg for the interview

and have also been thrgh some of the poorer job interview process where the HR ghost until left the organisation w/o closing the loop or i ever also kena put aeroplane before by the hiring side who call off 2nd round without telling

Tedicious

To all that is seeking for job or jobless at the moment rmb this - You may be jobless but not worthless

Loratadine10mg

Can ask a question.

If I did something wrong. My supervisor seek direction and give me warning and counseling.
I agreed not to offend.

Later I got another letter say I am terminated.

Can the company do that ?

matey1982

Can ask a question.

If I did something wrong. My supervisor seek direction and give me warning and counseling.
I agreed not to offend.

how come u 1st got the verbal warning aka counselling

and then become formal termination?

matey1982

think may wan to consider write to HR POC to check in if decision is reached for the interview

AntonioPuerta

i am not asking for M/SM
not realistic

wretched luck
confidence eroded

bro, i assume u born in 1982 due to your username.

r u employed now or jobless?

my honest opinion la, dont apply for executive posts with your degree, bcos most ppl your age should already be asst mgr or managers liao. if the HR or me saw your resume, will feel very weird, unless u dont mind entry level position or mid-career change.

Can ask a question.

I agreed not to offend.

usually in SG or big companies is 3 strikes n your out. unless yours is u still on probation or u face criminal charges/conviction.

usually is:

1) verbal warning
2) warning letter
3) termination letter

https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/termination-of-employment/termination-due-to-misconduct

What to do after inquiry​

No misconduct​

If no misconduct is found, the employer must restore the full amount of any salary that was withheld during the suspension period.

Misconduct found​

If the inquiry establishes a case of misconduct, the employer can do one of the following:

• Instantly downgrade the employee.
  • Instantly suspend the employee from work without pay, for not more than 1 week.
  • Terminate employment without notice, and no salary in lieu of notice will be paid.

matey1982

bro, i assume u born in 1982 due to your username.

r u employed now or jobless?

my honest opinion la, dont apply for executive posts with your degree, bcos most ppl your age should already be asst mgr or managers liao. if the HR or me saw your resume, will feel very weird, unless u dont mind entry level position or mid-career change.
currently out of work since end Oct
I am open to entry level position / mid career change

Loratadine10mg

usually in SG or big companies is 3 strikes n your out. unless yours is u still on probation or u face criminal charges/conviction.

usually is:

1) verbal warning
2) warning letter
3) termination letter

https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/termination-of-employment/termination-due-to-misconduct

What to do after inquiry​

No misconduct​

If no misconduct is found, the employer must restore the full amount of any salary that was withheld during the suspension period.

Misconduct found​

If the inquiry establishes a case of misconduct, the employer can do one of the following:

• Instantly downgrade the employee.
  • Instantly suspend the employee from work without pay, for not more than 1 week.
  • Terminate employment without notice, and no salary in lieu of notice will be paid.
What can I do if I kena all at one go without criminal offence. HR is power ful

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.