jogging and motivation thread

spectrearc

Last year's batch of supernova 2 was still good. This recent sale I bought the ultra-bounce to try, $41 nia.
Bounce foam sucks lei, feels damn hard, maybe that's why the supernova feels bad, since i mainly strike with forefoot

The Adizero SL really feels much better for me... when my Adios 8 comes i'll give it a shot bah, maybe the LS 2.0 feels better.

Picking up running like macam burn money only XD, can't imagine buying the $300 super shoes...
At least got use for my fenix 7s now

Anyway, what time y'all normally go evening run? Thinking of maybe 5pm but dunno if still too hot, 7pm onwards everything dark alr running also like sian only, can't see anything

zeroX26

Bounce foam sucks lei, feels damn hard, maybe that's why the supernova feels bad, since i mainly strike with forefoot

The Adizero SL really feels much better for me... when my Adios 8 comes i'll give it a shot bah, maybe the LS 2.0 feels better.

Picking up running like macam burn money only XD, can't imagine buying the $300 super shoes...
At least got use for my fenix 7s now

Anyway, what time y'all normally go evening run? Thinking of maybe 5pm but dunno if still too hot, 7pm onwards everything dark alr running also like sian only, can't see anything
Ultra-bounce and Super Nova 2 have cushioning largely at the heel to the mid point, so if you are a forefoot striker, then they will feel uncomfy to you lah.

Nekorare

Thanks all for your responses.

I also don't really know how to describe it. Think of it like an ache from walking too much. It's not a sharp shooting pain of any sort.

May come to that. I dunno if I am alone in that I find running to be quite addictive, and a great way of starting the morning, like you have accomplished something in the morning. Now that I am on leave and not working, it feels kinda weird when I wake up and don't do something.

Prior to this, I typically run maybe once or twice a week, since I work pretty long hours and don't really have the time or energy to do so on weekdays. Last week, I ran about once every other day, and was looking to up my frequency this week.

The funny thing is that on my rest day, my legs felt even more heavy and lethargic, but it could also be due to me not having run for some time, so it's my body getting back into shape.

Could be. I don't really know enough about the intricacies of running to be able to comment more on this. I do run the same route and distance every day. Might that contribute in some way?
If you're running once or twice a week and haven't had issues before I don't think it's your form or stride. Might just be your musculature getting used to being exercised more frequently so suddenly. The heaviness on rest days is quite normal with any recent increase in the frequency and load you're putting on the muscles. Ice baths will help!

xllms

My ankle felt fine today, so I continued with my morning jog, and so far, it's still feeling okay. Once again, thanks to all who responded yesterday. :)
good to know your ankle is fine. Do it slowly and let your body get used to the running. Have fun with your runs.

WussRedXLi

Be careful , dont let it screw up your regimen / plans / hard earned fitness.

Week 46:10726
Week 47: 22049*
Week 48: 32035*
---‐---------------------

3-9 Dec -----> 56043

WussRedXLi

Be careful , dont let it screw up your regimen / plans / hard earned fitness.

Week 46:10726
Week 47: 22049*
Week 48: 32035*
---‐---------------------

3-9 Dec -----> 56043

Notch bad.
See if we can double/triple that of our last surge.
Since it does take a while to peak

Our record utilization last time was 1.8k beds if i remember correctly, or slightly more than that of 1 x SGH

oTOAJJQ.jpg

binbinpon

Notch bad.
See if we can double/triple that of our last surge.
Since it does take a while to peak

Our record utilization last time was 1.8k beds if i remember correctly, or slightly more than that of 1 x SGH

oTOAJJQ.jpg
run indoors lor... safest lol.

the peak previously was around 130k/week. this time seems to be more infectious strain with many not testing and reporting. Frankly speaking running at the nparks is kinda risky.

So all runners take care.

xllms

the peak previously was around 130k/week. this time seems to be more infectious strain with many not testing and reporting. Frankly speaking running at the nparks is kinda risky.

think i kena liao, thurs run with cough already felt unwell, yesterday in office voice changed, now throat feeling super awful

sph777

Run during non peak hours. But tbh it’s everywhere la

Ender

If I remember correctly, Isn't transmission risk is higher for indoor, especially air con environments, compared to outdoor.

I think running outdoor is relatively low risk compared to working out in a air con gym (treadmill). Outdoor and most of the time if we ever to come close proximity to another runner, the duration is usually not more than a couple of seconds before to open a gap.

binbinpon

If I remember correctly, Isn't transmission risk is higher for indoor, especially air con environments, compared to outdoor.

I think running outdoor is relatively low risk compared to working out in a air con gym (treadmill). Outdoor and most of the time if we ever to come close proximity to another runner, the duration is usually not more than a couple of seconds before to open a gap.
well yes and no.

Case for outdoors - as you mention the open air helps to dilute viral concentration. However if you run in a crowded environment where people are actively coughing, all it takes for infection is breathing a droplet (which contains high viral load). even if one is exposed in close proximity to another runner in seconds.

Case for home - if there are no one infected, you run in a safe environment. If you have someone infected at home, then it is crucial to ventilate the house, otherwise the risk of infection is high since the droplets are stagnant.

If you run indoors in a gym where people are coughing, that's prob the worse.

The reason for mentioning running at home (i mistyped as indoors) is you probably have a better idea of anyone infected in your family then runners outside.

Btw covid is airborne infection, just that droplet viral load is still higher. Therefore wearing a non-N95 mask still helps. Wearing mask while running may post a CVS stress though.

zeroX26

This. Its perfectly safe to run outdoors esp if you are running alone. Probably only risky if you are running in a pack and the bugger next to you is sniffing / coughing / sneezing non-stop.

Ender

This. Its perfectly safe to run outdoors esp if you are running alone. Probably only risky if you are running in a pack and the bugger next to you is sniffing / coughing / sneezing non-stop.
LOL, I am very aware of coughing runners. Making very sure I stay far away from them. Notice they are usually the young ones. Coz most of them, even have symptoms, they are not as lethargic as seniors like us, so they still got energy to run.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.