Failed marriages :- why?

Lolile

Divorce rate is quite high these days.
Why do married couples (definitely they were in love with each other once upon a time) fall out and divorce?
Can share your own experience / factors causing the divorce

Ec7171

Why do married couples (definitely they were in love with each other once upon a time) fall out and divorce?
R u divorced?

Or u r in a rs ready for marriage?

XuishX

Ego is the main issue

Ec7171

Single and curious why so many failed marriages. Wonder what’s wrong 🤔

Do u have a lasting relationship with every single person u meet?
Do you have difference in opinions with them?

Chances are you will have. And if there is a difference in opinions, then the issue is whether you two work it out.

A long lasting marriage is a testament that both of them has good conflict resolution with most ppl.

British_Bulldog

people now r more self centred n dont know what they want.

last time people tend to give in more or try to work ard e problem, now couples r more expressive n if anything dont work or dont go their way, they will just flip table n go separate ways.

Lolile

Every relationship gets boring after a year or 2. Most rush to marriage and got bored of each other lo.
But can be bored before marriage mah so should run before getting married

lots of sexless marriage nowadays. To tire and stress
Can’t compromise meh?

Because a lot of sick people. Plenty of problems
What kind of sick people ?

Ego is the main issue

can share some examples of ego? Not many are egoistic leh .. at least not among my friends

means ish lust at first sight... not true love... :frown:
but lust at first sight wont tahan until marriage (which usually is after knowing the person for a period of time)

weefred

But can be bored before marriage mah so should run before getting married
Most couple don't stay together until they get married ma. But once they move in together, everyday see each other chao bin till sian lor. All the chao kuan also come out.

Normal couple always just date once a week ,go nice restaurants nice cafe. But once married everyday won't be nice as being on dates.

Titus is a very good example also. Shotgun rush marriage also won't work most of the time.

Duapui-ti

IMHO mainly to :
1) Communication breakdown caused by unchecked egos, resulting in minimal or no resolution.
2) A marriage devoid of intimacy leading to seeking fulfillment elsewhere.
3) Lack of mutual respect and taking each other for granted.
4) conflicting parenting values
5) Seldom spend time together due to work commitments.

Cmonster

Do u have a lasting relationship with every single person u meet?
Do you have difference in opinions with them?

Chances are you will have. And if there is a difference in opinions, then the issue is whether you two work it out.

A long lasting marriage is a testament that both of them has good conflict resolution with most ppl.
Or it could mean one party very good at enduring crap

linzw00

I think not seeing eye to eye and unwilling to compromise. And the grand total of accumulated frustration when it breaks.

fs_lim

You already answered your own question. "...once upon of time". Marriage is not sustained with love that was once upon a time.
That's what shocked young couples the moment they start living 24/7 together.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.