jogging and motivation thread

coern

v fast pace for a 50 yr old!

2h3Dmr9.jpg

Yesterday evening jog, my Ah Boyz still said. Uncle why so slowz....told him uncle old liao πŸ™πŸ™

sph777

For me i keep it really simple for the timed runs wanting to see if can hit the best timing or even PB, just calculate the pace and stick to it via GPS as much as possible. Then if can get new PB then just let it happen. If not try again. More and more tries will eventually get PB, as in relying on probability and luck. That's my simple strategy.
Already quite the challenge to stick to the watch first before relying more on feel and rhythm more.
Dont have more CPU power to stick to pace groups or other folks.

Usually from experience i have no issue negative splitting this way, mostly shd still have a bit left in the tank.

Cannot go too slow / easy one, for these 3k, 5k, even 10k. Not the fun runs.

This chap Aaron is capable of quite a bit more one.
Vanessa is insane, her stride is very efficient. Same as Shing Ling.

Went to search her up and apparently Shing Ling did SCMS with a time of 3.16 and 3.19 in 2022 and 2023 respectively.

Very decent scaling into long distance, considering how 39.28 10km will give a 3.01 marathon pace on the race time predictor.

As for Aaron, he should've been faster initially and paced with the other 38 minute runners, but maybe was too conservative to save energy. And the last part, got too overconfident, happens a lot when not many people are ahead of you and not much competition to go for.

I got outkicked once in the ASICs run recently but that was mostly because I underestimated the route (non-track) due to unfamiliarity, surged too early and end up one guy use me as the pacer and overtook me.
actually track is a whole different ball game from road. I think that's why he don't dare to push too hard at the start. Last year I ran a 10k on track, really have to pace every round properly. Start going too fast is really a killer. 25 rounds leh for 10km. If not experienced on track, then hard to time it well

Ender

actually track is a whole different ball game from road. I think that's why he don't dare to push too hard at the start. Last year I ran a 10k on track, really have to pace every round properly. Start going too fast is really a killer. 25 rounds leh for 10km. If not experienced on track, then hard to time it well
Track usually pace by per 400m or lap. mentally tune to this lap .
So if target if sub 50 for 10k, per lap cannot be more than 2 minutes.

Road is just watch default 1km per lap, so cannot be more than 5 min for sub50 10km.
At least this is how I mentally tune to pacing a race.

sph777

Track usually pace by per 400m or lap. mentally tune to this lap .
So if target if sub 50 for 10k, per lap cannot be more than 2 minutes.

Road is just watch default 1km per lap, so cannot be more than 5 min for sub50 10km.
At least this is how I mentally tune to pacing a race.
The thing is u can say u want to do this pace that pace but in actual race if don't usually train track, it isn't as easy to maintain

Ender

The thing is u can say u want to do this pace that pace but in actual race if don't usually train track, it isn't as easy to maintain
Yes, what I explained is theory. Execution might not go according to plan. Like on race day , form not there or urgent toilet call.

Kuudere

For me i keep it really simple for the timed runs wanting to see if can hit the best timing or even PB, just calculate the pace and stick to it via GPS as much as possible. Then if can get new PB then just let it happen. If not try again. More and more tries will eventually get PB, as in relying on probability and luck. That's my simple strategy.
Already quite the challenge to stick to the watch first before relying more on feel and rhythm more.
Dont have more CPU power to stick to pace groups or other folks.

Usually from experience i have no issue negative splitting this way, mostly shd still have a bit left in the tank.

Cannot go too slow / easy one, for these 3k, 5k, even 10k. Not the fun runs.

This chap Aaron is capable of quite a bit more one.
Pacers make a difference though. In the longer distances, very common to see pacers pacing the run for the elite runners as they push for better timings or WR time. In the very same way that Aaron describe. If people are close to his pace and ahead of him, then he will have the pressure to push forward. Running is a very mental sport. You have to rely on feel/rhythm but can't deny that pacing matters also.

As for negative split, I think it depends on your running approach. Some ppl prefer to go hard and decelerate to a constant pace to throw off other runners, I experienced this upfront in the National cross country races. Some prefer to be progressive, slowly increasing their pace during the run and feel better that they can keep outrunning people in front of them at the cost of starting slower.
Pacing becomes more relevant when the distance goes further up. It becomes more of a tactical game as compared to shorter distance where you just go hard and rely 100% on feel.

Having someone ahead of you that isn't as fast, helps to conserve energy for you to do a kick at the end especially if you are kick runner. If more of a consistent runner that is good at pacing, then it doesn't matter much.

End of the day, boils down to running style. For me, I feel pacers matter a lot since I am a kick runner. In general, if you have a fast runner in the race, it also pushes everyone to go faster, some people will burn out and some people will hit their PB, which you see in some professional races.

WussRedXLi

Pacers make a difference though. In the longer distances, very common to see pacers pacing the run for the elite runners as they push for better timings or WR time. In the very same way that Aaron describe. If people are close to his pace and ahead of him, then he will have the pressure to push forward. Running is a very mental sport. You have to rely on feel/rhythm but can't deny that pacing matters also.

As for negative split, I think it depends on your running approach. Some ppl prefer to go hard and decelerate to a constant pace to throw off other runners, I experienced this upfront in the National cross country races. Some prefer to be progressive, slowly increasing their pace during the run and feel better that they can keep outrunning people in front of them at the cost of starting slower.

Pacing becomes more relevant when the distance goes further up. It becomes more of a tactical game as compared to shorter distance where you just go hard and rely 100% on feel.

Having someone ahead of you that isn't as fast, helps to conserve energy for you to do a kick at the end especially if you are kick runner. If more of a consistent runner that is good at pacing, then it doesn't matter much.

End of the day, boils down to running style. For me, I feel pacers matter a lot since I am a kick runner. In general, if you have a fast runner in the race, it also pushes everyone to go faster, some people will burn out and some people will hit their PB, which you see in some professional races.

Oh one more thing other than GPS (watch), i'd also be listening to Dnb music, 178bpm. Then only thing different to vary would be stride length, which would determine final pace.

So more or less for my amateur level, timings, and expectation is good.
Coz for me if cannot PB then try again lor.....have all the time in the world.
Not like FM, one year only once or at most 2-3 times for more regulars. I tend to do 1 really hard one once or twice a month, various distance (3, 5, 10)

If got pro pacers then lagi better, but need to be pro/experienced pacers. This would, of course, be impossible for me. Coz not that level. So, the simple reliance on GPS watch can liao, mai hiam.

So yeah for me is just road race, so just GPS enough liao.
If treadmill then lagi easier, key in number, after 8km negative split a little. Last time i also did this for 2.4 in the gym / treadmill. Just press button nia. :ROFLMAO:

ps. Oh yea i dont race or follow others one. In a race i mean.
I only follow chiobus during normal runs (at the risk of being a creep)

WussRedXLi

In fact, following others (drafting) , as in strangers or even in group rides but not with close kakis, during cycling, is very dangerous. It's not allowed in some amateur races even, eg metasprint duathlons if i rem correctly.

So for cycling, whenever i wanna "race", i still keep a good 2 second rule distance. This has been ingrained liao, last time went PG / Sepang or normal driving. I kena accident before, paid from my own pocket. Heart pain.

WussRedXLi

But one thing also funny......dont know why i dont feel the urge to go try join clubs. Even though quite siao on.
Same for cycling.

Ender too, think he mentioned before....... i think we all OTOT fellas.

I joined kite groups before but then also quite a fair bit of politics inside. End up a few of us broke off and we all formed our own very small group (only 3 close kakis, and then an additional 3-4 acquaintances in which we set a usual time to fly at Marina Barrage)

Kuudere

Oh one more thing other than GPS (watch), i'd also be listening to Dnb music, 178bpm. Then only thing different to vary would be stride length, which would determine final pace.

So more or less for my amateur level, timings, and expectation is good.
Coz for me if cannot PB then try again lor.....have all the time in the world.
Not like FM, one year only once or at most 2-3 times for more regulars. I tend to do 1 really hard one once or twice a month, various distance (3, 5, 10)

If got pro pacers then lagi better, but need to be pro/experienced pacers. This would, of course, be impossible for me. Coz not that level. So, the simple reliance on GPS watch can liao, mai hiam.

So yeah for me is just road race, so just GPS enough liao.
If treadmill then lagi easier, key in number, after 8km negative split a little. Last time i also did this for 2.4 in the gym / treadmill. Just press button nia. :ROFLMAO:

ps. Oh yea i dont race or follow others one. In a race i mean.
I only follow chiobus during normal runs (at the risk of being a creep)
Music does help with pacing. As for threadmill, definitely easier to pace for negative split and also since you can run on flat surface all the way, makes it easier.

GPS can give the HR for pacing which I think helps to not overexert during a run.

Chiobu, if run too slow behind them then can become suspicious. But if they're fast, then they probably don't mind guys running behind them. These days a lot of fast chiobu runners.
But one thing also funny......dont know why i dont feel the urge to go try join clubs. Even though quite siao on.
Same for cycling.

Ender too, think he mentioned before....... i think we all OTOT fellas.

I joined kite groups before but then also quite a fair bit of politics inside. End up a few of us broke off and we all formed our own very small group (only 3 close kakis, and then an additional 3-4 acquaintances in which we set a usual time to fly at Marina Barrage)
Club running, I only join those free ones. Got one time, some guy asked me to trade socials to remind me to come for the runs. But I didn't exchange socials with him since I want to come as and when I want.

Politics happen if you get too close with the in group. I join for running, don't bother going to the dinners after the run. So, not so much of an issue.

WussRedXLi

Chiobu, if run too slow behind them then can become suspicious. But if they're fast, then they probably don't mind guys running behind them. These days a lot of fast chiobu runners.

I tell u a joke...... once was at Fullerton Bay Hotel and started pacing chiobu. Then went by promonitory, and she entered MBS. No joke, she ran into the aircon area stragith from the get go after the small upslope, before the Apple water store. But still could see from the outside.......so i just continued slow jog outside along the non AC oath. And so you know, inside MBS AC area then need to turn right and then loop around that big bowl area. And then i sort of lost track of her coz of the crowd inside. And when she looped back, i caught sight of her again.

But then this time round she staring straight at me, not in a general direction but our eyes met.
Busted! :cry:

Jeremy1

Does it make common sense for a person who can walked long distance but cannot run πŸ€”

Ender

I tell u a joke...... once was at Fullerton Bay Hotel and started pacing chiobu. Then went by promonitory, and she entered MBS. No joke, she ran into the aircon area stragith from the get go after the small upslope, before the Apple water store. But still could see from the outside.......so i just continued slow jog outside along the non AC oath. And so you know, inside MBS AC area then need to turn right and then loop around that big bowl area. And then i sort of lost track of her coz of the crowd inside. And when she looped back, i caught sight of her again.

But then this time round she staring straight at me, not in a general direction but our eyes met.
Busted! :cry:
At least she didn't post on stomp, have your face publish.

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-gpgt-stalked-over-an-hr-in-lavender.6996116/

Ender

Does it make common sense for a person who can walked long distance but cannot run πŸ€”
Yes, there are a group of people, that do Rucking. Google rucking or rucking tribes. They don't run, but can walk very long distance with weights for health benefits.

Jeremy1

Yes, there are a group of people, that do Rucking. Google rucking or rucking tribes. They don't run, but can walk very long distance with weights for health benefits.

Can complete Marathon by walking or not πŸ€”

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.