Using E-gate MegaThread

spinning_quirK

Can be go in manual and come out egate. Just that passport will have chop for in and no out and vice versa.

If go in by egate and out by manual, the officer will chop the exit and write comment like using egate for going in
Wow this is nice. It is official policy for them now? At the start they were hostile and offended whenever a passport was "missing" a chop.

leongws

Wow this is nice. It is official policy for them now? At the start they were hostile and offended whenever a passport was "missing" a chop.
Should be. They cannot penalise people when their facial recognition failed. What choice do we have other then go manual counter when that happens.

I asked the officer during registration last time that what if I travelled in by car and going out through egate, she mentioned it is possible and can exit the egate.

As for going in by egate and coming back by car, need to inform the officer at counter that we entered by egate and he will chop the passport and write something on it as mentioned.

My wife and daughter tried before. Both entered through egate but as my daughter got issue with her face recognition while using egate coming back, my wife accompanied her using manual counter and explained to the officer and got their passport manually chopped with comments.

*As of now, my daughter still having issue with face recognition using egate and can only use manual counter even though already registered for Macs. Will make a new passport next month along with myself and re-register again and hopefully hers will go through after the passport change. No issue for myself though. Both our passport expiring next Jan so just nice can update her photo in passport.

Below are how it looks like.

hwsstx

I've a couple of AUS friends who will be entering JB via land.

Are they allowed to apply for E-Gate use at JB's CIQ or foreigners, besides SG, can only apply at KLIA?

Whatever, they will know soon enough.
FYI ... Foreigners, besides SG, cannot apply for MACSv02 at JB.

Refer to MY's Immigration infographic.

hwsstx

They can do so via JB custom too.
Just remember to submit MDAC first and see if the status is positive.
If yes, they can go to the JB 1st two counters to register, only on Monday to Thursday, 8am to 7pm

FYI ... Foreigners, besides SG, cannot apply for MACSv02 at JB.

Refer to MY's Immigration infographic.

deepblue_82

in the end u have to be there during Monday to Thursday, 8am to 7pm first...
else anything else is just talk..

magna_strike

Should be. They cannot penalise people when their facial recognition failed. What choice do we have other then go manual counter when that happens.

I asked the officer during registration last time that what if I travelled in by car and going out through egate, she mentioned it is possible and can exit the egate.

As for going in by egate and coming back by car, need to inform the officer at counter that we entered by egate and he will chop the passport and write something on it as mentioned.

My wife and daughter tried before. Both entered through egate but as my daughter got issue with her face recognition while using egate coming back, my wife accompanied her using manual counter and explained to the officer and got their passport manually chopped with comments.

*As of now, my daughter still having issue with face recognition using egate and can only use manual counter even though already registered for Macs. Will make a new passport next month along with myself and re-register again and hopefully hers will go through after the passport change. No issue for myself though. Both our passport expiring next Jan so just nice can update her photo in passport.

Below are how it looks like.

I Kena also. Alot of single entry stamps because I took train in but egate come out. At one point the officers marked my passport for each of the single entry stamps. Kena questioned a few times afterwards by them because they saw it. No choice explain can get tix in but not out, wat can I do?

naz1983

happened to me last week. no chop as entered thru mdac. but returning machine cant read my passport. end up manual counter. abang kastam asked what time i went in and wrote down the day/time i think.

lucky it was 2 am when i was entering back singapore. can see his face sian alreadyo_O

Habrosus

spinning_quirK

happened to me last week. no chop as entered thru mdac. but returning machine cant read my passport. end up manual counter. abang kastam asked what time i went in and wrote down the day/time i think.

lucky it was 2 am when i was entering back singapore. can see his face sian alreadyo_O
How many different machines did you attempt before you went to see abang?

matrix05

Habrosus

The link on Macs2 is self explanatory, thanks. So if you have registered last year ( used the egate before), those are no count anymore? Got to register to Macs2.
Last year's the same. I've only registered once when this FOC one (MACSv2) first started, been using until now.

I'd say the one that we applied at the agent's office in Tanglin Road and paid like S$35 for a year's access, was MACSv1.

twinbaby

Can I confirm if completion of MDAC is still required?

https://imigresen-online.imi.gov.my/mdac/main

The following categories of visitors are exempt from the requirement to complete the MDAC:

3.1. International Students

1. Citizens of Singapore;
  2. Diplomatic and Official Passport holders;
  3. Malaysian Permanent Residents and Long Term-Pass holders;
  4. General Certificate of Identity (GCI) Brunei Darussalam holders;
  5. Brunei Malaysia Frequent Traveller Facility holders;
  6. Thailand Border Pass holders;
  7. Indonesia Cross-Border Travel Document (PLB) holders.

4. EFFECTIVE DATE

Effective 1st January 2024, completion of this MDAC will be mandatory, except those listed above (3 i – vii).

For more information, please refer to the Immigration website at the following link:

nurufufufuopm

Can I confirm if completion of MDAC is still required?

https://imigresen-online.imi.gov.my/mdac/main

The following categories of visitors are exempt from the requirement to complete the MDAC:

3.1. International Students

1. Citizens of Singapore;
  2. Diplomatic and Official Passport holders;
  3. Malaysian Permanent Residents and Long Term-Pass holders;
  4. General Certificate of Identity (GCI) Brunei Darussalam holders;
  5. Brunei Malaysia Frequent Traveller Facility holders;
  6. Thailand Border Pass holders;
  7. Indonesia Cross-Border Travel Document (PLB) holders.

4. EFFECTIVE DATE

Effective 1st January 2024, completion of this MDAC will be mandatory, except those listed above (3 i – vii).

For more information, please refer to the Immigration website at the following link:

If you want to use the e-gate/autogate at the following points of entry and are eligible to do so, yes you need to fill in the MDAC and submit it.

(KLIA1 and KLIA2 International Airports and all Gazetted International Checkpoints Bangunan Sultan Iskandar Immigration, Customs, Quarantine and Security (ICQS) Complex, Sultan Abu Bakar Immigration, Customs, Quarantine and Security (ICQS) and Johor Bahru Sentral)

Otherwise, no need. For example, if you are entering by train, or private cars, or motorbikes.

kwh_89

just got my renewed passport last week and registered for MDCA, went to the manual counters to register and kept getting passport verification fail and the immigration folks told me to reach out to ICA.

Anyone else encountered such issues?

Habrosus

just got my renewed passport last week and registered for MDCA, went to the manual counters to register and kept getting passport verification fail and the immigration folks told me to reach out to ICA.

Anyone else encountered such issues?
Have read about a similar case though can't remember if it's here or an FB group.

This is why I stressed to my friends who are already using the eGates to take good care of their passports, to avoid having to change a new one other than due to expiry. We'll never know if the new passport will give a problem such as the above.

You could reach out to ICA as advised, just tell them what happened...though I can't think what they will or can do...

Or...go try your luck again at the counter?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.