Is there such HR hiring practice?

Laguna123

Say you saw a job adv for 8k-10k/mth salary.
After interviewed you matched like 80% of the JD and what the hiring manager is looking for, but your current salary is much lower.
You told the recruiter your expected salary is 8k, then the company ask for your current salary, cause they will verify once you are onboard.
The recruiter got back and informed that this company got a policy that max increment only 15% so it’s hard to match expected salary?

Isn’t internal policies use for salary increment only? Also apply to new hire? This role also requires you to guide and manage new joiner, so the responsibility is higher. Is the HR trying to pay low ball since the budget already set till 10k by management? Anyone encountered such scenario before?

Thoreldan

HR's KPI Hiring company goal is to get qualified candidate for as low cost as possible. They will come up with all crappy excuses to suppress pay.

Also a person's pay should be based on his/her competency, experience and what this person can bring to the new company. It should not be based on x% of last drawn. This is outdated and useless practise.

Nobody should be asking your marital status, number of kids or last drawn salary. All these are discrimination. We need to modernize our HR practice. Too many JLB in this role liao.

edit: changed some wording because some HR people not happy :s13:

Laguna123

Not sure of current hiring practices.

Try to nego to match yr expected salary after yr short probation?
You tried this neg before? Because I think more company won’t adjust your salary even after probation or just slight increase only.

PrinceY

Play smelly, that’s what I encountered all the time because of my low last drawn, gaps between job and short stint.. so they always try to lowball me since they got more power..

And most of the time I ended up feeling shortchanged and I quit and the vicious cycle repeats with me ending up in a lousier and lousier state

888blancgmail

You tried this neg before? Because I think more company won’t adjust your salary even after probation or just slight increase only.
Yes, but many years ago by hiring co, seems like a standard practice then.

Some even increase more due to outperformances.

Now I dk.

KnobKnob

Big companies wouldn't bother to up salary after probation one.

Anyway, you probably got a whiff of how ngiao they are already. So it's up to you to think whether to nego or not.

Depends heavily on how desperate you are the leave current job. New company branding good boh? Glassdoor rating how much? Culture cui you also work after awhile sian one I tell you. Lose motivation very quickly.

During interview how's the vibe with your hiring manager? Got ask what's he or she working style? Working style buay gum ah, give you how much increment also no use

Gambler.

After interviewed you matched like 80% of the JD and what the hiring manager is looking for, but your current salary is much lower.
You told the recruiter your expected salary is 8k, then the company ask for your current salary, cause they will verify once you are onboard.
The recruiter got back and informed that this company got a policy that max increment only 15% so it’s hard to match expected salary?

Isn’t internal policies use for salary increment only? Also apply to new hire? This role also requires you to guide and manage new joiner, so the responsibility is higher. Is the HR trying to pay low ball since the budget already set till 10k by management? Anyone encountered such scenario before?
i had the exact same experience in my latest appn.

suck thumb. i'm still bitter with it tbh.

once you've accepted, it would take a few years to even match your initial expected salary due to the low increment environment

AntonioPuerta

sounds like what happen to me, so i share my exp here with u also.

i was previously from coy A (a MNC in SG that all sinkies above 25yo will have heard of). i apply to join coy B, which has about 100 employees in total. coy B's HR lowball me by offering $200 to $300 lower than what I was alr earning at coy A.

so i just straight up told coy B's HR, "your offer is much lower than what im alr earning, so I have to decline/reject your offer bcos it dont make sense/logic for me to join u and earn a lower salary."

i think the HR stun cos she immediately ask if can re-negotiate and end up they offer me same salary as what i was earning previously in coy A.

LOL

Laguna123

Big companies wouldn't bother to up salary after probation one.

Anyway, you probably got a whiff of how ngiao they are already. So it's up to you to think whether to nego or not.

Depends heavily on how desperate you are the leave current job. New company branding good boh? Glassdoor rating how much? Culture cui you also work after awhile sian one I tell you. Lose motivation very quickly.

During interview how's the vibe with your hiring manager? Got ask what's he or she working style? Working style buay gum ah, give you how much increment also no use
Brand not as good as my current one, welfare I think current one also better. But Glassdoor wise this new coy much better, 3.3 vs 4.6?
Not sure how’s his working style but when talk to him can feel that he is those very objective kind won’t bother about simi HR standard questions as he only ask technical questions and my experience. It’s also a fintech and manpower kept lean. Maybe it’s a Chinese HQ that’s why quite ngiao?

AntonioPuerta

If eg your current salary is $4k.
How to ask for $8 to $10k ?

imo, maybe TS can ask the new coy for pay increment of 15% from his current salary?

bcos TS got say that the new coy has a policy that allows them to process a max increment of 15% for all their employees.

Laguna123

sounds like what happen to me, so i share my exp here with u also.

i was previously from coy A (a MNC in SG that all sinkies above 25yo will have heard of). i apply to join coy B, which has about 100 employees in total. coy B's HR lowball me by offering $200 to $300 lower than what I was alr earning at coy A.

so i just straight up told coy B's HR, "your offer is much lower than what im alr earning, so I have to decline/reject your offer bcos it dont make sense/logic for me to join u and earn a lower salary."

i think the HR stun cos she immediately ask if can re-negotiate and end up they offer me same salary as what i was earning previously in coy A.

LOL
wtf was the HR thinking, any logical person won’t move his/her ass to new coy with lesser or same salary. Is like taking risk without any benefit.:crazy:

Lchlch

imo, maybe TS can ask the new coy for pay increment of 15% from his current salary?

bcos TS got say that the new coy has a policy that allows them to process a max increment of 15% for all their employees.
Yes bro, so likely even 15% can't hit the $8k.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.