jogging and motivation thread

Ender

I see their running form like their stride is very wide.

Why my stride is short 🤔
If we are not running as fast as them, don't follow their form. Like those keyan runner, with high butt kick, don't force yourself with high butt kick when running only 7min/km.

Jeremy1

If we are not running as fast as them, don't follow their form. Like those keyan runner, with high butt kick, don't force yourself with high butt kick when running only 7min/km.

I am still trying to find a form where I can maintained my pace to run till the finishing line 😬

Ender

I am still trying to find a form where I can maintained my pace to run till the finishing line 😬
LOL, if FM or HM , not many people can maintain the same running form from start to end. Not even elite runners. That's why I find those youtube channel that do elite running form analysis during a race mooted.

Jeremy1

LOL, if FM or HM , not many people can maintain the same running form from start to end. Not even elite runners. That's why I find those youtube channel that do elite running form analysis during a race mooted.

But at least not to the extent of walking :s13:

xllms

Your first run is on the faster side, so HR will be higher. And also, 20km is quite a long run, normal to have a higher overall HR if you don't really have a break.
for sunday's run, i had a 10 min break and HR was already below 90 when i started the return run.

xllms

I actually did that like a while back but not sure if its the algorithm most of the posts i saw was either china xmm or guys running/sharing their pacing and timing, or them sharing their china race result.
like most apps, the app will adapt to your frequent views. if you look at shoe reviews more often, they will show you more of the same or related posts aa default.

WussRedXLi

Last night 30C run 10k only at pace 8:01 run until like dog

Quite warm, the 16k long run i did last week only managed tempo /threshold paces even though i had the will to push.

Just do cycling sua.... or maybe soon just gun shorter distances like 3k 5k. Too uncomfortable and not enjoyable.

WussRedXLi

I see their running form like their stride is very wide.
Why my stride is short 🤔

Need to train more for a fair bit of time, coz while it is not that efficient to "shuffle", neither is it good to force a kick or decent knee-drive at slower speeds/cadences. Lots of variables, can search for it, from strengthening (i like resistance bands) to maybe even mobility exercises..........if not will get injured.

Maybe just try 3k first, then 5k, then 10k. If you find that longer distances are too hard for your age, 10k can be considered endurance long distance type of running also, it's like 1hr or low 1hr plus. The weather here terok also, so no shame in running and then doing well in 10k (or 5k for that matter).

I did a 16k last week, could only average 4.21 pace. Quite shiong, slightly over 1hr hard effort.
I do 1hr hard cycling already feel it quite siong, even with so much more wind cooling.

Ender

But at least not to the extent of walking :s13:
Not a bad thing to rotate between different form for a long run imo. Coz you also rotate the working muscles and different loading of joints. So some muscle in the precious form can take a break.

WussRedXLi

He is fast 😱

Yeah think he got a bit of aspirations to do sports at national level but sort of didnt make it. He just started working, so young and fit ba. If he can maintain the consistency and not be affected too much by his career, prob still has room for improvement.

But then again that is another can of worms.......young age neglect career.....sports dont really pay much here. HOw would others look at you also, even if you yourself dont mind. SG life lah.....jin sian.

Jeremy1

Can I ask you all during the HM run, is it common to have a lot of runners halfway walking ? :grin:

Wait I feel embarrassed :s13:

Jeremy1

Actually do you all agreed that AngMo usually can run better than Asian ?

And those black runners from Kenya is even faster than AngMo.

Ender

Actually do you all agreed that AngMo usually can run better than Asian ?

And those black runners from Kenya is even faster than AngMo.
Japanese outlier. Coz after keyan, Ethiopian, Uganda runners, next best country for FM is not ang mo country but japanese.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.