jogging and motivation thread

Ender

20240424 15degC puma deviate nitro 2
13.22km @ 7'12" av HR 148av 170max
keeping HR within 140 is so tough, let alone below 130.
I am also not sure if the HR reading on my coros is accurate as it differs quite significantly with apple, few instances, coros was in 150s while apple was in 130s
thinking if i should get the coros arm HR strap or another brand's HR reader
Back to the question, what is the purpose of getting into external HR? The one case that I feel that really an external HR is when you need instant HR reading. Wrist base are bad for it as it's response time is slower. The training that require instant HR reading is when you are doing HR based training like the MAF method. I got my chest strap because I dedicate one year to do purely MAF method. Where it is very strict that I do not exceed the ceiling HR at any time, therefore instant HR reading is requires. SO if you are doing zone 2 training also, strict adherence to the zone during workout requires instant HR, then the chest strap and arm band is needed.

But if just average HR for post analysis, like lap 10 where you enter some farlek you just like to know the average HR, or lap 2 to 4 you did a threshold and you just want to compare average HR to a previous similar workout, usually wrist base HR is good enough, coz after averaging out, the reading can be quite close to chest HR.

Ender

I thought of getting a cheap watch that count uour steps etc n your distance..
See if can get those Huawei GT 3 series or Runner under $200.... Only @WussRedXLi got the GT runner at a extremely good deal. For the quality of HR sensor and GPS sensor, under $200 this is unmatched for value for money.

Kuudere

Just have to wait for a later episode for an answer. Coz this is within his performance judging from Tokyo marathon last year.
Bad runs like this usually make/break ppl. If they can overcome the mental hurdle, they will definitely improve. If not, burn out. But from what I see, he looks at running positively. Still celebrating the run with the crowd despite a bad run. He'll definitely come back stronger.
This year a bit slower than usual for the 18K run.

Last year the fastest men they took like around 1hr to finish, iirc 3.18 min/km pace for the fastest fella.

That's insanely fast compared to the national triathletes. Most of them, average 3.50 min/km for the HM w/o any swim/cycle component. In fact, I recently came across a video of a national triathlete that ran the 2XU in 1.19-1.20.

3.18 min/km is like national runner level minus the swim/cycle.
20240424 15degC puma deviate nitro 2
13.22km @ 7'12" av HR 148av 170max
keeping HR within 140 is so tough, let alone below 130.
I am also not sure if the HR reading on my coros is accurate as it differs quite significantly with apple, few instances, coros was in 150s while apple was in 130s
thinking if i should get the coros arm HR strap or another brand's HR reader
I know a couple of 2.05 - 2.10 HM runners run their long runs at that pace, it's an easy run for them.

Anywhere until 153 HR according to my garmin. I tried it out and seems quite accurate so far in terms of avg. HR.
My next and only other race this year will prob be stan chart but see how my leg recovers first
SCMS will be some time away, should be sufficient time for recovery and to get back on form.

xllms

I ran the 2xu on pb 3 I think it is quite good tbh
i had one of my best runs on takumi sen 9 but had to return to seller and refunded due to outsole issue after one run. pb3. 0 was the replacement and it made me forget about ts9

xllms

3.18 min/km is like national runner level minus the swim/cycle.

I know a couple of 2.05 - 2.10 HM runners run their long runs at that pace, it's an easy run for them.

Anywhere until 153 HR according to my garmin. I tried it out and seems quite accurate so far in terms of avg. HR.
tried a fast sprint at around 3min/km pace today but can only last 100-200m...super shagged. Need to do more to get used to it.

I don't seem to be able to run with mid or fore foot strike technique for low HR eg. 140 and below on coros. Switch to rear foot strike will be easier, but as the run prolongs, right knee will have discomfort.

Lchlch

See if can get those Huawei GT 3 series or Runner under $200.... Only @WussRedXLi got the GT runner at a extremely good deal. For the quality of HR sensor and GPS sensor, under $200 this is unmatched for value for money.
Wow, nvr expect it is so expensive.

xllms

Personally using Polar H10. It's the gold standard for HR measurements for outdoor. Amazon SG can get cheaper than Coros and retail. But it's a chest strap, so it is not as comfortable as arm band one.
Arm band one, Polar's Verity Sense is also cheaper than Coros on Amazon SG.
thank you for the recommendation. Polar H10 is even more affordable than Coros HR arm strap here in China.

xllms

Does this Apple 7 broadcast HR reading? Coz if you can find a away to strap the Apple around your arm, it can make a very good arm band HR reader.
apple watch is not linked to my android phone and my earphone, so even if it broadcast, i probably won't be aware of it. Not sure if I understand the broadcast function correctly.

Ender

thank you for the recommendation. Polar H10 is even more affordable than Coros HR arm strap here in China.
Just a warning, chest strap is not comfortable hor.. There are people who buy liao, after a few months stop wearing. I was serious with my MAF training so eventually got used to it and still using it now except for long runs that exceed 2 hours, coz will scratch my skin, quite painful when bathing.

WussRedXLi

Kuudere, this one your friend boh? From FFRC.
But first and foremost i think he is more into triathlons.

Works in sports as well.......so interest and work same.
Aaron same as me, IT kia. (think he cybersec one)
Hope he can make some correct decisions so that he can retire in his 30s, i think prob early 30s.

xllms

Back to the question, what is the purpose of getting into external HR? The one case that I feel that really an external HR is when you need instant HR reading. Wrist base are bad for it as it's response time is slower. The training that require instant HR reading is when you are doing HR based training like the MAF method. I got my chest strap because I dedicate one year to do purely MAF method. Where it is very strict that I do not exceed the ceiling HR at any time, therefore instant HR reading is requires. SO if you are doing zone 2 training also, strict adherence to the zone during workout requires instant HR, then the chest strap and arm band is needed.

But if just average HR for post analysis, like lap 10 where you enter some farlek you just like to know the average HR, or lap 2 to 4 you did a threshold and you just want to compare average HR to a previous similar workout, usually wrist base HR is good enough, coz after averaging out, the reading can be quite close to chest HR.
HR monitor for zone 2 training.

WussRedXLi

Just a warning, chest strap is not comfortable hor.. There are people who buy liao, after a few months stop wearing. I was serious with my MAF training so eventually got used to it and still using it now except for long runs that exceed 2 hours, coz will scratch my skin, quite painful when bathing.

Thx for 100% confirming. So i confirm no buy. 😅
Tons and tons of cyclists all hoot this. In fact i am prob the odd bugger using smlj huawei (and Taobao tops and bottles etc). :ROFLMAO:

xllms

thanks for the warning. will find out more before committing

WussRedXLi

HR monitor for zone 2 training.

Srsly, even for me and having interests in know "TT" full send timings, i have not scientifically "measured" things like LTHR. Only Max HR which is also in itself not scientifically proven to be MHR, it's just what i managed to measure as a peak number and i just that particular number. So my zone 2/tempo/LT1 LT2 also like maciam anyhow whack one.

But it is what it is, i accept that my trainings are not gonna be 100% fully optimised one. Im definitely not aiming to even come close to any national records, or any Masters records even, or Parkrun,
Anyway i am not even on any structured training plans regardless.......

But then again, there is this question of cardiac drift, heat soak and various HI temps, etc. So many variables that really need to account. So for a longer run heat soaked liao, you just guai guai follow Z2 but it might just be Z1. Bo bian, tropical country.

WussRedXLi

Maybe sph777 can try aqua jogging for the next 3 months........

If rest that kind of time, i think........ i dont know lah.......but personally i dont believe in totally off seasons. (posted 1 vid just yesterday, that one by Lewis)
But of coz that is if your lifestyle can tahan and not suffer any form of burnouts.

Jeremy1

I thought of getting a cheap watch that count uour steps etc n your distance..

Go for Garmin Forerunner Series.

Depending on your budget.

The higher model give you more data and battery life like for my 965, my battery life can last me easily 20 days for 1 full charge and also this watch had a lot of data which helped on your running.

Price about $759 from online.

Jeremy1

Actually I was thinking of getting the Garmin HRM Dual.

It's supposed to give you a more accurate Heart Rate Reading but then the salesman at Garmin told me my 965 on wrist is good enough.

Ender

Maybe sph777 can try aqua jogging for the next 3 months........

If rest that kind of time, i think........ i dont know lah.......but personally i dont believe in totally off seasons. (posted 1 vid just yesterday, that one by Lewis)
But of coz that is if your lifestyle can tahan and not suffer any form of burnouts.
Think you misunderstood when we talk about off season. Off season is when there no race coming up so you are not in 12- 17 weeks mesocycle training plan for FM. That when you are free to explore other form of base building. FOr some it would be to going in MAF training, some just stick to 80/20 with low training loads. Basically free and easy. Usually off season, won't do anything to risk overburning. For me, I would add easy runs to other housing estate to explore new kopi tiam and hawker centre.

Off season is not total rest.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.