Samsung the "green line on the screen" after 2 years of mobile phone updates: People: Can't get rid of it after restarting

Joseph12

Why ppl often say the green line appear after updating software is partly because ppl rarely restart their phones. When updating software, the phone restarts and during rebooting the current surges before coming back down. If your screen is already weakened but yet to show the lines, a reboot will weaken the screen even more with the surged current.

Source: I'm a phone technican
I now often turn off my phone
Once a day
So you saying I shouldn't do that?

Igene

Their own lauya screen and they don't replace for affected customers for free. Both Vivo and Oppo replace for free leh.

Cryptology

I now often turn off my phone
Once a day
So you saying I shouldn't do that?
The samsung screen issue seems to focus majority on flagship phones for the past few years, 2019-2020 onwards.

Rarely see mid to low-range samsung models have this issue. So if you are using a flagship samsung model now, you will kena this problem sooner or later, your practice of turning off and on every day will accelerate the inevitable.

duhduhduh

Why ppl often say the green line appear after updating software is partly because ppl rarely restart their phones. When updating software, the phone restarts and during rebooting the current surges before coming back down. If your screen is already weakened but yet to show the lines, a reboot will weaken the screen even more with the surged current.

Source: I'm a phone technican
So what is the solution?

Regularly restart phone?

Joseph12

The samsung screen issue seems to focus majority on flagship phones for the past few years, 2019-2020 onwards.

Rarely see mid to low-range samsung models have this issue. So if you are using a flagship samsung model now, you will kena this problem sooner or later, your practice of turning off and on every day will accelerate the inevitable.
Uh what?
BTW S20 Plus also got it
Is it flagship?

Thought it's good to turn off phone once in a while So it will "rest"

Guess will STOP doing it

Cryptology

There was a period when S20 series got released about a year later where 2nd hand shops are afraid to take in used sets cuz often they check no prob but when trying to sell, the green line prob suddenly appear, some shops lost thousands of $ because of this.

Joseph12

This is a physical defect, so it's a manufacturing defect.
Clearly it's something samsung should be responsible for
But in Singapore they don't take responsibility

Someone here said he went to samsung and basically it's few hundred dollars repair now to rectify it

Cryptology

Uh what?
BTW S20 Plus also got it
Is it flagship?

Thought it's good to turn off phone once in a while So it will "rest"

Guess will STOP doing it
Yea the S and note series consider flagship. A series seem to rarely have this issue.

PaprikaSG

The line is there, very irritating lor

f6dd38e6-df3f-4e37-99fc-8bc8786e4092

Cryptology

Clearly it's something samsung should be responsible for
But in Singapore they don't take responsibility

Someone here said he went to samsung and basically it's few hundred dollars repair now to rectify it
And if really is manufacturing defect, even the new screen replaced will kena the same issue in the future.

ExcuseRMJ

Their recent galaxy unlocked promotion ad on facebook flooded with complains on screen issue until they had to keep reposting the ad to clear the comment sections.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.