News| S'pore wage helps M'sian man work towards early retirement

AuraKUPO

Malaysian can buy multiple properties but sinkie can only buy one. That's why sinkie can only work until die

TiedInsurer

Can go work in Kuwait.

1 kuwait dinar = 4.4 sgd.

Abt 70% of population in kuwait is foreigner too.
Quick google says:
The average monthly salary in Kuwait typically ranges between 1,000 to 3,000 KWD for lower to mid-range positions, but can be significantly higher for skilled ...
That's not very high? Nowhere near 3.5 leh. Malaysians come here we don't pay them SGD1k for low range and SGD3k for mid range. We pay them like SGD3k for low range and SGD10k for mid range.

Dudick

This article is from a media that rank 160th, you all believe?

the same media also reported that SM Lee says all sinkies are taken care of, but I see nobody believe in EDMW leh

FireEmblem

Wtf his commute only 1hr15mins?
Why his commute shorter then mine?
I always spend 13hrs at work, if counting the commute.

I go malaysia often and sometimes come back to sg early too before going to work. Trust me, it is alot easier then they claim, Simi wake up 4am.

I can wake up 6am in JB then go to custom still can reach office 9pm easily after first going home cos using autogate like what they using.

Those wake up 4am is ownself kiasu, come in very early then find somewhere to sleep first.

TiedInsurer

I go malaysia often and sometimes come back to sg early too before going to work. Trust me, it is alot easier then they claim, Simi wake up 4am.

I can wake up 6am in JB then go to custom still can reach office 9pm easily after first going home cos using autogate like what they using.

Those wake up 4am is ownself kiasu, come in very early then find somewhere to sleep first.
I go from my house to my office need 1hr 30mins to 2hrs depending traffic condition. He come from Malaysia only need 1hr 15mins. Win liao lor.

enimen

Last part of the article says he only earn 900sgd leh but got pay increase.

Even if he don't eat in sg, he still need to packet food from msia and pump petrol.

Wonder how much he saves to be able to get 3 houses

Fasstik

tbh, that kind of hustle lifestyle may not work for everyone, esp those also scrimp and save on food e.g. only eat plain bread for lunch daily

later end up they spend more for medical reasons just to sustain themselves for "family time"

but I digress...

wahlaneh

Don’t forget you have cpf. If you don’t try to be funny and keep on selling high buy high and flip properties, your cpf by the time you retire judging from a wage of 4-5k per month you should have enough to retire….

Not a lot but enough

Elfblade

Mr Mohd Aminurashid Ali Akbar, who lives in Johor Bahru, spent much of the past 14 years crossing the Causeway and working in Singapore.

As a result, he missed out on a lot of family time with his wife and three daughters, one of whom has autism.

However, his dedication has paid off handsomely and Mr Aminurashid is on the path to an early retirement to "make up for lost time" with his family.

He now owns three properties in Malaysia, all acquired through his hard-earned income from his job in Singapore. His family lives in one of the houses while he rents out the other two for extra income.

https://tnp.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/spore-wage-helps-msian-man-work-towards-early-retirement
Meanwhile, average Sinkaporeans continue to work past their twilight years cleaning tables at Hawkers.

Elfblade

His starting salary in Singapore was $950 but received a pay bump after he furthered his education at the Institute of Technical Education.

ITE is not the End Horkay.

FireEmblem

Last part of the article says he only earn 900sgd leh but got pay increase.

Even if he don't eat in sg, he still need to packet food from msia and pump petrol.

Wonder how much he saves to be able to get 3 houses
House in Malaysia very cheap, his 900 is from 20 years ago, that time one landed house in Malaysia can be as low as rm 100k

Hot_Dog

Normal la, if got no benefit to them, who will want to take so much trouble to work in SG leh.

socade

But many Malaysian will tell u they hate Singapore they hate Singaporeans

TiedInsurer

House in Malaysia very cheap, his 900 is from 20 years ago, that time one landed house in Malaysia can be as low as rm 100k
Even now it's still dirt cheap. My jhb colleague recently bought landed property back in her Ipoh village. Only costs like SGD50k. Property is lousy investment in bolehland. Price won't up one.

robie_aibo

Have you guys heard of some companies include cpf contribution as part of foreigners' salary so that their salary is comparable to ours?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.