Ported already.
Have not received any sms that says porting in is successful

Habrosus

Agree with u. But luckily they did it anyway. Phew.

a little more story, the “store manager” actually wanted me to pay extra $30 coz i changed plan a month after subscription. The staffs explained to him that i have been with simba since june, why need to charge extra leh. Lol. I saw the drama unfolded, really no SOP.
After all these years being an MNO...really jialat, this company. Tsk tsk :s22:

And to see how many have been porting over to a new MVNO now... I really hope there's at least one person there who truly knows how to hang on better...

NovelLobster

Share my experience…

4 Aug 1.07am signed up for eight

5 Aug 6.23am received eSIM email from eight

5 Aug 1.58pm activated eSIM

5 Aug 10.07pm Giga was disconnected from network

6 Aug 9.38am SMS from eight saying port in successful

6 Aug 9.38am email from Giga saying line has been terminated

6 Aug 9.41am SMS from Giga saying old number has been ported out

Tested 9.50am. Calls, SMS, OTP, data working fine

TyL3r_DuRd3n

After all these years being an MNO...really jialat, this company. Tsk tsk :s22:

And to see how many have been porting over to a new MVNO now... I really hope there's at least one person there who truly knows how to hang on better...
Indeed.
can use them lah, for roaming.,
many die-hard / fanboys of simba, dun ever say bad else "pay peanuts, get peanuts" "go for premium telco for premium service" :s13:

TyL3r_DuRd3n

04 Aug 1330ish - Terminated my free line with eight at Ubi Service Centre.
04 Aug 1350ish - Free line terminated.
04 Aug 1433hrs - Signed up for port-in from GOMO, e-sim received at the same time
05 Aug 2350hrs - GOMO lost signal
06 Aug 0650hrs - Woke up and found number completely ported in.

Around 12mn++, even though GOMO signal is lost, I still could request OTP and access their app.

No email/sms from Eight on the successful port-in.
No termination email from GOMO too.

Tried this morning on the way to work (7:20 to 7:40ish), EWL tunnel is very much useable as compared to GOMO but there were some bufferings that took less than a sec each time to catch up.

Tedicious

04 Aug Terminated my free line with eight
04 Aug 1433hrs - Signed up for port-in from GOMO, e-sim received at the same time
05 Aug 1150hrs - GOMO lost signal
06 Aug 0650hrs - Woke up and found number completely ported in.

Around 12mn++, even though GOMO signal is lost, I still could request OTP and access their app.

No email/sms from Eight on the successful port-in.
No termination email from GOMO too.

Tried this morning on the way to work (7:20 to 7:40ish), EWL tunnel is very much useable as compared to GOMO but there were some bufferings that took less than a sec each time to catch up.
ur Gomo was on 4G or 5G?

TyL3r_DuRd3n

the real test will be the infamous "6-7pm test" :s13:

Just wanna share something about singtel/starhub.

Had dinner with wife in Midpoint Orchard at an eatery. Then she was on Giga and I was on GOMO.
She happily scrolling her social media apps, where i was struggling to even connect to the internet.

Tedicious

the real test will be the infamous "6-7pm test" :s13:

Just wanna share something about singtel/starhub.

Had dinner with wife in Midpoint Orchard at an eatery. Then she was on Giga and I was on GOMO.
She happily scrolling her social media apps, where i was struggling to even connect to the internet.
haha I guess cos giga is on pure 5G SA while gomo is on 5G NSA (which means still on 4G), so that makes the difference.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

haha I guess cos giga is on pure 5G SA while gomo is on 5G NSA (which means still on 4G), so that makes the difference.
i subscribed the cheapest giga plan for her, the $10, 20GB, so it was on 4G, even the 5G plan not relevant to us coz we are using iPhone :s13: cfm no 5G de.

Tedicious

i subscribed the cheapest giga plan for her, the $10, 20GB, so it was on 4G, even the 5G plan not relevant to us coz we are using iPhone :s13: cfm no 5G de.
Ah ic... Diff Telco diff coverage but to say Singtel has roadblock in orchard is really zzz

Kiwi8

hi guys, how is the Eight Telecom billing cycle like? When should I sign up to get my billing cycle to be first of the month?

Habrosus

hi guys, how is the Eight Telecom billing cycle like? When should I sign up to get my billing cycle to be first of the month?
Every 30 days so not possible to have first of month billing cycle

loganrunning

same experience here, but experienced it daily between 1800-1930, esp between city hall and raffles place

didn't drop, unlike singtel based lines (postpaid, gomo).

simon73

First sign of successful porting is to see the old SIM card being disconnected. If your old line is still active, something is stopping it from being release.

Common issues are : Golden number, ID mismatch and etc...

My post is a continuation of prior post.
My Simba signal was cut the night prior at 11pm.
No mismatch of name or ID. Just poor porting process i'm guessing.

Habrosus

same experience here, but experienced it daily between 1800-1930, esp between city hall and raffles place

didn't drop, unlike singtel based lines (postpaid, gomo).
So I'm not the only person facing connecting issues with Singtel postpaid. Actually a friend who happened to be with me at City Hall faced it too. Shocking, IMO.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.