Johor Bahru - share is caring - Part 2

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info
    Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Aaagogo

Not to mention the value and better tasting food in JB, I just spent RM52 for kuay tiao Kia, got duck meat, large intestine head, small intestine, stomach, pork head skin, tongue, tofu and a bowl of noodles... All that just for the fat person hiding inside me.

How to beat?

Coffeelix

I am going to explore parking at their MBJB parking lots overnight, since I can pay for those parking charges via their app and I think it's 60 sens for 1 hour and it's right around the police station area by the old customs, so it should be relatively safe, and my car is their teksi, so I think no one would want to break in or steal anything.

The most valuable thing on my car are my non-stock rims.

That way, I only have to catch the last 170 which is around 0100hrs
U might risk losing your wheels / rims …

Just stay with your mom for those late night classes.. no point rush back to jb …

Meemoosaa

It hilarious what kind of legal tax loopholes are available to you when you bank on the 2nd floor in Holland Village, but I didn't earn that myself, it's from my mother.

Thanks for sharing your story. Very interesting ! Wahhh this Holland V sentence very cryptic leh, can elaborate ? Now you have me on a cliffhanger !! :oops:

She stays at home, retired.

Been going to JB since blue passport days and it went hardcore during army days with a girlfriend. Had to really learn the ins and outs since I could only afford to paktor in JB back then, and it never stopped.

Wow blue passport days available for 5 years kind, so we are more or less the same age ? I'm in my mid 40s. And if so, applause for going back to school it's not easy at this age l !! What made you decide to return to studying ?

I rented in JB because I was working on a Kickstarter project and needed a office, looked around in Sg and I could only rent a shoebox for 500sgd, so I picked JB instead. No point burning unnecessary funds. I'm not amazon

I see ! It's quite smart I guessed, if all you need is an office for remote work and the internet !

I'm small fish compare to some here with multiple units in JB and some are recent new owners too :ROFLMAO:

I think how and why sinkies make the decision to live and expense in JB is because they have almost given up on Singapore in its current form.

I know some have units in JB but multiple units, wow that's news to me ! haha. I'm personally curious because there's always a lot of talk in Singapore about relocating to JB for a lower cost of life but yet I hardly come across any successful stories in real life. So I'm wondering if this is a case of sounds good in theory but unrealistic in practice ? And those scare stories in media about investing in JB doesn't help. The forest city story only added fuel to the fire.

This thread is about as real as it gets for me knowing some of you commute quite often between the 2 countries. I've come across are some Sinkie Malays who have families and relations in Malaysia so settling down in JB is a piece of cake for them and kind of false economy in a sense. haha

So it's fascinating to be in this thread reading that some of you are living the commute, and making it a reality in practice. Am starting to plan retirement and wondering if living in JB for short periods of time is feasible for us in the future. We are tinkling with the idea whether rentals might work out so there is no need to deal with the hassle of owning a property but then is it worth the rent to begin with as we won't be as financially productive during retirement.

It's also a lot easier for me because I was never married and I do not have any off springs that I know of.

:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:..... I like your sense of humour.

Meemoosaa

Not to mention the value and better tasting food in JB, I just spent RM52 for kuay tiao Kia, got duck meat, large intestine head, small intestine, stomach, pork head skin, tongue, tofu and a bowl of noodles... All that just for the fat person hiding inside me.

How to beat?

Hands down to food and service in JB. Exchange rate asides, the quality, taste and professionalism in the F&B sector is truly unbeatable.

However, I always wonder if it is the correct mindset to use SGD to compare. It is only value for money if we are earning SGD. Is it value for money for the locals living there at all ? Probably not.

If someone earns on average 3K - 4K RM before tax, spending 10-15 RM for a bowl of noodle at kopitiam is very expensive in comparison. Cars and petrol asides.. I would think most stuff are not that cheap for the locals ?

The day that we stop generating SGD on our end, is the day when JB stops being value for money isn't it ?

Coffeelix

Hands down to food and service in JB. Exchange rate asides, the quality, taste and professionalism in the F&B sector is truly unbeatable.

However, I always wonder if it is the correct mindset to use SGD to compare. It is only value for money if we are earning SGD. Is it value for money for the locals living there at all ? Probably not.

If someone earns on average 3K - 4K RM before tax, spending 10-15 RM for a bowl of noodle at kopitiam is very expensive in comparison. Cars and petrol asides.. I would think most stuff are not that cheap for the locals ?

The day that we stop generating SGD on our end, is the day when JB stops being value for money isn't it ?
True jb kopitiam price is Rm7 to Rm8 for a bowl of noodles…

You probably is referring to the new cafe that has been sprouting in jb post covid that charges more than Rm10…

Ago’s life is seemingly more interesting than anyone of us..

Coffeelix

Sma
Thanks for sharing your story. Very interesting ! Wahhh this Holland V sentence very cryptic leh, can elaborate ? Now you have me on a cliffhanger !! :oops:

Wow blue passport days available for 5 years kind, so we are more or less the same age ? I'm in my mid 40s. And if so, applause for going back to school it's not easy at this age l !! What made you decide to return to studying ?

I see ! It's quite smart I guessed, if all you need is an office for remote work and the internet !

I know some have units in JB but multiple units, wow that's news to me ! haha. I'm personally curious because there's always a lot of talk in Singapore about relocating to JB for a lower cost of life but yet I hardly come across any successful stories in real life. So I'm wondering if this is a case of sounds good in theory but unrealistic in practice ? And those scare stories in media about investing in JB doesn't help. The forest city story only added fuel to the fire.

This thread is about as real as it gets for me knowing some of you commute quite often between the 2 countries. I've come across are some Sinkie Malays who have families and relations in Malaysia so settling down in JB is a piece of cake for them and kind of false economy in a sense. haha

So it's fascinating to be in this thread reading that some of you are living the commute, and making it a reality in practice. Am starting to plan retirement and wondering if living in JB for short periods of time is feasible for us in the future. We are tinkling with the idea whether rentals might work out so there is no need to deal with the hassle of owning a property but then is it worth the rent to begin with as we won't be as financially productive during retirement.

:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:..... I like your sense of humour.
Best for retirees live off their passive income for their retirement and not touch their savings …

Only renting to stay in jb while you lease your sg property then can have passive income…

also, jb offers lower cost of living…

The cost of water is a few Rm to ten of Rm.” Depending on your usage…

electricity is also a few hundred Rm at the most…

Grocery is very much cheaper n fresh…

most of all, the serenity big space and less crowd can’t be measured in $

ST9611

Sma

Best for retirees live off their passive income for their retirement and not touch their savings …

Only renting to stay in jb while you lease your sg property then can have passive income…

But sometimes I wonder if it is safe for a senior to live in JB?

Coffeelix

There is No place is safe like sg especially walking on the road or taking public transport…

To want to live safely in jb and anywhere else :
U must drive
Stay home at night (after 7 or 8 pm)
Stay away from notorious places
Stay away from back alley
Keep to places with crowd
Don’t travel alone to ulu places
Choose to lease at high end properties with good security in place
Dress down n no wearing of jewelry n branded watches / bags/ clothes
Don’t flaunt your wealth..
Keep a low profile

Meemoosaa

True jb kopitiam price is Rm7 to Rm8 for a bowl of noodles…

You probably is referring to the new cafe that has been sprouting in jb post covid that charges more than Rm10…

Ago’s life is seemingly more interesting than anyone of us..

The cheapest kopitiam noodles (not cafe) I've come across is 10 RM post covid. Where are these true JB kopitiam ? :unsure:

Meemoosaa

Sma

Thanks for sharing. Yes, seems like its more of a retiree plan than an investment plan.

Interesting about the cost of water and electricity, that sounds great for retirees. Do you drive or own a car ? I've looked into car rental online but seems like they are not that value for money while grab seems like a way better option (I'm thinking retirement, not tourist trip) . Maybe I'm looking at all the wrong places. haha

Agree with the serenity of big space and less crowd. It was a breath of fresh air to be eating out in spacious settings, and not kena cramp and crowded out in Singapore. Not everything can be measured monetarily. No opportunity explore fresh and cheap groceries yet. The closest I've come across is Aeon mall in Bukit Indah and I suspect its not really a bang for buck place when it comes to fresh veg and fruits based on the prices.

Meemoosaa

There is No place is safe like sg especially walking on the road or taking public transport…

To want to live safely in jb and anywhere else :
U must drive
Stay home at night (after 7 or 8 pm)
Stay away from notorious places
Stay away from back alley
Keep to places with crowd
Don’t travel alone to ulu places
Choose to lease at high end properties with good security in place
Dress down n no wearing of jewelry n branded watches / bags/ clothes
Don’t flaunt your wealth..
Keep a low profile

Thanks for the candid sharing. What are the areas that are considered high end properties and good security ?

oceanpriest

at kluang, the roast meat stall just next to the butchery, how to beat that? in singapore we can only get chilled or frozen thawed meat
free range egg also cheaper in msia, no need to import from new zealand
fresher vegetables

well, JB is still comparably cheaper than let's say Jakarta or Batam, only those Yogyakarta and smaller towns is cheaper. But JB is so near to SG.

Cheapest wanton mee in JB probably 7-8 RM ~ 2.39SGD
Cheapest bakmi in Jakarta probably 30-35k IDR ~ 2.89 SGD
Cheapest wanton mee in Singapore probably 3.5 SGD

RON 95 in Malaysia 2.05 RM/litre ~ 0.61 SGD/litre
Pertamax Green in Indonesia 13.5k IDR/litre ~ 1.12 SGD/litre
RON 95 in Singapore is 2.9 SGD/litre

The cheapest kopitiam noodles (not cafe) I've come across is 10 RM post covid. Where are these true JB kopitiam ? :unsure:
taman university alot of students, cheaper foods.
my fave ckt at taman johor 7RM :)

Aaagogo

Singapore's passport and currency is strong but it is only strong when they are used overseas.

Singapore's currency is weak AF when used domestically

I let those who tell their children; now don't study, next time want to go sell chicken rice is it? Run the rat race for me, while I enjoy the fruits from their sweat. But end up I have to eat chicken rice in JB because no one wants to sell chicken rice in Sg anymore.

Paper chasing was never my thing, but I need one more piece of paper to kill the king with a thousand paper cuts, for sgd50k, to me, a worth it price to pay for an attempt.

Of course you compare with our favourable xchange rate, if not what's the point of having a stronger currency? But just don't be vocal about it when you are a foreigner.

Go to Nordic countries and spend then u will feel like a Malaysian.

Invest in property is one of the ways to build wealth, but unless u have a freehold or 999 title, you are not building wealth in Sg, a hdb or condo is an option that expires to 0 value at the end of its 99 year lease. It is legally written into the document you sign and SERS is gaslighting, since it's up to the pap regime to dangle it in front of you for votes :poop:

Be angry about those "new record highs" HDB sale, the people coming up behind are catching that time bomb, I could care less, since I have none of my own that are coming up behind me. I'll just enjoy my popcorn watching them suffer.

For property in JB, u can't really build wealth in a place with "unlimited land" today u buy a new condo, soon new ones will pop up, by then who wants to buy an older development.

There is a way around it, some here have properties in the right place, which is anywhere with limited land and development capabilities, since there is a limited supply, economic theory says that that is good for profits.

Owning a depreciating asset and a liability is unfortunately one of the things u need for life in any country that didn't develop their public transport system, but for SGD 2k, my proton saga can be driven until the metal rusts away completely, so I die first before this car.

Last time before pasir gudang close down, I have 1 race car and 2 race bikes that I keep there. I'm very much looking forward to it reopening.

As for the cross border commute, try it during off peak times, it's a breeze. While living cross border is going against the norm, squeezing with the peak hour rush returns you back to square one. The whole idea is to go against the grain to live and expense in JB, but joining in on the commute rush effectively at least halves your value of living and expensing in JB.

I'm wired very differently; I like to spend time, since time is equal and finite for everyone, spending time is more baller than spending money, up to a certain extent and when I need time, I just buy it from other people.

Safety wise, I am aware that because I'm above avg in height and build, I'm in a privileged position to claim that even back alleys, where I have my Orh Chien is safe.

However, the same basic principle applies to everyone when we become foreigners. Apply that and anyone should be relatively ok.

Aaagogo

JB has their own seniors living in JB mah.

But I'm talking about the seniors that are still self mobile. If it's those seniors that I see at my downstairs hawker center, either in wheelchair or with a helper, than currently, sg is better.

Aaagogo

You get the convenience of returning to Singapore spontaneously in JB at anytime of the day. Not so easy for Penang.

Spontaneity in this case is relative to how much money you have :ROFLMAO:

A commercial flight is about an hour plus away, fly private and it's about 2-5hrs, depending on how expensive your private plane is, my PPL flight time takes about 5hrs

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.