OnePlus 12 series

MangoCAT

wow pattern like tat also can

think 16+512 hard to get below 600 even 1+13 is launched
Think prices will drop for global launch model cos of margins (The prices are dropping in india and US). For china domestic market, is more of new models + refreshing hardware or reuse hardware. The china variant without esim best price is around 690 to 750 for 16/512
(Shopee/ lazada price. If buying from taobao is even cheaper but removing the region lock and flashing global rom is the mafan part) wheras global variant is 1299 before coupons, with no 100w charger

vaxvms

Think prices will drop for global launch model cos of margins (The prices are dropping in india and US). For china domestic market, is more of new models + refreshing hardware or reuse hardware. The china variant without esim best price is around 690 to 750 for 16/512
(Shopee/ lazada price. If buying from taobao is even cheaper but removing the region lock and flashing global rom is the mafan part) wheras global variant is 1299 before coupons, with no 100w charger
cos global version S.P is over-priced
so still got margin to drop
china rom version think not much buffer + 1+13 launching soon

SpicyBird

Hi, asking you all for opinions. Do you all think it's worth getting an export set of OnePlus 12 which esim is not supported? Because moving forward alot telcos and virtual mobile providers (GOMO/GIGA) are moving new customers to esim. Or i dont even know in future will they even still provide a physical sim card for customers whose phone cannot support esims, even if so, how long more? 2-3yr? Then what about for oneplus export set users which esims cannot be support but ur provider only provide esim then how? Don't say this is impossible, i'm currently a GOMO user using physical sim card and i told the CSO that i bought a new phone that only support esims and asked if they convert my physical sim to esims or not they say sorry no. they only provide esims for new customers. And tell me that the only solution is to port out and port in back as a new customer to get a esim LOL, dont laugh. it's ***** dumb but this is true. So will you still get oneplus 12 without esim support because i'm not sure how long can continue to use OP12 if telcos all trying to force ppl to use esims and leave customers with no options.
d9y0XjD.jpeg

MangoCAT

Hi, asking you all for opinions. Do you all think it's worth getting an export set of OnePlus 12 which esim is not supported? Because moving forward alot telcos and virtual mobile providers (GOMO/GIGA) are moving new customers to esim. Or i dont even know in future will they even still provide a physical sim card for customers whose phone cannot support esims, even if so, how long more? 2-3yr? Then what about for oneplus export set users which esims cannot be support but ur provider only provide esim then how? Don't say this is impossible, i'm currently a GOMO user using physical sim card and i told the CSO that i bought a new phone that only support esims and asked if they convert my physical sim to esims or not they say sorry no. they only provide esims for new customers. And tell me that the only solution is to port out and port in back as a new customer to get a esim LOL, dont laugh. it's ***** dumb but this is true. So will you still get oneplus 12 without esim support because i'm not sure how long can continue to use OP12 if telcos all trying to force ppl to use esims and leave customers with no options.
d9y0XjD.jpeg
Esim is still a premium feature and good to have for "storing sim card profiles". If esim technology is cheap to have already on a 200 dolla phone, there is 5ber simcard where you store esim on a simcard using apps.
Yep, esim is a very very convenience feature if you have many sim profiles on a phone. [It’s more to compete with other phone brands] I think for the next 3 to 4 years should be no worries. This just means China isn't using esim that much also and look at how long it take for 3G in singapore to be phased out.

If i am not wrong, there is no pure Esim phones at all

SpicyBird

Esim is still a premium feature and good to have for "storing sim card profiles". If esim technology is cheap to have already on a 200 dolla phone, there is 5ber simcard where you store esim on a simcard using apps.
Yep, esim is a very very convenience feature if you have many sim profiles on a phone. [It’s more to compete with other phone brands] I think for the next 3 to 4 years should be no worries. This just means China isn't using esim that much also and look at how long it take for 3G in singapore to be phased out.

If i am not wrong, there is no pure Esim phones at all
yea, but i'm reserved my physical sim for msia prepaid card :(

MangoCAT

yea, but i'm reserved my physical sim for msia prepaid card :(
You do know that it's dual physical sim right for china OnePlus 12 and most of us are pondering for 5ber to get 3 or more SIM working on a phone

Is just global rom which is meant for global variant will show esim option which china variant cannot use nia cos lack of hardware for esim

eddy0505

d9y0XjD.jpeg
our abang here just spent 1.5k bought a pixel 9 pro XL and now wanna get oneplus 12 as secondary phone ah? lol, cant wait for you to complain about all those software + hardware issues in the other thread lol. I used pixel 8 before, other than the camera, tbh the software + hardware issues + bad integration definitely not worth the price premium at all. i might go back to pixel 8 series if the price is good maybe as a secondary phone just for the camera + gemini/ai features (provided its already fine tuned by then, its pretty thrash now).

ive tried xiami/oppo/realme/iqoo/vivo recent flagships and mid range phones, china and global roms- oneplus 12 is the best in terms of os updates/security patches/stability and ive not really faced the bugs you highlighted from forums. its the best all rounder ive used in recent months (heavy user and as main phone). esim not an issue for me as i use 5ber- even better than native esim phones as i dont have to rescan qr if i change phone, just swap the 5ber esim will do. save money and time.

and also maybe to highlight- those rants you see on forums, i suspect probably majority of them belong to the india market- they are typical users who generally like to expect a lot from the price they paid (pay oneplus pricing but expect premium first class features and stuff like an iphone/samsung user)

MangoCAT

The moment i saw "singpass ibanking nfc google" works for global rom flashed china OP12 is a good buy for china phone with SD8gen3 for 6xx to 9xx as i don't want to fiddle with bootloader/rooting. Most recommended sellers here will remove region lock but if there is a better price, can pm them.
I have been saying le china OS is not like 4 to 5 years back le. idc also if they are copying features from main players [Smart island from IOS but give me toggle]
Any phone brand when introducing new features in updates/normal updates will have chance of bug de.
[The real issue should be changes in battery drain but most modern phone will slowly optimise the battery le]

If you don't update the OP12, there is no AI features inside at all in their first firmware if you care about bloating.
I think is a first world problem when got plenty of choices

SpicyBird

our abang here just spent 1.5k bought a pixel 9 pro XL and now wanna get oneplus 12 as secondary phone ah? lol, cant wait for you to complain about all those software + hardware issues in the other thread lol. I used pixel 8 before, other than the camera, tbh the software + hardware issues + bad integration definitely not worth the price premium at all. i might go back to pixel 8 series if the price is good maybe as a secondary phone just for the camera + gemini/ai features (provided its already fine tuned by then, its pretty thrash now).

ive tried xiami/oppo/realme/iqoo/vivo recent flagships and mid range phones, china and global roms- oneplus 12 is the best in terms of os updates/security patches/stability and ive not really faced the bugs you highlighted from forums. its the best all rounder ive used in recent months (heavy user and as main phone). esim not an issue for me as i use 5ber- even better than native esim phones as i dont have to rescan qr if i change phone, just swap the 5ber esim will do. save money and time.

and also maybe to highlight- those rants you see on forums, i suspect probably majority of them belong to the india market- they are typical users who generally like to expect a lot from the price they paid (pay oneplus pricing but expect premium first class features and stuff like an iphone/samsung user)
hahaha ya i'm tempted to get both oneplus 12 and pixel 9 pro XL to play with. there are some pros and cons with both phones.

oneplus 12 -> Good but not perfect, excellent battery life but software and stability is not up there yet. can have NFC/location/mobile network/UI problems. I dont wanna give myself chance to whine when shits happen and there is no guarantee if oneplus will fix them or leave it hanging. even if they will fix, how long they need is unknown? So buying oneplus 12 definitely not as my main phone, probably just for playing games and scrolling media nia.

pixel 9 pro xl -> I know i wont have to whine about the bugs + the 7 years updates. but battery life is horrible. some basic interactions that i'm used to doesnt have in pixel launcher. like double tap to lock screen, 3 finger swipe screenshot bla bla bla. alot AI i know i paying for it but wont use it. really just buying for the software stability nia knn

eddy0505

hahaha ya i'm tempted to get both oneplus 12 and pixel 9 pro XL to play with. there are some pros and cons with both phones.

oneplus 12 -> Good but not perfect, excellent battery life but software and stability is not up there yet. can have NFC/location/mobile network/UI problems. I dont wanna give myself chance to whine when shits happen and there is no guarantee if oneplus will fix them or leave it hanging. even if they will fix, how long they need is unknown? So buying oneplus 12 definitely not as my main phone, probably just for playing games and scrolling media nia.

pixel 9 pro xl -> I know i wont have to whine about the bugs + the 7 years updates. but battery life is horrible. some basic interactions that i'm used to doesnt have in pixel launcher. like double tap to lock screen, 3 finger swipe screenshot bla bla bla. alot AI i know i paying for it but wont use it. really just buying for the software stability nia knn
I think you really read too much into forums and comments liao, I don't have any bugs or issues with OnePlus 12, as a heavy user. It's my daily go to phone. Battery life is decent, not say excellent.

Pixel there are issues lingering since pixel 6 now still not resolved, guess you will notice it once you get your pixel 9 pro xl. Just went to challenger store to test test play play the unit, the bezel is thick and ugly af. The sides and the camera bump damn turn off.

SpicyBird

I think you really read too much into forums and comments liao, I don't have any bugs or issues with OnePlus 12, as a heavy user. It's my daily go to phone. Battery life is decent, not say excellent.

Pixel there are issues lingering since pixel 6 now still not resolved, guess you will notice it once you get your pixel 9 pro xl. Just went to challenger store to test test play play the unit, the bezel is thick and ugly af. The sides and the camera bump damn turn off.
my bad experience comes from oneplus 7 pro. after they update to android 12 there is this mobile network issue that doesn't get solved until now. randomly got this exclamation mark that i have to restart my mobile network. it's not only me facing, ALOT ppl are facing using oneplus 7 pro after updating as well. until now no fix, i think they probably lazy to fix for old devices and just leave it hanging and just moved on to update newer ones only.

MangoCAT

Why not just a S24U for both software peace of mind[not even about software/UI] and hardware even with anti-glare screen or wait for pixel 10 which the SOC will be made by TSMC [then bugs on a new soc]
Old china phone yes - limited network band supported/Russian rom/custom rom affecting features with the new updates. They will move on to newer phones software stability only cos they say software updates is only for 4 years, is a china style thingy to just stop supporting products
Too bad Singapore do not have a good return policy on electronics like US to test new electronic

not a tech/software expert, bugs should be easier to solve on a common used chipset. Actually, why not roll back the firmware on your oneplus 7P if you using their own firmware instead of russian or custom rom firmware?

vaxvms

my bad experience comes from oneplus 7 pro. after they update to android 12 there is this mobile network issue that doesn't get solved until now. randomly got this exclamation mark that i have to restart my mobile network. it's not only me facing, ALOT ppl are facing using oneplus 7 pro after updating as well. until now no fix, i think they probably lazy to fix for old devices and just leave it hanging and just moved on to update newer ones only.

it is like some software incompatible to window 11

so just stay put window 10 n dun itchy hand go upgrade

me will only upgrade if i know wat are the changes n benefits for all my phone....but that's me

SpicyBird

it is like some software incompatible to window 11

so just stay put window 10 n dun itchy hand go upgrade

me will only upgrade if i know wat are the changes n benefits for all my phone....but that's me
kinda ironic that these developers are supposed to push updates that are stable and essential. but now we have to take extra caution steps in case the updates cock up and even not update if we dont need it?

MangoCAT

kinda ironic that these developers are supposed to push updates that are stable and essential. but now we have to take extra caution steps in case the updates cock up and even not update if we dont need it?
Is true on the principle and that's why there are test version/beta program of the updates to identify bugs and get consensus
(Used to have to local install on xiaomi/sign up for beta program but nowadays, it's inside their software le and publicly available)

But so far, no issues on oneplus 12 cos not auto updating le as even samsung can cockup and cannot rollback officially (s20 fe).
Was on 8.02 for the longest time. Skipped 8.10 and go straight to 8.30.

i mean look at the new tensor 4 chip also with performance issue but will be fixed as always or optimised. Which is why i rather coy don't release phone yearly but profits and stakeholders (not us) are more impt

SpicyBird

Is true on the principle and that's why there are test version/beta program of the updates to identify bugs and get consensus
(Used to have to local install on xiaomi/sign up for beta program but nowadays, it's inside their software le and publicly available)

But so far, no issues on oneplus 12 cos not auto updating le as even samsung can cockup and cannot rollback officially (s20 fe).
Was on 8.02 for the longest time. Skipped 8.10 and go straight to 8.30.

i mean look at the new tensor 4 chip also with performance issue but will be fixed as always or optimised. Which is why i rather coy don't release phone yearly but profits and stakeholders (not us) are more impt
How was ur 802 experience? Is it stable?

MangoCAT

How was ur 802 experience? Is it stable?
Setup was simple and bought only when singpass ibanking was code green le
no QOL issues like OS aggressively killing background process (Cough xiaomi battery saver) and great battery life not on battery saver. (66 pages thread le and no one complain much - trust me I read too de cos don't believe in spending for phone)
OS is snappy even after migrating all my apps/game. idle drain was good on 8.02. Even on 8.30 is good enough - i posted a picture of my SOT le
Is a good OS as it only takes up 20gb and usable ram is sufficient on my 12/256. I would have gone for 16/512 but going for the cheapest i can do for my budget.

You say de - my opinion is for using this as second phone is overkill le for me. But i am inclined for a foldable next time as using tablet+phone.

My reason for buying is cos dad phone pai le. The only complain i have is more of image processing of the camera, takes time to get used to. Gcam is coming to oneplus 12 le so have to wait for optimisation.

The main reason why i say wait for pixel 10 is cos google design their own chipset and is not a clone of samsung at all. However, the chip will still be on the Samsung architecture( I saw your pixel post - simple term is floor plan). In overall term is still samsung technology designed by google themselves.

If in need of a good valued phone properly reviewed, I recommend this cos i use this. Most people on youtube return it cos it's curved. That's why i say got money buy s24U

sry for TLDR

MangoCAT

I think we don't frequent oneplus community page de so is better to go to reddit oneplus12 for a holistic view

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.