Eight Telecom discussion thread

Habrosus

go to woodlands hdb block overlooking causeway and try lor. manually switch over to roam. hopefully malsysian signal can reach across
Woodlands Waterfront park can get Maxis. I was there last week, happened somewhere near where the new train bridge joins our side. :s13:

loganrunning

Woodlands Waterfront park can get Maxis. I was there last week, happened somewhere near where the new train bridge joins our side. :s13:

good place to test out roaming :ROFLMAO:

the other good test location is east coast park. often will end up roaming to indonesia :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

loganrunning

bro, you sounds from telco industry leh.. knowledgeable:D
no lah, just lowly tech

jsut quite unlucky if cannot receive otp after porting in

i was lucky, ported-in (from st postpaid) no problems. started around 0030. random check at 0300, already ported in, tested all good, including otp from eight to login to account

the bro with otp problems is @TyL3r_DuRd3n . hope it's solved after escalation.

Habrosus

good place to test out roaming :ROFLMAO:

the other good test location is east coast park. often will end up roaming to indonesia :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Must agree for East Coast Park. I was at the then road safety park with some friends, and made a quick call to one who's across at the other end. Kena Indonesia IDD call charge! :s13:

jeffyap78

Read from fb comments that someone port in to esim,but 2 weeks still not yet port over and another one old telco already cut but 8 telco still temp line. Got so jialat meh? Wanted to sign also scare

loganrunning

Must agree for East Coast Park. I was at the then road safety park with some friends, and made a quick call to one who's across at the other end. Kena Indonesia IDD call charge! :s13:

kenna a few times to Indonesia and Malaysia. pain teaches lessons, so my "roaming" is turned off unless i travel. and then, i have those "huh? oh yah...." moments when i turn on the hp after landing :ROFLMAO:

loganrunning

Read from fb comments that someone port in to esim,but 2 weeks still not yet port over and another one old telco already cut but 8 telco still temp line. Got so jialat meh? Wanted to sign also scare

to be fair, it happens to all telcos, not just eight. just another datapoint, it took me 1 week to exit gomo.

for porting in to eight, scroll back several pages, for best practices and success stories.

of course, "safest" option is not to port out ;)

TyL3r_DuRd3n

the bro with otp problems is @TyL3r_DuRd3n . hope it's solved after escalation.
Still not yet resolved.
they are asking me to give me more time.
basically i cannot receive any overseas number, non +65.
I sent sms from my overseas numbers and sent to three to four other eight subscribers, all no receive.
Escalated the case when i went to ubi but no luck up to now.

~sabaisabai~

you from which telco? make sure nric match and no outstanding balance. heard that simba required 7 days before expiry date if want porting. check with your current telco what's the tnc first

~sabaisabai~

Still not yet resolved.
they are asking me to give me more time.
basically i cannot receive any overseas number, non +65.
I sent sms from my overseas numbers and sent to three to four other eight subscribers, all no receive.
Escalated the case when i went to ubi but no luck up to now.

means not your number having issue. basically eight cannot receive overseas sms?

loganrunning

that is very strange, esp on a paid plan. sounds like backend problem.

going from the anecdata here, eight may have backend/provisioning issues. like cannot get otp from eight after porting in, receiving overseas sms etc.

best to escalate - fastest reported escalation seems to be at ubi.

Thinking a bit during tea break, it may not necessarily be a backend problem.

@wulu1_69 what phone are u using?

when roaming, your phone needs to be on the roaming partner's supported VoLTE handset list.

I assume you have no problems with VoLTE enabled in sg (when on eight), and that it is only in JB.

What you can do is to check Maxis or U Mobile, what are their supported handsets.
if your handset is not suported but has VoLTE capability built-in, then you probably won't be able to call out/receive calls, but you may be able to send/receive SMS. The telco will usually tell you to "upgrade" your handset.

I know, technology is supposed to make our life easier, but small things like this are a pain.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.