YTD 2026 Networth tracking thread

DevilPlate

revhappy

Limster last time shared before as well….too bad don’t have any sgd hedged types.

So end up i whack 5/10y SGS after maxing SSB and then accumulated a fair bit of IDTL primarily as a hedge for my US equity portfolio.

Blackswan event happen, i will sell all IDTL and buy VWRA/QQQ
That is very smart of you👍

highsulphur

Limster last time shared before as well….too bad don’t have any sgd hedged types.

So end up i whack 5/10y SGS after maxing SSB and then accumulated a fair bit of IDTL primarily as a hedge for my US equity portfolio.

for me I just bought more MBH since mid 2023

homer123

why IDTL and not TLT? TLT has more liquidity

d5dude

Cumulative return should be TWR, not MWR (default setting in IBKR).

So whether money is pumped in or not, can be double-edged sword:
  • TWR < benchmark if bad decisions are made,
  • TWR > benchmark if good decisions are made.
Since Adam Khoo's cumulative TWR (dark blue line 180%) > benchmark (SPX, green line 120%), that's basically good performance.

embed

The return has to be judged in a context as mentioned above, cannot be judged in isolation.

After long and deep thought, I realise the below:

Regarding the peak value in 2021, he mainly add or rotates between holdings and don't go 100% cash at all, then it means he will NEVER realise the full value of the portfolio as cash in 2021.

So for this strategy of staying forever invested in markets, where supposedly it incurs less opportunity cost than buying and selling frequently (trading), the start and end point for evaluation has to be very long, i.e. decades. Example would be: start work and invest at 25 years old, retire at 55 years old (total: 30 years).

Then peak portfolio values in between actually don't really matter. Hence, it is fruitless for me to point out that the drawdown in 2022 is as large as the profits gained from Covid bubble since it will never become cash.
@d5dude, any comments about this as you are also doing something like this, staying fully invested while rotating between different assets?

My portfolio is mostly 60/40, but I do hold cash instead of bonds when yields fall too low. Singapore's long term average inflation since 1961 is 2.6%, locking in bond duration when yields go under that doesnt make a whole lot of sense to me.

highsulphur

My portfolio is mostly 60/40, but I do hold cash instead of bonds when yields fall too low. Singapore's long term average inflation since 1961 is 2.6%, locking in bond duration when yields go under that doesnt make a whole lot of sense to me.
I need to remember this. To convert some bonds to high yield cash account when the yield is too low to avoid the similar sell off of the rate cuts of 2022/23

bo_tak_chek_bbfa

Liquid net worth finally exceeded 400k which was faster than expected.

Total net worth exceeded 600k too. Hopefully the next 400k would come fast too ... and yes I am BBFA with financially sound parents that's why I can save so much if you wondering :o @sohguanh

d9_lives

Liquid net worth finally exceeded 400k which was faster than expected.

Total net worth exceeded 600k too. Hopefully the next 400k would come fast too ... and yes I am BBFA with financially sound parents that's why I can save so much if you wondering :o @sohguanh

Maximize and optimize it -> Find and marry a high earning wife.

d9_lives

It can go the other way too wife see you many monies marry you then pester you for monies help her family side. So keeping single is best choice.

I didn't suggest anyone to marry a liability.
I said, find and marry a "high earning wife".
Double engines are better, faster, more powerful than single.

sohguanh

I didn't suggest anyone to marry a liability.
I said, find and marry a "high earning wife".
Double engines are better, faster, more powerful than single.
High earning wife so easy to find and they so easy see you ok har? Sometimes we must see ourselves in front of the mirror leh. So having own ability to earn monies is best no need see mirror. Young man got strong teeth no need eat soft rice. Me young seniors maybe need as teeth kosong liao but then need check mirror to pass first.

d9_lives

High earning wife so easy to find and they so easy see you ok har? Sometimes we must see ourselves in front of the mirror leh. So having own ability to earn monies is best no need see mirror. Young man got strong teeth no need eat soft rice. Me young seniors maybe need as teeth kosong liao but then need check mirror to pass first.

Bro, It's easy if you're not a fugly. 😎
You've choices, date some and pick the best.

I didn't suggest anyone to eat soft rice.
What does she bring to the table? Is she an asset or a liability?

The way you described about the money grabbing wife (and your children), it seems to me that you've committed a series of bad life decisions.
Care to share? We all can learn from your mistakes.

Life is too short to condemn yourself to a lifetime of servitude. Be smart, cut your losses.

highsulphur

Bro, It's easy if you're not a fugly. 😎
You've choices, date some and pick the best.

I didn't suggest anyone to eat soft rice.
What does she bring to the table? Is she an asset or a liability?

The way you described about the money grabbing wife (and your children), it seems to me that you've committed a series of bad life decisions.
Care to share? We all can learn from your mistakes.

Life is too short to condemn yourself to a lifetime of servitude. Be smart, cut your losses.
Everyone is a liability or potential liability to him
Parents
Siblings
Children
Spouse
Parents in law
Siblings in laws

Everyone is out to drain him dry. Best is to stay alone forever

d9_lives

Everyone is a liability of potential liability to him
Parents
Siblings
Children
Spouse
Parents in law
Siblings in laws

Everyone is out to drain him dry. Best is to stay alone forever

Well...that sucks.
But hey, at least he can see himself in the mirror and says "I don't eat soft rice" over and over.

@sohguanh hang in there.
Your life is a result of the choices you make.
If you don't like your life and the situation, now is the right time to start making better choices.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.