[GVGT] A hawker meal is 0.1% of SG median monthly income, in other countries it’s 0.26%

iceblendedchoc

And how many people have median income and above? How many people have below median income ? How many people do they have to feed? At what life stage are these people? Why do we have people with no brains in parliament raising things that are not well covered to scrutiny!

jerichoo

might as well use 30c plain rice to represent a meal

then it's 0.01^

carey

And how many people have median income and above? How many people have below median income ? How many people do they have to feed? At what life stage are these people? Why do we have people with no brains in parliament raising things that are not well covered to scrutiny!
Median by definition is the exact centre of a data range

So theoretically 50% are above and 50% are below that

But I doubt that tells the whole story as well

A simple number like that doesn't have the nuances like you rightly mentioned - they don't take into account of the other stuff that can distort the actual spending power

Mechafanboy

Median includes PRs. Last time, oppo asked for a breakdown of the statistics, our dear MoM ministar claimed that such a move would harm social compact. And yet this joker, still wants to quote median.

This is classic gaslighting.

Quala98

i get it that this guy opens a hawker center at one-north. Or is he?

but did he even eat from there...

weng0202

In Singapore, dual income + 20 years loan tenure can only get you a tiny leasehold flat.
In many other countries, it's enough to get a freehold landed property.

Cost to get a car in Sg is enough to buy 2 or more cars in other countries.

See.. I can cherry pick as well.
For the two examples, you want govt to just give out land cheaply and then we have not enough land to build other infrastructure and too many cars on the roads resulting in hours of jams on the road?

charleslee1989

if $3.5 is0.1%, That is 0.1% of the low income

They keep importing the wealthy into singapore. Keep bumping up the median income. So they can pat themselves on their asses and tell the world they raised up the income median to the world.
While the middle and lower income bracket keeps getting squeezed until nothing left

Well, I dunno which dish they use to get that 0.1% lol.......

As for your second part, that is also the reason why the ruling party dun want to openly trumpet the gini ratio in Singapore lol because it is quite ugly before the CDC vouchers lololol....

charleslee1989

Between the PM and myself, the median income is 2M per annum.

Just saying :s8:
Apparently, if there is an even number in the pool size, then they will take the arithmetic average of the two numbers closest to the middle number.

Dun say PM lah........If you put 5 Minister of State ( with their MP allowances) and 5 BBFA EDMWers together, the median will also be high lololol....

chaiscool

In Singapore, dual income + 20 years loan tenure can only get you a tiny leasehold flat.
In many other countries, it's enough to get a freehold landed property.

Cost to get a car in Sg is enough to buy 2 or more cars in other countries.

See.. I can cherry pick as well.
Moi don't understand sinkie obsession with car. Tiny island yet everyone kpkb car expensive like they somehow think it's physically possible for majority to drive.

If got millions of car in road, then jam will kpkb why gov never stop this.

ZETMAN

Median includes PRs. Last time, oppo asked for a breakdown of the statistics, our dear MoM ministar claimed that such a move would harm social compact. And yet this joker, still wants to quote median.

This is classic gaslighting.
but if such a move is missing, it is harming my IQ.

between harming social compact, and my IQ, I vote for harming social impact

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.