Why are Singaporeans so entitled and self-centered?

nyvrem

Spend more time in Japan then? Or outside of SG?

Bro @nyvrem opened my eyes to how the clever successful SGreans live. They hop around all over the world. Is a good way.

bro sinkies pay money for certification of entitlement

of course must be entitled leh

:o:o:o

Mochazzz

Just kena horn by red mazda for going too slow in carpark... Was going 25 to 30km/h in 20km/h zone. How ah?

jq75

6a00e5509ea6a18834022ad3a71a2e200d-800wi

Mochazzz

Small thing like that also must escalate, bring my point lor... Time to scrap my 5 yr old car then.

Thinking of moving to pulau ubin and ride bicycle.

neutralph

Take public transport must chiong to be the first to board and disregard others along the way. During peak periods always crowd near exits instead of moving in to let more people board. All must chiong for the empty seats,

On the roads always chionging and overtaking like rushing to someone's funeral, even if there's a red light in front and there's no point to drive so recklessly. When someone signals to move into their lane, many would accelerate even faster to not allow this. If someone makes a minor mistake on the road, horn until like no tomorrow, but if ownself make mistake, then it's just an honest mistake ma.

Came across too many cases of Singaporeans being rude and demanding to service staff, speaking to them in a very condescending tone when their expectations or special requests are not met. Be it in F&B, retail, transport or elsewhere, and sadly not just within Singapore but when they are overseas too. Even for things beyond control of service staff.

Comparing and competing with one another in all aspects of life, always preaching to other people on having to make the best or right decisions from their own perspective else be looked down upon.

Everything can also complain until no tomorrow.

How come like that?
The pot calling the kettle black?

zoossh

Not another thread for foreigners with no allegiance to their own country, no allegiance to Singapore, but want to have equal or more privileges in Singapore and feel bitter about it.

neuroaxis

Take public transport must chiong to be the first to board and disregard others along the way. During peak periods always crowd near exits instead of moving in to let more people board. All must chiong for the empty seats,

On the roads always chionging and overtaking like rushing to someone's funeral, even if there's a red light in front and there's no point to drive so recklessly. When someone signals to move into their lane, many would accelerate even faster to not allow this. If someone makes a minor mistake on the road, horn until like no tomorrow, but if ownself make mistake, then it's just an honest mistake ma.

Came across too many cases of Singaporeans being rude and demanding to service staff, speaking to them in a very condescending tone when their expectations or special requests are not met. Be it in F&B, retail, transport or elsewhere, and sadly not just within Singapore but when they are overseas too. Even for things beyond control of service staff.

Comparing and competing with one another in all aspects of life, always preaching to other people on having to make the best or right decisions from their own perspective else be looked down upon.

How come like that?
Just live and let live TS. I have learned not to think too much into these behaviours.

From my bus ride experience, not only boomers are the ones rushing to board, I have also seen secondary students doing the same on several occasions. Then, there are commuters who hog the aisle seats while leaving the window seats vacant even though the bus is obviously crowded.

I remember taking a flight to Jakarta for business with a colleague. He is the kiasu type so he rushed to board the plane towards his seat to quickly store his carry-on baggage. While doing so, he accidentally knocked into an Indonesian passenger and that man told my colleague, "Please be careful and take it easy. The plane is not leaving yet." I just kept quiet and yes I sniggered.

Mochazzz

Just live and let live TS. I have learned not to think too much into these behaviours.

From my bus ride experience, not only boomers are the ones rushing to board, I have also seen secondary students doing the same on several occasions. Then, there are commuters who hog the aisle seats while leaving the window seats vacant even though the bus is obviously crowded.

I remember taking a flight to Jakarta for business with a colleague. He is the kiasu type so he rushed to board the plane towards his seat to quickly store his carry-on baggage. While doing so, he accidentally knocked into an Indonesian passenger and that man told my colleague, "Please be careful and take it easy. The plane is not leaving yet." I just kept quiet and yes I sniggered.

Truly well said and agreed!

kingsfall

Because of the pressure cooker and highly competitive and crowded environment

Duapui-ti

Then what do you do?
Just like my dad. When he doesn’t get what he wants from the airport staff or the polyclinic staff, he will shout at the staff with full confidence as though it’s a valid point and say “I am Singaporean you know?!”

And to me: Singapore big fug ah?

coyote

How come like that?

You are very daring to complain about Singaporeans in general.

Bweebweee

Upbringing. Sheltered life, and false sense of privilege.

What are we famous for? Kiasuness. In any other culture, thats not a positive trait, but we embrace it like its god. Singlish. no other asian
culture prides itself on a *******ised version of english like we do.

How can we be a good culture when we hype ourselves up with no substance and the only thing we strive for is being better than the person next to us, mainly hoping for others to go down .

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.