Budget IEM (Chit Chat)

BlackWing1977

Sorry what's the difference between cheap IEM and maybe example the Sony xm5? If quality is better I might try one cheap IEM
You asking me the difference between durian and orange wor... XM5 is wireless earbuds.. got all kind of tech in them... IEM basic one just the L and R earpiece and a cable only... how to compare... most people uses wireless earbuds for the convenience.. and even the active noise cancelling... regular IEM dun have that unless you pair it with wireless adapter that have active noise cancelling, to be honest would still be cheaper than some name brand earbuds... :sick:

zephxion

I used to buy IEMs back in the day (before chifi became a thing). My last IEM was the Shure SE846 but after using samsung tws earbuds, really hard to go back because of the convenience.

deokiejisoo

You asking me the difference between durian and orange wor... XM5 is wireless earbuds.. got all kind of tech in them... IEM basic one just the L and R earpiece and a cable only... how to compare... most people uses wireless earbuds for the convenience.. and even the active noise cancelling... regular IEM dun have that unless you pair it with wireless adapter that have active noise cancelling, to be honest would still be cheaper than some name brand earbuds... :sick:

So what about audio quality? Not talking about high end IEMs but with a similar priced brand name.

BlackWing1977

IEM the connector jin marfan leh. Nowadays where got devices that use that kind of connector? Also non wireless is jin marfan. Are the wires and connector necessary for sound quality?

I'll probably get myself a set of cans instead.
You mean wireless overhead headphone?? I see a lot of people wear that outside nowadays or else is wireless earbuds.

The main thing is that once the battery die or any of the circuit board die... either you send for repair if under warranty or you self repair if you are very handy... but most people probably just buy new one if out of warranty...

IEM on the other hand is extremely modular... and you got greater choice for the ear piece that can produce the sound signature you prefer... and not just have to adapt to whatever wireless earbuds and headphone you buy.

BlackWing1977

So what about audio quality? Not talking about high end IEMs but with a similar priced brand name.
No idea... these are the only IEMS I have... I started buying a pair from Amazon to replace my faulty Xiaomi Earphones...

But if you say you take the same budget for the XM5 and buy a same price IEMs from one of the name brand probably better sound quality lor.

61obrgV0AdL._AC_SL1200_.jpg

61HPssM4LFL._AC_SX679_.jpg

Sony IER-M9 in-Ear Monitor Headphones Black​

But Sony one quite expensive.. this pair is nearly 1.5k liao... :sick:

51WeZ6QHlAL._AC_SX679_.jpg

It has 5 Balanced Armature Drivers per side... :sick:

51xhThyYSvL._AC_SL1312_.jpg

Closer in price to the Sony Wireless earbuds would be Sennheiser IE300 around $300.

71V3tqowvYL._AC_SL1500_.jpg
51hx7Gu5NtL._AC_SL1280_.jpg

BlackWing1977

IEM the connector jin marfan leh. Nowadays where got devices that use that kind of connector? Also non wireless is jin marfan. Are the wires and connector necessary for sound quality?

I'll probably get myself a set of cans instead.
Got lar.. most people who play with IEMs will pair it with a dongle with type-C to the phone then with a 3.5mm jack for the IEMs.... for me I uses Creative SXFI AMP or FiiO KA13 DAC AMP if I want to pair with phone.

amp_hand_size.jpg
KA13-1__22566.1725864481.jpg

Or else a simple dongle like the below will work also.

41kWxn5uEaL.__AC_SX300_SY300_QL70_ML2_.jpg

TimsTom

Basically you can call them earphones... except the line between regular earphone and IEM have blurred long ago.. not sure if you remember the earliest earphone are flat.. and does not goes inside your ear canal at all... they simply sit on the outside of your ears be squeezing itself on the outer ears. But nowadays most earphones or earbuds or IEM all have this design that actually insert the ear tips into the ear canal itself.

sg-11134201-7rffv-m3kte2z3ien1ea.webp

These are still available but they are the minority nowadays, even the free earphones that came with handphone can look like IEM.
sg-11134207-7rep5-m1nymziovvp9a3.webp

Basically IEM are called In Ear Monitors... typically are used by musician on a stage to tune out certain instrument with a receiver so that they can follow the music better. But nowadays they are often used by regular people for music.

I did not show because all my set are attached with upgraded cable and mostly 3rd party ear tips.. that can range from $9.50 a pair to $17 a pair, cables can be like $11+ to $14+.

But if you are talking about just the basic IEM and whatever that came with it in its original packaging... ranges from under $20 to $130++.... none of them are above $150.

With the Castor Pro at the cheapest at $19++ (no mic and no add on), then ZS10 Pro from Amazon SG which can be as low as $19++ during black friday discount but normal price on Shopee is more closer to $40+ to $50+ depending on seller. Next is PRX is around $50++, then CCA Hydro is either $130+++ or $140+++ if you chose the upgraded cable version but the one I am showing is not that upgrade silver cable, I put on a different cable that can change the connector from 3.5mm to 4.4mm balanced.
Wow v detailed explanation.

I suggest those who are unsure... can pick up one under $20 to play with it... low costs low risk mar.. :sick:

9YRoBf9.png

Just dunno when will I ever see this price again... by the time this discount pop up, I already bought 2 pairs from Amazon at $30++ to $20++... :sick:
Not v ex leh. Not bad. So it sounds better than normal earphones?

BlackWing1977

Wow v detailed explanation.

Not v ex leh. Not bad. So it sounds better than normal earphones?
Heck a lot better than my Xiaomi Earphones that I bought many ears ago... this gave me the same feel when I first bought a TTPOD from Taobao many years back.. but that pair while having awesome audio quality the build is subpar.. it was simply glued together and after a accident of me sitting on it.. it broke apart. And most earphone back then dun have detachable cable as most earphones uplorry because of the breakage in the cable wiring.

I got a pair of earphone that I loved from Takstar not expensive but I love its looks because the outer shelf is made of real wood that have a nice smell but in the end up uplorry because the super cheap and thin cable broke.... and affected the sound... but modern IEM all came with detachable cable that you can replace or upgrade.

If you love bass... I would strongly suggest getting KZ Castor Pro for under $20.

cn-11134207-7ras8-m224sy17w30s14.webp

But fitting is also another issues.. if you got small ear and ear canal.. this might be huge.. and some people do have fitting issues with it.

BlackWing1977

If really got smaller ears and want to try can go for KZ Saga heard good things about it.. and it is not too expensive also.

sg-11134201-7rdwc-m1cwvkgl6dwx9b.webp

About $15 to $16 only... it has balanced or bass version if you like bass just choose the bass version lor.

Krabs.

when use for awhile will have green goo inside the silicone :o because i everyday dig ear until ear canal damage got liquid and blood inside ... it turn into green color maybe because of bacteria

the grill part quite fragile , tried to glue back using glue and tweezer .... drop again try second time the grill broke into half

BlackWing1977

when use for awhile will have green goo inside the silicone :o because i everyday dig ear until ear canal damage got liquid and blood inside ... it turn into green color maybe because of bacteria

the grill part quite fragile , tried to glue back using glue and tweezer .... drop again try second time the grill broke into half
There are some IEM out there that you can replace the nozzle as well... :ROFLMAO:

Some came with few sets of nozzle you can replace that will change the sound signature.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.