Why everyone is doing so well while I am the only one struggling?

ahboy82

Wow you are 5-6 years older than me only but so many times richer

I damm jialat close to mid 40s still achieve nothing in life :(
Moi too, i veey mediocre when compared to moi peers, but considered hokay compared to some others. I noe i shd nt b comparing, but how nt to?

All moi peers r either big shots in banks, or mncs n tech companies while i stuck as lowly swe in a dying industry. Life is so unfair :(

dpsk3000

Those people earning 25k per month or 10k per month or 8k per month and married with family have their own struggles on daily basis too! Believe me, ask them! Is not easy to simply earn that amount of money 💵 is very difficult and tough hard work need to work smart too and use connections and resources/networking super draining!

this point I have to agree. at different net worth and pay grade, you wear a mask in front of your peers, colleagues, friends and competitions. you have to talk the league. it is tiring at times. at 50k per month and passive income of 10k a month, you will still have the sandwich problem, and if you let the cat out of the bag that you make alot of money, the expectation of support will be different too. give too little, black face, give too much, want more. in this life, I would suggest that each and everyone live below their means, and when you have the money, keep your mouth shut. no relative, parents, ideally wife, should know about your real net worth. if the wife knows, the best is to make sure she is with you for real and not have a relationship outside. money is the root of all evil. even good friends, siblings will ask you for money. in fact, when I made my first million, you sibling ask me to buy a car for him. I was like WTF? so there you have it, be careful what you asked for. at 25k, you will have 25k problem, your tax is 50k a year. your kids will ask for more pocket money, etc. if you stay in landed, you will also burn very much to maintain and deco to ensure when you host people, they see different design compared to last visit. it is never ending. very tiring...

as for the work smart, use connection idea - please remember, its mutual, if you got nothing to offer, your upstream connection will ask you to F off next time. for working smart, all ah neh from South Asia already know how to do it before rote sinkie start to. live below your means. the next decade will SUCK big time.

pmetpmet

Why everyone is doing so well while I am the only one struggling?

I see so many people earning 20k per month.

Some maybe less but still have 10k per month if not 8k per month. Then they are all married with kids. But I am left alone like bbfa. How?
Have you tried trading? Do you always make loss on trading? We need sexperts like you, please share your trades here :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Huat ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

chaiscool

Have you tried trading? Do you always make loss on trading? We need sexperts like you, please share your trades here :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

Huat ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Play option with leverage margin account, all in haha then can either tio pok or huat

westtraveller

You're right. I'm 48 this year.

I like to push my age to be -1 sometimes because my birthday is in December. Can I have permission to do that? 😅

My first basic program was something kiddish but it was enough to make me marvel at computers. I did not write a whole operating system or something like Flappy Bird. I was 6 for crying out loud. It was just some Hello World equivalent and some instructions to make the keyboard beep something that sounded like music.

Those were just simple lines typed on a keyboard connected to a 9-inch Sony Monochrome CRT TV and also a tape recorder to save my programs.

The following year when I was 7, I was enrolled into CAL and learned LOGO. That was at B1 of Bukit Timah Plaza.

I had an 8086 XT compatible at home with 640k RAM, 2 x 5.25" floppy disks, and 4 color CGA graphics. I enjoyed playing AD&D games like Champions of Krynn and Pool of Radiance. And also Lucasart games like Loom and OMG the 8 friggings disks Secret of Monkey Island. Excruciatingly slow on an ancient 86. :ROFLMAO:

My primary school even had computer-assisted learning with Mini Computers (Not the regular Micro Computers), which made lessons fun... somewhat. At least it made mathematics slightly more bearable.

My affiliated secondary school even had Macs, where I hated the interface (WTF is Finder?!) but loved playing Fool's Errand in the lab (which was weirdly permitted. The first time I held a mouse... life-changing!

There was also a whole lab of 386s and a few 486SX (with COMPACT DISC DRIVES!) donated by Wearnes Computer, where I was caught playing Simcity with my own 3.5" floppy and booked for detention.

I can furnish more details on my experience with computers if you would like to know more.

My next PC was the 586... or the Pentium, and what an upgrade that was from the 8086. 😍

Oh crap, it just dawned on me... I've been on the computer for over 40 years. 🤯

Must be ask… last time where got pri schools with computers. During this time few kids attended enrichment classes let alone programming ones. I never attended a single enrichment class.. no money.

dereth

Must be ask… last time where got pri schools with computers. During this time few kids attended enrichment classes let alone programming ones. I never attended a single enrichment class.. no money.
Clementi Town Primary School had some sort of MOE pilot program for it it the 80s. Your school did not have it doesn't meant it does not exist.

The computers are in a lab and those are mini computers. You don't run it like a regular micro computer. When it boots up, it connects to a mainframe-like system. All it does is run math programs. You just sit there and answer questions on it.

My programming class was a separate private lesson away from school. Have you even heard of the programming language LOGO? CAL conducted those. They were a subsidiary of Informatics and no longer exist today. I still have my certificates.

westtraveller

Clementi Town Primary School had some sort of MOE pilot program for it it the 80s. Your school did not have it doesn't meant it does not exist.

The computers are in a lab and those are mini computers. You don't run it like a regular micro computer. When it boots up, it connects to a mainframe-like system. All it does is run math programs. You just sit there and answer questions on it.

My programming class was a separate private lesson away from school. Have you even heard of the programming language LOGO? CAL conducted those. They were a subsidiary of Informatics and no longer exist today. I still have my certificates.

Exactly my point. My school is a regular neighbourhood school with none of those facilities. Your parents must have been early kiasu variety to send you at age 7 in the 80s to a special class.

dereth

Exactly my point. My school is a regular neighbourhood school with none of those facilities. Your parents must have been early kiasu variety to send you at age 7 in the 80s to a special class.
What are you talking about? You're 40+ and never heard of CTPS? No? Exactly! It's a PUBLIC NEIGHBOURHOOD SCHOOL.

The bloody school was picked because it was walking distance from my home! It's a freaking regular neighbourhood primary school! I even remember bringing $2.50 or $3.50 cash to school to pay the school fees.

MOE installed the computers after I was enrolled there. You have issues with MOE installing computers in the 80s in a neighbourhood primary school take it up with them!

Also I liked computers and requested to go to an external private computer class outside of school. My parents complied. Do you also have an issue with that??

born2fly

Who make 20k wow I didn't know I'm a loser also so does 98.5% of Singaporean

Teyemittisi

We go through different stage of life. Some stages are tougher. For the older ones, we’ve all been through those times. Things usually get better and a lot more better for some. Just need to tide over it

Mystyque

Being from the same era, I don't recall Clementi Town Primary School as a special school of any sorts.

juergenlam

From the way people talk and evaluate things, you know what they have been through. If a person keep talking positively, invalidate your experiences by saying things like "cannot be what", "how is that possible", believing that if you work hard things r possible, it shows that they nvr tio scaffold pipe up their xx until blood drip out. You can believe that life is fair and they probably get their bad parch sometime in the future. But obsessing on that make u gek xin only.

econ food

You're right. I'm 48 this year.

I like to push my age to be -1 sometimes because my birthday is in December. Can I have permission to do that? 😅

My first basic program was something kiddish but it was enough to make me marvel at computers. I did not write a whole operating system or something like Flappy Bird. I was 6 for crying out loud. It was just some Hello World equivalent and some instructions to make the keyboard beep something that sounded like music.

Those were just simple lines typed on a keyboard connected to a 9-inch Sony Monochrome CRT TV and also a tape recorder to save my programs.

The following year when I was 7, I was enrolled into CAL and learned LOGO. That was at B1 of Bukit Timah Plaza.

I had an 8086 XT compatible at home with 640k RAM, 2 x 5.25" floppy disks, and 4 color CGA graphics. I enjoyed playing AD&D games like Champions of Krynn and Pool of Radiance. And also Lucasart games like Loom and OMG the 8 friggings disks Secret of Monkey Island. Excruciatingly slow on an ancient 86. :ROFLMAO:

My primary school even had computer-assisted learning with Mini Computers (Not the regular Micro Computers), which made lessons fun... somewhat. At least it made mathematics slightly more bearable.

My affiliated secondary school even had Macs, where I hated the interface (WTF is Finder?!) but loved playing Fool's Errand in the lab (which was weirdly permitted. The first time I held a mouse... life-changing!

There was also a whole lab of 386s and a few 486SX (with COMPACT DISC DRIVES!) donated by Wearnes Computer, where I was caught playing Simcity with my own 3.5" floppy and booked for detention.

I can furnish more details on my experience with computers if you would like to know more.

My next PC was the 586... or the Pentium, and what an upgrade that was from the 8086. 😍

Oh crap, it just dawned on me... I've been on the computer for over 40 years. 🤯
Chu now think back.. u got buy Sega or nittno games?
And buy any windows 95 computer?
Wad Yr first ipod brought?

Hyruga

You so worried about money, then work harder? These people carry themself and are quite smart at working so they can get those good paying jobs.
It's not just about the money. It's the power struggle. Basically no power at work yet always kena more work.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.