SIMBA Fibre Broadband

MrSkyBaby

No issues with that. SIMBA is using ONT so it is comaptible with all the consumer routers on the market. The only routers not compatible are those Singtel issued WiFi 5/ WIFi 6 routers with built-in Singtel VLAN profile.

But if you are looking at more cost effective model you may look at slightly lower end model -- TP-Link Archer BE805 (no 2.5G ports, no built-in OOkla SpeedTest utility). M1/MR users are dumping them in Carousell and the price is below S$360 and it will drop further to S$300 or even lower.

I bought one Archer BE805 at S$300 from M1 user recently.
Hi I bought TPLink HB710 from StarHub for 10Gbps router, $192.
What's the difference compare to BE805 $300?

xiaofan

Hi I bought TPLink HB710 from StarHub for 10Gbps router, $192.
What's the difference compare to BE805 $300?

I have both. TP-Link HB710 from Starhub at S$192 and TP-Link Archer BE805 at S$300.

HB710 at S$192 is a superb buy for its price. It is supposed to be only for Starhub customers but I understand some Starhub shops do not check the status of the buyer.

Benefits of TP-Link Archer BE805 versus HB710.
1) Main benefit of Archer BE805 is better wireless coverage.
2) TP-Link Archer BE805 also has much faster CPU so you may get better performance when using VPN server/client.
3) TP-Link Archer BE805 is a consumer model and it supports Wireguard VPN server/client whereas HB710 does not support Wireguard VPN server/client. TP-Link service provider models like EB810v and HB710 may also receive slower updates and bug fixes compared to consumer models. HB710 is also supposed to be mainly used by Starhub or MR customers, even though there are reports that you can still get FW updates outside SH/MR networks.

MrSkyBaby

Just now NLT guy came my house said the FTP is not on the wall. My house is in the renovation.
Ask me to tell Simba to request relocation.
Anyone face similar situation before?

Nakedtoes

No issues with that. SIMBA is using ONT so it is comaptible with all the consumer routers on the market. The only routers not compatible are those Singtel issued WiFi 5/ WIFi 6 routers with built-in Singtel VLAN profile.

But if you are looking at more cost effective model you may look at slightly lower end model -- TP-Link Archer BE805 (no 2.5G ports, no built-in OOkla SpeedTest utility). M1/MR users are dumping them in Carousell and the price is below S$360 and it will drop further to S$300 or even lower.

I bought one Archer BE805 at S$300 from M1 user recently.
Bro how's yr BE805? Mine previous wifi7 tplink router is a piece of sh1t. How's the 805? MLO work? 320mhz stable?

xiaofan

Bro how's yr BE805? Mine previous wifi7 tplink router is a piece of sh1t. How's the 805? MLO work? 320mhz stable?

What is your previous TP-Link WiFi 7 router?

I think it is okay in terms of wireless performance. 320MHz channel bandwidth is working fine for me at close range. MLO works but no improvement on the close range compared to just using 6GHz band. I am using Intel BE200 chipset based WiFi 7 adapter (Acer Swift Go 14 2024 model).

My main router is OpenWRT on Intel N100 mini PC, so I do not need to care too much about the FW features (but still the FW features are okay for typical use cases).

My detailed testing results here (Page 7 and Page 8)
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ter-and-deco-wifi-6e-7-mesh-solution.6953682/

BTW, the record WiFi 7 speed in this forum is using TP-Link Archer BE805 (Mediatek Filogic 880 chipset) + Oppo Find X8 Pro (Mediatek Dimensity 9400 chipset), above 4.9Gbps at close range, by jasonho. Apparently MLO works well in this combination. Without MLO, it is nearly impossible to reach such speed.

Nakedtoes

What is your previous TP-Link WiFi 7 router?

I think it is okay in terms of wireless performance. 320MHz channel bandwidth is working fine for me at close range. MLO works but no improvement on the close range compared to just using 6GHz band. I am using Intel BE200 chipset based WiFi 7 adapter (Acer Swift Go 14 2024 model).

My main router is OpenWRT on Intel N100 mini PC, so I do not need to care too much about the FW features (but still the FW features are okay for typical use cases).

My detailed testing results here (Page 7 and Page 8)
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...ter-and-deco-wifi-6e-7-mesh-solution.6953682/

BTW, the record WiFi 7 speed in this forum is using TP-Link Archer BE805 (Mediatek Filogic 880 chipset) + Oppo Find X8 Pro (Mediatek Dimensity 9400 chipset), above 4.9Gbps at close range, by jasonho. Apparently MLO works well in this combination. Without MLO, it is nearly impossible to reach such speed.
BE550 lor.. Mlo enabled router will go bonkers... 6ghz not stable.. Can disappear few days later.. U using same ssd for 2.4,5 and 6ghz? Or individual ssd?

xiaofan

When do you think will the next promo for 10G BB be?

Just wondering what is your expectations of 10Gbps plan pricing. I tend to think it will not go down much than S$29.99 per 30days any time soon. WC 10 Gbps is at S$28.99 per month but with Installation Fee $54.50.

The price cannot go down much because there is a per user fee for the ISPs to pay to NLT, about S$12 per month.

Rather other ISPs may come out with higher pricing 10Gbps plan with better and better WiFi 7 router bundle moving forward. So the effective pricing may be more and more competitive if you factor in the cost of WiFi 7 router.

Example is M1 10Gbps plan at S$63.90 per month with two Asus ZenWiFi BT10 units (Asus listed price at S$1299, Carousell price at around S$800 but may drop to S$720 soon). So if you get two Amazon eeroMax 7 from SIMBA at S$399 * 2 = S$798, the pricing becomes closer. Some M1 users got S$13 OFF every month 10Gbps recontract offer which makes it even better (but M1 6Gbps recontract offer is even better at S$15 OFF every month from regular pricing).

BTW, if you look at 5Gbps/6Gbps plans from Singtel/Starhub/M1, they can be very cost competitive, thanks to the competitions from SIMBA/WC.

And to most users (average users or power users), there are no real user differences between 5Gbps/6Gbps compared to 10Gbps, in most use cases.

Nakedtoes

Individual SSIDs, 2.4GHz, 5GHz, 6GHz and MLO, total 4 SSIDs now.
Thanks.. So far u use for how long.. Any issues so far? Might get a set to play myself.. I knew 6ghz is faster but short distance. So u set 6ghz for mobile all the way?

xiaofan

Thanks.. So far u use for how long.. Any issues so far? Might get a set to play myself.. I knew 6ghz is faster but short distance. So u set 6ghz for mobile all the way?

Not very long, just got it on 27 Jan 2025. So I cannot vouch for its stability. This is especially true since I rotate the use of Archer BE805 and HB710 for testing purposes.

I do not have any mobile phone with WiFi 7 features. My main testing for the 6GHz band and MLO features are done with two Acer Swift Go 14 2024 model laptops (Intel BE200 chipset based triband WiFi 7 adapter, with 320MHz channel bandwidth support on 6GHz channel) and two USB triband WiFi 7 BE6500 adapters on my older Acer Swift 3 laptop early 2021 model (no 320MHz channel bandwidth support on the 6GHz band).

But @jasonho seems to have used it for quite some time, maybe he can share more experiences. But again he is using another main router before the Archer BE805.

Nakedtoes

Not very long, just got it on 27 Jan 2025. So I cannot vouch for its stability. This is especially true since I rotate the use of Archer BE805 and HB710 for testing purposes.

I do not have any mobile phone with WiFi 7 features. My main testing for the 6GHz band and MLO features are done with two Acer Swift Go 14 2024 model laptops (Intel BE200 chipset based triband WiFi 7 adapter, with 320MHz channel bandwidth support on 6GHz channel) and two USB triband WiFi 7 BE6500 adapters on my older Acer Swift 3 laptop early 2021 model (no 320MHz channel bandwidth support on the 6GHz band).

But @jasonho seems to have used it for quite some time, maybe he can share more experiences. But again he is using another main router before the Archer BE805.
Ok thanks alot..

Hamlau

Just wondering what is your expectations of 10Gbps plan pricing. I tend to think it will not go down much than S$29.99 per 30days any time soon. WC 10 Gbps is at S$28.99 per month but with Installation Fee $54.50.

The price cannot go down much because there is a per user fee for the ISPs to pay to NLT, about S$12 per month.

Rather other ISPs may come out with higher pricing 10Gbps plan with better and better WiFi 7 router bundle moving forward. So the effective pricing may be more and more competitive if you factor in the cost of WiFi 7 router.

Example is M1 10Gbps plan at S$63.90 per month with two Asus ZenWiFi BT10 units (Asus listed price at S$1299, Carousell price at around S$800 but may drop to S$720 soon). So if you get two Amazon eeroMax 7 from SIMBA at S$399 * 2 = S$798, the pricing becomes closer. Some M1 users got S$13 OFF every month 10Gbps recontract offer which makes it even better (but M1 6Gbps recontract offer is even better at S$15 OFF every month from regular pricing).

BTW, if you look at 5Gbps/6Gbps plans from Singtel/Starhub/M1, they can be very cost competitive, thanks to the competitions from SIMBA/WC.

And to most users (average users or power users), there are no real user differences between 5Gbps/6Gbps compared to 10Gbps, in most use cases.
I know Simba/WC already very cheap. Not expecting much lah just that I missed out on the end year and huat promos, so was wondering when is the next one.. If can save albeit a little bit, then why not? ヅ Anyway I've already signed up for SIMBA yesterday eventhough my 2G with VQ still ongoing till April fully paid (annually) but having issues on and off (too many devices). So, eagerly waiting for Monday's activation. Already bought Archer GE800 online for $600 ($800 at Challenger) - so far so good

kaon

Just signed up 10G Simba home broadband.
Opted out of the $39 "installation".
Requested "NLT activation appointment" are 18-19 Feb.

The existing FTP has 1 port in use for Starhub 1Gbps, which I plan to allow to expire at its contract end in mid-2025. The other port of the FTP is unoccupied.

Is my understanding correct?:
During the "NLT activation appointment", nobody has to enter the house. NLT would remotely activate the available port of the existing FTP, right?
Then the next day a delivery man will leave me a SIMBA ONT for me to self-install, the ONT delivery would be just like any other shopee delivery?

I got SIMBA emails (45min after submitting the appt timing requests), saying the installation type is "RECONNECT", so nobody will enter house. And there is a ONT collection email with a QR code, and https://simba.sg/ont-collect gives the locations and operation hours. It says "collect your ONT before your NLT Service Activation".

I plan to buy a TPLINK BE800. Bizgram has exstock $625. This will work right? I only need wired-10G routing function. Not going to use the wifi. EB810v seems to be around $420 on Carousell.

xiaofan

I plan to buy a TPLINK BE800. Bizgram has exstock $625. This will work right? I only need wired-10G routing function. Not going to use the wifi. EB810v seems to be around $420 on Carousell.

Yes, Archer BE800 will for sure work with SIMBA. SIMBA uses ONT so no problems with all the routers out there in the open market (only exceptions will be those SingTel issued 1Gbps only WiFi 5/6 routers or mesh nodes).

The price is rather steep though at S$625, especially when you can get TP-Link Archer BE805 (younger brother of Archer BE800 with a few features missing, like no 2.5G ports and no built-in OOkla SpeedTest app) at about S$300+ BNIB in Carousell, dumped by M1 users (and maybe MR users as well).

I just got one Archer BE805 from an M1 users at S$300.

Dongknows' quick take of Archer BE805 vs Archer BE800.
https://dongknows.com/tp-link-archer-be805-be19000-wi-fi-7-router-review/

Dongknows' review of Archer BE800.
https://dongknows.com/tp-link-archer-be800-be19000-wi-fi-7-router-review/

Hamlau

Just signed up 10G Simba home broadband.
Opted out of the $39 "installation".
Requested "NLT activation appointment" are 18-19 Feb.

The existing FTP has 1 port in use for Starhub 1Gbps, which I plan to allow to expire at its contract end in mid-2025. The other port of the FTP is unoccupied.

Is my understanding correct?:
During the "NLT activation appointment", nobody has to enter the house. NLT would remotely activate the available port of the existing FTP, right?
Then the next day a delivery man will leave me a SIMBA ONT for me to self-install, the ONT delivery would be just like any other shopee delivery?

I got SIMBA emails (45min after submitting the appt timing requests), saying the installation type is "RECONNECT", so nobody will enter house. And there is a ONT collection email with a QR code, and https://simba.sg/ont-collect gives the locations and operation hours. It says "collect your ONT before your NLT Service Activation".

They'll only need to enter your home if there's a problem connecting outside..In such a case, they'll seek entry on the day itself or otherwise will contact you to schedule an appointment.
I'm in the same boat as you. Previous VQ 2GB contract will only expire in April but already signed up with SIMBA few days ago. I got the Archer GE800 from SquareDealsSingapore via their Carousell shop for $620 - same day delivery.

Bieffe

Ok I've taken the plunge. Hope i don't regret cos ST and SH is really charging alot and always giving free TV that nobody watches. Free 3mths and 1st year 50% for EPL then back to normal charges. For years genna carrot.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.