whats the diff between mono and normal intake?

Spectre007

mono ish 完了完了完了bbq了.
normal ish 完了完了完了, the bbq了 part might or might not tio later.

Visor9999

Isn’t this the scheme to divide poor and normal people in NS

jq75

ts foreigner???

mono intake don haf anywhere to go, so they will find way to keng during BMT period or trying to post out of their unit. Once the unit got shortage of man power after POP, the unit will recruit people from tekong include JC/Poly people. I'm one of the suay one post to an unit that i don wan inititally for replacement. I think this is punishment to me, i trying to sian every potential chance to enter commander sch under leadership-batch scheme, in the end still kena xiong unit 😅 KNN~

Mono - your NS route already fixed
Normal - your NS route based on luck and performance.

Normal intake means still have chance to change your life, can try to qualify for ocs and be a satki officer

Mono intake means to no chance to change your life liao, your path in life is cast in stone, it’s the end
i always tot MONO is like specialized selection formation type.
ITE = Mono
JC Poly = Normal
this doesn't apply anymore

Emperor_Hippo

I see some here think that mono intake means can't get officer. You can definitely be one if you do well.
Mono intake doesn't mean tougher because it is unit dependent. You might get a more relaxed unit than in tekong. Tekong was quite strict when I was serving.
can but rare.

just remembered the first day being a lot of shouting of "ORD LOH" (I have zero idea what that meant since I was the first among the 3rd gen of my entire extended family to start NSF in SAF, so no one to guide me).

needed to maintain my sanity, so tried to journal before I sleep, but gave up after the 1st night cos the schedule was so damned packed and bedtime was enforced.

oh well, bad memories. :s13:

tomsss

for me, i prefer this kind of intake. ITBs

ckha02.jpg

BunnyPancake

From a thread posted in 2010
Know a guy from an 'elite unit' who served until 1+ year liao, then one day kenna injury during some exercise. Like some severe slipdisc. Then tio posted to clerical role in the same camp.

His bunkmates got tell someone (which later leaked to us) he is very haolian one and like to boast about his fitness. So some of them were happy when he got that 'accident'. Got one even told me they don't like him because he like to brag to everyone that he slept with his gf's best friends when she went overseas, but still judge others who go to KTV or fishtanks.

Anyway, in regards to your post that you quote someone, not really true if someone in elite unit gets kicked out... They will likely be posted to some other roles in the same camp (mess boy, clerk, FSM/CCO runner, .etc). I know a few cases where a few got 'integrity issues' (i.e: cheat IPPT) and they were kicked out and became storeman, signaller, mess boy, and such but still in the same camp.

BohemianSG

mono intake: ITE or below qualifications. posted to unit on enlistment day and stick with that unit. no chance go OCS or SCS

leadership intake: Poly/JC/uni qualification. posted to tekong and got chance go OCS or SCS

Wrong. Poly/JC do not go mono but does not mean lower than poly/jc go mono. Unless they have changed it.

twodragon

Mono means u already know ur unit.... for context u can count de.... From what moi know, moi batch is 42SAR mono, heng moi kena normal intake. (03/22 batch)

At the tekong ferry depending on the brochure they hand u, u will know whether u kena mono or not. From what moi hear, mono quite xiong compared to normal BMT.

But mono some ppl drop out, they will take from normal batch. Moi section mate after POP went to 42SAR even tho he normal intake (presumably replace ppl that OOC/OOT)

counting this way, 03/22 42SAR mono, means 03/24 will have another 42SAR mono... cuz 03/22 batch will ORD

Guards and infantry have their own mono too, can go find at SG national service sub reddit see enlistment date or visit the old threads to count.

Normal BMT is after BMT see where u go, vocational sch, sispec/SCS, OCS then they arrange u - infantry, signaller, storeman, artillery, combat medic, etc etc many many

virtualape

My time mono is go directly to unit. More siong based on what I went thru at sbmt and see them kena tekaned by csm. Maybe my csm was a sadist 😂

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.