[GPGT] WELLS True Tankless UV+ Water Dispenser - Initial review

Apparatus

Should look for NSF 53 for filters.

NSF/ANSI 42
Filters are certified to reduce aesthetic impurities such as chlorine and taste/odor. These can be point-of-use (under the sink, water pitcher, etc.) or point-of-entry (whole house) treatment systems.

NSF/ANSI 53
Filters are certified to reduce a contaminant with a health effect. Health effects are set in this standard as regulated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and Health Canada. Both standards 42 and 53 cover adsorption/filtration which is a process that occurs when liquid, gas or dissolved/suspended matter adheres to the surface of, or in the pores of, an adsorbent media. Carbon filters are an example of this type of product.

Mine is certified to NSF 42. For RO you'll need NSF 58 certification

crandfs

I have been looking hard at various tankless dispensers over the last couple of months with brands like Cuckoo, Sterra, Ruhens, Coral, Livingcare, Wells etc. I even have a spreadsheet made out comparing prices and features. Finally, I have settle on WELLS True Tankless UV+ water dispenser. The website is as follows

https://www.wellssingapore.com/water-dispenser/wells-tt-uv/

Tough questions to ask like

1) Should one get a RO system or just a water filter dispenser? Their PROS and CONS?
2) If just a water filter dispenser which brand/model to go for?
3) Is the RO/water filter dispenser certified to NSF 42 or 58(for RO)? Full certification or only certified to specific item(s) of the standard(s)?
4) What’s the cost of the RO/water filter dispenser and the annual filter replacement cost?
5) How much electricity/water is wasted for standby/water sterilization etc?
6) How much water is wasted for RO vs water filter dispenser?

Before proceeding I would like to point out why I need a water dispenser

For me my needs are

1) If I boil water at 7pm then the water remains hot the next morning at 5am when I take my breakfast. At 8am the water remains hot but not as hot as during 5am. The water is still suitable for making beverages but not that hot. If I drink at 5pm the water is warm but not suitable for making beverages i.e. not hot.
2) As I age, I’m afraid that I may not be able to carry the large hot kettle to fill up the thermos and to carry the thermos to its place on the far end of the countertop.
3) For boiling water over the stove I need 3 appliances – the hot water kettle, the thermos and the ambient water kettle.
4) Every time when boiling water must watch carefully when the water boils. There are occasions which I forgot that I was boiling water and upon my return the kettle was red hot

WELLS True Tankless UV+ Water Dispenser

PROS

1) Eliminate the use of 3 appliances
2) No worry of dropping the hot water kettle and/or thermos
3) No worry when the water will boil. No worry of kettle turning red hot due to my forgetfulness.
4) Can have hot/ambient/cold water anytime
5) 2 filters with 9 stages of filtration
6) Filters nano plastics up to 1nm. Nano particle size range from 1nm – 1000nm(1um). 1um to 5mm particle size is considered as microplastics.
7) NSF 42 certified for filters. Certification is on NSF website below
https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?Company=C0723290&Standard=042
8) Removes heavy metals like lead/arsenic/mercury/iron/copper/aluminium/cadmium and chlorine
9) TDS is 74mg/L. WHO standard is <1000mg/L. In fact, anything less than 300mg/L is considered excellent
10) Has alkaline filter. Makes pH of water from 8 - 9
11) Since it’s not a RO system there’s no added minerals (unless use alkaline filter) as the water is filtered only i.e. no removal of useful minerals
12) No wasted water. Yes, no water discharge to sink. No need to collect any waste water
13) No auto sterilization system means no wasted water and electricity
14) Use all SS tubing
15) Can have filtered water for washing/cooking through the addition of a portable water faucet
16) Has extended warranty package of $660 for 3 sets of filters and 3 yrs extended warranty
17) Can change filters yourself if you know how to. No need service staff from water dispenser company to do it
18) Made in Korea

CONS

1) High initial cost at $2158
2) Need to pay for filters yearly at $330. Comes with 1 set spare and 1 set installed upon purchase
3) Cannot remove fluoride and chloramine. Fluoride can remove by using RO system. At any rate, fluoride studies harmful to the body is still non-conclusive. Its water test report, which I read, did not mention chloramine nor monochloramine in its inorganic form. NSF 42 do not require the removal of chlorine and chloramine to be certified.
4) Additional portable water faucet for washing/cooking costs $50. Its portable faucet needs to drill for installation. You can get from Shopee those without the need to drill
5) No filter change indicator. If just use for drinking need to changer filters every 1-1/2 yearly. If includes washing/cooking would change filters every yearly
6) UV sterilization(every 2hrs) is for nozzle only. No system tubing UV sterilization since all tubing are SS. The rest are food safe BPA-free tubing
7) With no auto sterilization system water is stagnant inside system if say go on long holidays. Not suitable if go frequent overseas travels. If need to sterilize whole system have to pay for extra service of $60
8) Need extra electricity for cold water standby since compressor is running to keep the water cold. Has ECO mode to turn off compressor if cold water is not required to save standby electricity
9) Can only cook cup noodle. Cannot cook packaged noodle nor half-boiled eggs since max hot water temperature is 85 deg C
I think at that price, might as well order bottled water cheaper.

Sadisticnoob

Collect water means you have a sterilization system which kills bacteria and discharges the water out. The tubing used is not stainless steel and that's why UV is used to sterilize the system tubing
Does it matters ?

crandfs

And if you want to warm or boil the water without forgetting to turn off, you can get a small induction stove plus a timer that can be set to countdown and turn off automatically after you switch on your wall socket. I have these timers, work really well. Or if you don't want the timer, then most induction stove will allow you to set timer manually too, just don't forget to set timer each time.

Vassago

Mine is certified to NSF 42. For RO you'll need NSF 58 certification
NSF 42 is aesthetic only.

Filter purpose is to remove contamination
NSF 53 certified filters mean it confirmed can remove or minimize contamination up to NSF standard.

Many brands claim their filter can do this and that. But who confirm?

We are paying so much for expensive filters , at least must confirm it can do what it claims to do.

So I will look for brands with NSF 53 certification on top of NSF 42.

Just my 2 cents worth.

Apparatus

And if you want to warm or boil the water without forgetting to turn off, you can get a small induction stove plus a timer that can be set to countdown and turn off automatically after you switch on your wall socket. I have these timers, work really well. Or if you don't want the timer, then most induction stove will allow you to set timer manually too, just don't forget to set timer each time.

It's a bit late to use induction stove for I have been using gas stove for 30 yrs

If I get those 230V 13A type the power is not enough as what the sales staff told me. If I want to run a new 15A/20A line to connect to the DB box then it needs some serious work. I already walked the line and find it's possible without hacking walls and cornices but need some extra work. I can run the trunking all the way from the gas stove to the DB box myself and the contractor just need to install the induction stove, lay the cable and connect to my DB box will do.

crandfs

It's a bit late to use induction stove for I have been using gas stove for 30 yrs

If I get those 230V 13A type the power is not enough as what the sales staff told me. If I want to run a new 15A/20A line to connect to the DB box then it needs some serious work. I already walked the line and find it's possible without hacking walls and cornices but need some extra work. I can run the trunking all the way from the gas stove to the DB box and the contractor just need to install the induction stove and connect to my DB box will do.
Just to boil water no need so complicated lah, electric kettle or those small footprint tea boiler mini stove+pot also can, low wattage but enough to boil water, and you can still continue to use your gas stove for cooking

Apparatus

NSF 42 is aesthetic only.

Filter purpose is to remove contamination
NSF 53 certified filters mean it confirmed can remove or minimize contamination up to NSF standard.

Many brands claim their filter can do this and that. But who confirm?

We are paying so expensive for filters , at least must confirm it can do what it claims to do.

So I will look for brands with NSF 53 certification on top of NSF 42.

Just my 2 cents worth.

NSF 42/53 are explained below

NSF/ANSI 42​

NSF/ ANSI standard 42 is one of the most commonly available NSF standards today. Companies seeking an NSF 42 certification must be able to prove that their filter can greatly reduce or remove aesthetic contaminants, including chlorine (taste and odor) and chloramines.

Note that a filter won’t need to reduce or remove both chlorine and chloramines in order to be NSF certified.

You might read a filter that’s advertised to be “certified to NSF standard 42 for chlorine reduction”. In that case, you know that the filter offers an expected level of performance when it comes to reducing chlorine, but that doesn’t mean it can remove chloramines.

Refrigerator water filters and water pitcher filters are examples of products that are only certified to NSF/ANSI standard 42.

https://waterfilterguru.com/nsf-ansi-standard-certifications-explained/

Additional info here

NSF/ANSI 42: DRINKING WATER TREATMENT UNITS – AESTHETIC EFFECTS This standard establishes minimum requirements for systems designed to reduce non-health-related contaminants.

SCOPE Point-of-use and point-of-entry systems
CLAIMS Chlorine, taste and odor, chloramine, particulate, iron, manganese, zinc and total dissolved solids (TDS)
TESTING Material safety, structural integrity and specific aesthetic-related contaminant reduction claims (claims vary by product)

NSF/ANSI 53​

NSF/ANSI standard 53 is another common certification, and is awarded to filters that can remove specific contaminants that are known to cause health effects.

Typically, the filters that receive an NSF 53 certification don’t offer set contaminant reduction. The quality of the filter will affect performance, so don’t assume that all NSF 53 certified filters can remove the same types of contaminants, to the same effectiveness.

Some of the contaminants that NSF/ ANSI standard 53 covers are certain heavy metals (including lead, mercury, and arsenic), bacteria like Giardia and Cryptosporidium, herbicides and pesticides, benzene, radon, PCBs, MTBE, and trihalomethanes.

Most products certified to NSF/ANSI standard 53 are under-sink systems. There are also a number of faucet-mount water filters that are NSF/ ANSI standard 53 certified.

NSF/ANSI 53: DRINKING WATER TREATMENT UNITS – HEALTH EFFECTS This standard establishes minimum requirements for systems designed to reduce specific health-related contaminants.

SCOPE Point-of-use and point-of-entry systems
CLAIMS This standard offers over 50 contaminant reduction claims. Some of the most popular include: lead, Cryptosporidium, VOCs and chromium.
TESTING Material safety, structural integrity and specific health-related contaminant reduction claims (claims vary by product)

The WELLS TT UV+ can remove 7 heavy metals + 35 different types of harmful microorganisms
through its 9-stage filtration system. Also, it can filter up to 1nm in particle size which means it can remove microplastics. Best of all no water wastage and has a filtered water line for washing/cooking

Website-filter-info.png

gundogan

No point spending so much… did my research and i felt all filter are gimmicks… sg tap water is sufficiently clean to drink… i got a 1.2k novita basic model with only ambient and hot water… since i need hot water on a daily basis.. at this price it is 1/3 the price of wells… you’re a happier man with more money in the bank… if spoil after warranty change liao also not so pain…

Apparatus

Just to boil water no need so complicated lah, electric kettle or those small footprint tea boiler mini stove+pot also can, low wattage but enough to boil water, and you can still continue to use your gas stove for cooking

Like I mentioned in my first post. For gas stove I need 3 appliances. Even if I switch to electric kettle I still need 2 appliances - 1 for room temp boiled water and the other electric kettle for hot water

fly1111

I have been looking hard at various tankless dispensers over the last couple of months with brands like Cuckoo, Sterra, Ruhens, Coral, Livingcare, Wells etc. I even have a spreadsheet made out comparing prices and features. Finally, I have settle on WELLS True Tankless UV+ water dispenser. The website is as follows

https://www.wellssingapore.com/water-dispenser/wells-tt-uv/

Tough questions to ask like

1) Should one get a RO system or just a water filter dispenser? Their PROS and CONS?
2) If just a water filter dispenser which brand/model to go for?
3) Is the RO/water filter dispenser certified to NSF 42 or 58(for RO)? Full certification or only certified to specific item(s) of the standard(s)?
4) What’s the cost of the RO/water filter dispenser and the annual filter replacement cost?
5) How much electricity/water is wasted for standby/water sterilization etc?
6) How much water is wasted for RO vs water filter dispenser?

Before proceeding I would like to point out why I need a water dispenser

For me my needs are

1) If I boil water at 7pm then the water remains hot the next morning at 5am when I take my breakfast. At 8am the water remains hot but not as hot as during 5am. The water is still suitable for making beverages but not that hot. If I drink at 5pm the water is warm but not suitable for making beverages i.e. not hot.
2) As I age, I’m afraid that I may not be able to carry the large hot kettle to fill up the thermos and to carry the thermos to its place on the far end of the countertop.
3) For boiling water over the stove I need 3 appliances – the hot water kettle, the thermos and the ambient water kettle.
4) Every time when boiling water must watch carefully when the water boils. There are occasions which I forgot that I was boiling water and upon my return the kettle was red hot

WELLS True Tankless UV+ Water Dispenser

PROS

1) Eliminate the use of 3 appliances
2) No worry of dropping the hot water kettle and/or thermos
3) No worry when the water will boil. No worry of kettle turning red hot due to my forgetfulness.
4) Can have hot/ambient/cold water anytime
5) 2 filters with 9 stages of filtration
6) Filters nano plastics up to 1nm. Nano particle size range from 1nm – 1000nm(1um). 1um to 5mm particle size is considered as microplastics.
7) NSF 42 certified for filters. Certification is on NSF website below
https://info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?Company=C0723290&Standard=042
8) Removes heavy metals like lead/arsenic/mercury/iron/copper/aluminium/cadmium and chlorine
9) TDS is 74mg/L. WHO standard is <1000mg/L. In fact, anything less than 300mg/L is considered excellent
10) Has alkaline filter. Makes pH of water from 8 - 9
11) Since it’s not a RO system there’s no added minerals (unless use alkaline filter) as the water is filtered only i.e. no removal of useful minerals
12) No wasted water. Yes, no water discharge to sink. No need to collect any waste water
13) No auto sterilization system means no wasted water and electricity
14) Use all SS tubing
15) Can have filtered water for washing/cooking through the addition of a portable water faucet
16) Has extended warranty package of $660 for 3 sets of filters and 3 yrs extended warranty
17) Can change filters yourself if you know how to. No need service staff from water dispenser company to do it
18) Made in Korea

CONS

1) High initial cost at $2158
2) Need to pay for filters yearly at $330. Comes with 1 set spare and 1 set installed upon purchase
3) Cannot remove fluoride and chloramine. Fluoride can remove by using RO system. At any rate, fluoride studies harmful to the body is still non-conclusive. Its water test report, which I read, did not mention chloramine nor monochloramine in its inorganic form. NSF 42 do not require the removal of chlorine and chloramine to be certified.
4) Additional portable water faucet for washing/cooking costs $50. Its portable faucet needs to drill for installation. You can get from Shopee those without the need to drill
5) No filter change indicator. If just use for drinking need to changer filters every 1-1/2 yearly. If includes washing/cooking would change filters every yearly
6) UV sterilization(every 2hrs) is for nozzle only. No system tubing UV sterilization since all tubing are SS. The rest are food safe BPA-free tubing
7) With no auto sterilization system water is stagnant inside system if say go on long holidays. Not suitable if go frequent overseas travels. If need to sterilize whole system have to pay for extra service of $60
8) Need extra electricity for cold water standby since compressor is running to keep the water cold. Has ECO mode to turn off compressor if cold water is not required to save standby electricity
9) Can only cook cup noodle. Cannot cook packaged noodle nor half-boiled eggs since max hot water temperature is 85 deg C
UV light can filter out heavy mental form old HDB water pipe meh?

Apparatus

UV light can filter out heavy mental form old HDB water pipe meh?

AFAIK it's no. UV light is not to kill bacteria or remove heavy metal in system. It's use is to sterilize your system tank, tubing, nozzle etc

Bacteria and heavy metals are filtered off by the filters

Apparatus

Traditional filter is better

The WELLS TT UV+ can remove 7 heavy metals + 35 different types of harmful microorganisms
through its 9-stage filtration system. Also, it can filter up to 1nm in particle size which means it can remove microplastics. Best of all no water wastage and has a filtered water line for washing/cooking

Website-filter-info.png

li9ht5peed

i use an unbranded 5 stage stainless steel under counter water filter that i imported and installed myself. total cost around $60. the filters are changed after 1 year and they cost $25

i don't need contractors, local agents or warranty. my system won't fail and it doesn't cost much to replace

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.