Indranee on why SG60 in vouchers instead of cash

Hakuna Matata

oZZoa2v.gif

I see many people queuing at the ATM to withdraw cash payouts.
Elites no need to queue at ATM? 😅

van123

dun mind vouchers but why need to tie half of it to supermarket…

Diff demographic maybe.. I spend all my supermarket ones and find it tough to spend the local shops one
Some have difficulty spending at supermarket, some have difficulty spending at local shops
That’s because we have different needs and the CDC vouchers are too restrictive (expiry date, where to use, what denominations)
No one has difficulty spending the amt in cash 🤣

muji4832

Thanks for the clarification.

All along I thought it's part of their strategy that they can eventually claim back the unclaimed vouchers.

Then why make it so hard for the merchants ?

I see so many comments on this SG 60 vouchers but not one person has gotten it right thus far. It’s not rocket science tbh. If they gave cash, people will spend it elsewhere, go travel, go JB buy supplies etc, and the money flows out.

If give CDC vouchers, the money is ring fenced in Singapore. Essentially, the money flows back into the domestic market through retail spending, and this indirectly boost the economy in return. Simple isn’t it?

BohemianSG

personally of course i prefer cash.. but for the economy as a whole, voucher is better. It will make ppl spend locally especially for the local shops.

The bad side is it brings inflation to the heartland. The small shops are not incentivised to be cheaper and as such their prices are becoming same or more ex as some shops in shopping malls.

Also instead of voucher denomination, can give in lump credit that can deduct when you pay.

suuhhc

I also prefer cash. For household still OK, easy to spend it all but individual will be more difficult especially youth like 21 yr old who is still schooling & most expenses are provided by parents so what can they do with this $600 cdc? Give to parents? If they are in cash at least can save for future use. I also got problem spending at supermarket as most thing I buy online since they are much cheaper & got free delivery some more.

Canis Lupus

Only a matter of time...voucher/HDB/CPF for ordinary Sinkies, cash/GCB/pension for Sinkie gahmen and rich. 60% wanted this. One country, two systems. :(

qhong61

Might as well then not give them anything at all since u can't stop them from spending their disposable money anyway. All these transfers, in cash or vouchers of any kind, only encourage excess.
Just give to the poor

qhong61

I also prefer cash. For household still OK, easy to spend it all but individual will be more difficult especially youth like 21 yr old who is still schooling & most expenses are provided by parents so what can they do with this $600 cdc? Give to parents? If they are in cash at least can save for future use. I also got problem spending at supermarket as most thing I buy online since they are much cheaper & got free delivery some more.
They can share link with parents

identity_1991

Thanks for the clarification.

All along I thought it's part of their strategy that they can eventually claim back the unclaimed vouchers.

Then why make it so hard for the merchants ?
What do you mean hard for the merchants? It’s as simple as using their phones to scan the vouchers. It’s not that hard. In fact, the vouchers has also been extended to retail shops (not just hawkers) where you can buy stuff. Of course, they will also be bad players where bai tian shu shu will use cdc vouchers to go happy ending massage.

Nevereatrice

they want it 100% to flow into sg economy and in return get their money back in the form of taxes
Give cash will remit to their thai gfs. :s13:

Comage

Because you mentioned the below. Maybe you should use some or a small minority.
If it's a small minority, do you think they will issue vouchers?

And if I were one of the assholes, do you think I would call out such crap behaviour and expose the real reasoning behind the govt issuing the credits in vouchers?

You don't see anyone here seconding/agreeing with my observation right? Coz many would do this shlt and keep quiet about it.

henghengonedragon

If it's a small minority, do you think they will issue vouchers?

And if I were one of the assholes, do you think I would call out such crap behaviour and expose the real reasoning behind the govt issuing the credits in vouchers?

You don't see anyone here seconding/agreeing with my observation right? Coz many would do this shlt and keep quiet about it.
If they really want to spend on those things, they will do it like exchanging $600 voucher for $500 cash with someone else or some other ways.

Comage

If they really want to spend on those things, they will do it like exchanging $600 voucher for $500 cash with someone else or some other ways.
Already happened last time when the "needy" families received NTUC vouchers from govt - they would try to cash out or sell it, and go and gamble/smoke/booze with the cash.

Now for CDC, everyone has it - so it is more difficult to sell (I.e., "You siao ah, I pay to buy your CDC for what? I also have lah!")

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.