New MRT Lines announced

miko66

Perhaps should put in resources and money to ensure current lines run smoothly first ...

Knn every few days trains delayed due to train fault or signal fault

fire

Keep building so many new lines, can sinkieland ground tahan?

spinning_quirK

Now all is busking in Mr Ong's glory🤣
Rem when he wanted to lay the tracks, everyone was against him, citing huge financial strains, cripple the housing plan, might bring down Singapore😆
Now a astronomical success and huge triumph, everybody wanna hog the limelight and claim credits. Don't they have better vision?
I pity the civil engineers who have a strong vision for SG's train network but cannot do anything if the higher-ups refuse to share that vision.

With the ubiquity of city videos on YouTube, we get such clear views and insights into city transport as planned by the Nordic and Dutch cities. They are the best to copy from. Many of them were car-infested before, but planned and executed their way out of it.

Last time we needed a Dutch economist, Dr Albert Winsemius, to help GKS plan our economy. I think we need the help of Dutch transport planners this time. Particularly Utrecht and Amsterdam planners. Also a couple of Finnish planners from Oulu.

(There's an Albert Winsemius Lane in Sunset Way near Clementi, a tiny forgotten strip of road for a man who was one of our pioneers)

archie7

huat ah

1ETSBJP.png

Cowbellc

I pity the civil engineers who have a strong vision for SG's train network but cannot do anything if the higher-ups refuse to share that vision.

With the ubiquity of city videos on YouTube, we get such clear views and insights into city transport as planned by the Nordic and Dutch cities. They are the best to copy from. Many of them were car-infested before, but planned and executed their way out of it.

Last time we needed a Dutch economist, Dr Albert Winsemius, to help GKS plan our economy. I think we need the help of Dutch transport planners this time. Particularly Utrecht and Amsterdam planners. Also a couple of Finnish planners from Oulu.

(There's an Albert Winsemius Lane in Sunset Way near Clementi, a tiny forgotten strip of road for a man who was one of our pioneers)
That's the irony of our education 🙄
We've failed to learn from our forefathers and also from others developed countries top gun, and We've pride as a top educational hub.
When black ship sailed into nippon, japanese knew they're behind US steps, thus begin Meiji Restoration, they placed themselves on par with major powers.
When the artificial Satellite make the 1st orbit, US knew they're behind Soviets thus create NASA and Darpha
All is channelled to promoting own superiority.
We? After decades of educations, still must reply on FTs and foreigners for top echelon🤣 our education system can be considered a failure

standarture

Erm. SG is totally different from those two countries. You can't even apply the same concept.

spinning_quirK

Erm. SG is totally different from those two countries. You can't even apply the same concept.
I want to learn and understand more of what you're trying to say, so please explain how different SG is from Dutch and Nordic cities such that the same proven concepts applied there, to varying degrees, can't be applied here.
Add in Tokyo and Osaka too. Not really known as cycling cities, but known for train networks.

jumpthepig

Perhaps should put in resources and money to ensure current lines run smoothly first ...

Knn every few days trains delayed due to train fault or signal fault
Extra billions come from where?
Maybe…… can raise GST to build more lines?…. :ROFLMAO:

Raise GST - Profligate spending and irresponsible, unsustainable plans.

xtemujin

Those in secondary school in 2025 will be working adults and starting a family in 2040.

kokchee2001

They should have skipped the stupid JRL and built the Tengah line at the start. It's stupid that gahmen decides to establish a new estate with no connections to a main line. Jurong east is already crowded AF.
Why build when demand is never there yet?

North East Line have such failure before.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.