jogging and motivation thread

rarenick

That is why i train/cheong standard distance duathlons. Usually folks more interested in HM or FM. Cycling long time means the bones are basically same as normal non-exercising people. However non-exercising people dont face the same risks, be it on road or on pavement/PCN.
If done long term + old age, the risks really sky high seriously speaking.
But if got do running + upper body strength training, the bones sure stronger. Need the impact to challenge the bones. Actually, runners also at risk for upper body, just not so for lower body. heh
And the supplementation for Mg, D3 is very important. (whey protein got decent calcium already)
Already on Mg and D3 since 2020 when covid started that time. And the occasional boron which is a co-factor for Mg (a trace mineral, supposed to help teeth/bones).
Oh yeah i occasionally hoot zinc too, one side benefit is it helps bones to a certain degree as well though not as a main factor.
Technically, the several times and way i buanged before i should have kena fracture liao. Plus middle aged (55). though i am a guy not lady, who are lagi more at risk. Just hope that i dont kena anything that is more serious than what my bones can handle.
Actually latest incident,. my left elbow now still pretty painful, the elbow ball joint that sharp part jitao hit the pavement, force enough to split open some tissues quite deeply. But no hairline fracture i think.......not that kind of hairline fractured pain. More like bruised pain. Already 5 days still pain due to the bruising and tissue trauma.
Can the accidents be avoided? Defensive riding, cycle alone, avoid certain roads, cycle slower, better/wider tyres, do bulk of your training esp zone 2 indoor?

WussRedXLi

Can the accidents be avoided? Defensive riding, cycle alone, avoid certain roads, cycle slower, better/wider tyres, do bulk of your training esp zone 2 indoor?

Post analysis is cannot really be avoided, only reduced to a certain extent. Only true helpful and effective avoidance is indoors but i wont do that. Like running indoors too.

rarenick

Lelong on iherb, got 2 whey. 1 choc and then another unflavoured. Unflavoured one slightly more value, 69 servings for $77 while choc is 63 servings for $80.
39% off.
EVLution is only 56 servings for $57 after discount. All are 24-25g protein per serving.
Currently all other brands' whey are bloody expensive, even after 20-25% discount. Up price liao.
Only this Lake Ave Nutrition got huge 39-40% lelong.
iTested, so quality is there.
kK5QpMm.jpg

The creatine will cake up or not?

I don't know what protein type to buy. That time I bought the muscletech nitro-tech from gnc the cholesterol is damn high.

WussRedXLi

Wah incoming sumatra sqall, now chop chop go out shd be able to return by 0715, think that is when it will hit my area

WussRedXLi

The creatine will cake up or not?

I don't know what protein type to buy.

Yes will cake up due to moisture, but ok lah.....just pop into mouth and break it up with a sip of water. I dry scoop, easier to take this way.

Protein just get the cheaper ones. Main thing is the taste if you sensitive in the taste.

That time I bought the muscletech nitro-tech from gnc the cholesterol is damn high.

What you mean by this?

rarenick

Yes will cake up due to moisture, but ok lah.....just pop into mouth and break it up with a sip of water. I dry scoop, easier to take this way.
Protein just get the cheaper ones. Main thing is the taste if you sensitive in the taste.
What you mean by this?

I tried before the solid creatine with sip of water. Terrible and pathetic. So I bought the nitro-tech that blend both protein and creatine together. Won't cake. But the only problem is the cholesterol stated on the label showing 80 mg per serving. I got problem with cholesterol so this is putting me off, even though this product has many good things together and taste good.

I might switch to vegan protein blended with creatine. If got add bcaa even better. But well, also unsure if bcaa is really needed or not.

sph777

Wah incoming sumatra sqall, now chop chop go out shd be able to return by 0715, think that is when it will hit my area
I braved the rain as my workout was finishing (left 15 mins) when it started. Not too bad tho. Not super heavy

WussRedXLi

@dreamaurora I didn't manage to get the ballot for nyc. Did u?
Expensive lah....save the money and hoot more shoes or races at home.

I dont recall you digging oversease marathon tourism.
(the same for me, even though i dig cycling a lot i still cannot accept overseas cycling holidays, maybe if i have a couple of million dollars then maybe lah)

WussRedXLi

I braved the rain as my workout was finishing (left 15 mins) when it started. Not too bad tho. Not super heavy

Yeah on off on off drizzle. Started to drizzle when i reached MBS central bowl area and jitao u-turned. Then did like 25-30 rounds around my area..... hooted that new shared path at Keppel South Central too via Cantonment. Quite interesting.
But 6.55pm really started to be heavier and i cut already, paths getting a bit wet and risky.

Actually can train one, Yan Kit and Craig can climb. Then downhill just continue pedalling and slight brakes to slow down. I averaged 126bpm just now, not too bad.
New training route/technique just borned! (y)

WussRedXLi

I tried before the solid creatine with sip of water. Terrible and pathetic. So I bought the nitro-tech that blend both protein and creatine together. Won't cake. But the only problem is the cholesterol stated on the label showing 80 mg per serving. I got problem with cholesterol so this is putting me off, even though this product has many good things together and taste good.

I might switch to vegan protein blended with creatine. If got add bcaa even better. But well, also unsure if bcaa is really needed or not.

Tot it is tasteless with only a very slight chemical, for me i just hold my breath and mix it in the mouth.

Beta Alanine seems slightly sweet when dry scooped.

Oh....the included cholesterol ah.
Your triglyceride level ok? MY belief is that this is really key.

Branched chain amino acids ah. Probably not say very useful.....need other "full/complete" amino acids as well
It's just like whey protein, not typically intended for weight loss. It is incompete. Same for even Mg, Ca, D3, boron, if taken alone without good diet/complete food, not say very useful. Too many co-factors.....these things dont work "alone".

WussRedXLi

Oh rarenrick.....if that is a concern, can aim for whey protein isolates. Only issue is - it is more expensive per serving + more difficult to dissolve and tastes not as full as normal whey. So only for those who are not ngeow on the taste, ie my wife confirm wont accept whey isolates, she needs those peanut butter whey or those choc ones with solid flavourings...... ie Starbucks kia, attas flavour. Sigh. But bo bian, as long as she can accept and willing to drink....better than no drink.

"Whey protein itself doesn't inherently contain a significant amount of cholesterol, but the reason some whey protein powders might appear to have cholesterol is because of added ingredients like fats, flavorings, or sweeteners that can contribute to cholesterol levels, especially if consumed in large quantities; choosing a whey protein isolate with minimal added ingredients can help minimize this concern. "

And besides, does not seem to be that bad

sph777

Expensive lah....save the money and hoot more shoes or races at home.

I dont recall you digging oversease marathon tourism.
(the same for me, even though i dig cycling a lot i still cannot accept overseas cycling holidays, maybe if i have a couple of million dollars then maybe lah)
I only want to do tokyo cause I think can pb with similar weather to home. But NYC I just ballot for fun.

WussRedXLi

I only want to do tokyo cause I think can pb with similar weather to home. But NYC I just ballot for fun.

Tokyo i think still can be cheaper (including good and value for $$$ high quality makan) and good value + a short holiday to boot and very nicely connected if wanna prolong and visit farther interesting places.

sph777

Yeah on off on off drizzle. Started to drizzle when i reached MBS central bowl area and jitao u-turned. Then did like 25-30 rounds around my area..... hooted that new shared path at Keppel South Central too via Cantonment. Quite interesting.
But 6.55pm really started to be heavier and i cut already, paths getting a bit wet and risky.

Actually can train one, Yan Kit and Craig can climb. Then downhill just continue pedalling and slight brakes to slow down. I averaged 126bpm just now, not too bad.
New training route/technique just borned! (y)
if doing slope training we no need to go far haha. Yan kit that slope or mt faber good enough haha

WussRedXLi

I Share one more anecdotal snippet.

My FIL used to have cholesterol issue. Got it under control and largely under the upper limit during body checkup test. Stopped meds. Healthier lifestyle, good clean diet + brisk walking.

I started him on eggs, 3-4 daily. (no, not 1-2). Initially he hesitant. I told him no issue but he must maintain his clean and good diet with real foods.
3-4 eggs for 1 year....semi hard boiled, a wee bit of soba sauce for taste. He most times adds pepper also. He loves eggs, but then the cholesterol readings spoilt his appetite.

Then just late last year went for another annual checkup.
Cholesterol and triglycerides all swee swee one. No need meds.

WussRedXLi

if doing slope training we no need to go far haha. Yan kit that slope or mt faber good enough haha

Yeah my hill sprints done there. Then today i did my off saddle short "strides" there. Round and round and round. I think the people at Tg pagar plaza bus stop think i am kee siao, same fella so many times.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.